Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Vivaldi
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Buffoon
l33t
l33t


Joined: 17 Jun 2015
Posts: 825
Location: EU or US

PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2016 12:22 pm    Post subject: Vivaldi Reply with quote

Anyone using it? Opinions?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Maxxx
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Jan 2016
Posts: 197
Location: Italia

PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2016 12:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I using Vivaldi and Firefox.
I love Vivaldi because it is very innovative and fast browser.
It coming from Opera developer, but i don't like Opera.
One thing i don't like to Vivaldi: TAB button doesn't work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Buffoon
l33t
l33t


Joined: 17 Jun 2015
Posts: 825
Location: EU or US

PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2016 1:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks! Are there extensions for it, adblock, etc?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Maxxx
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Jan 2016
Posts: 197
Location: Italia

PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2016 2:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't know... I haven't tried it yet.
Regarding flash player, I had it already installed in my system and the sites that require it work fine in Vivaldi browser.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Buffoon
l33t
l33t


Joined: 17 Jun 2015
Posts: 825
Location: EU or US

PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2016 2:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is it using pepperflash or old Adobe flash?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Maxxx
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Jan 2016
Posts: 197
Location: Italia

PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2016 2:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't know, because i had already installed adobe flash player... in Google i find this:

http://techdows.com/2016/03/install-or-enable-flash-player-vivaldi-opera.html

Quote:
Using Chrome’s Flash in Opera /Vivaldi

if you’ve Google Chrome installed on your computer, the chromium-based Opera or Vivaldi picks up the Flash of it and uses to load that plugin content in respective browsers.

If you’re using either of these browsers, and if you’ve already installed Chrome, then you don’t need to install Flash in the first place, provided you need to be using the same architectures between Chrome and Opera/ Vivaldi browsers. Means, if you’ve Chrome 32-bit installed, you should be using the 32-bit version of Vivaldi or Opera (x86) for the browser in question to pick up and use Chrome’s flash.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Buffoon
l33t
l33t


Joined: 17 Jun 2015
Posts: 825
Location: EU or US

PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2016 3:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks! Lazy me, should have googled myself. Probably should open a bug, looking at ebuild it is not pulling in chrome plugins.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 3491
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2016 3:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bloated, new set of UI bugs each release, but it's the closest thing to vanilla Chromium my netbook can run any more, since that can no longer run Chrome nor build Chromium. Opera doesn't have a switch to disable EME which is a deal breaker.
_________________
overlay | runit-scripts
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Buffoon
l33t
l33t


Joined: 17 Jun 2015
Posts: 825
Location: EU or US

PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2016 3:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just read on another forum Vivaldi is making unauthorized connections. Linky.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 3491
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2016 5:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

A UI reskin of Chromium, with exactly the same extension autoupdate mechanism, is making HTTPS requests to Google servers? Who'd have thought...
_________________
overlay | runit-scripts
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cyker
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jun 2006
Posts: 1630

PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2016 9:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's better than Chrome in that it isn't as dumbed down and has put back some of the nice things we have lost over the years.... but as a user of Opera 11.64 and Opera 12 I can say it's still not a patch on the originals. It renders pages faster and more accurately, but like Chrome it chews through RAM like popcorn and slows the whole system down very quickly as you open more and more tabs. It still lacks any useful ability to customize the UI, and has minimal customization of things like hotkeys, mouse gestures, and has no ability for user-custom -scripted buttons or shortcuts.

Re. plugin support; No, it does not support NPAPI plugins, only the 'Pepper' API, which frankly is even worse supported than IE's ActiveX plugins.

I was hoping they'd retrofit support for it but as things stand, there's nothing really compelling about Vivaldi for me. Underneath it is still basically Chrome, with extensions and some tweaks, but with the same extremely heavyweight back-end.

We're probably past the point of no return now web browser are now practically VM's for running code rather than just lightweight hypertext browsers...

On a tangent, I'd also been playing with Otter and that feels like it's on a better track for us old-school Opera users, but it is quite far down the road in terms of progress; It's kinda functional but makes me feel like Opera 3-levels or so...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wuzzerd
Guru
Guru


Joined: 05 Jan 2005
Posts: 445
Location: New Mexico

PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2016 11:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, I got an update 2 days in a row. Somehow the preferences I had carefully set were overwritten with defaults. I have better things to do than configure things all the time.

Just starting it netstat -tn shows
Quote:

Active Internet connections (w/o servers)
Proto Recv-Q Send-Q Local Address Foreign Address State
tcp 0 0 10.10.10.2:60754 199.7.91.13:53 TIME_WAIT
tcp 0 0 10.10.10.2:38912 199.7.91.13:53 TIME_WAIT
tcp 0 0 10.10.10.2:50559 199.7.91.13:53 TIME_WAIT
tcp 0 0 10.10.10.2:53719 199.7.91.13:53 TIME_WAIT
tcp 0 0 10.10.10.2:48840 199.7.91.13:53 TIME_WAIT
tcp 0 0 10.10.10.2:41300 199.7.91.13:53 TIME_WAIT
tcp6 0 0 2602:47:d2fb:c00::36275 2001:7fd::1:53 TIME_WAIT
tcp6 0 0 2602:47:d2fb:c00::54348 2001:7fd::1:53 TIME_WAIT
tcp6 0 0 2602:47:d2fb:c00::54929 2001:7fd::1:53 TIME_WAIT
tcp6 0 0 2602:47:d2fb:c00::59880 2001:7fd::1:53 TIME_WAIT
tcp6 0 0 2602:47:d2fb:c00::42538 2001:500:3::42:53 TIME_WAIT
tcp6 0 0 2602:47:d2fb:c00::42978 2610:20:8c00:8c00::2:53 TIME_WAIT
tcp6 0 0 2602:47:d2fb:c00::37642 2610:20:8c00:8c00::2:53 TIME_WAIT
tcp6 0 0 2602:47:d2fb:c00::53015 2001:7fd::1:53 TIME_WAIT

For some reason I want to know when a program opens a connection.

It does handle some sites better than firefox but not all of them.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fhede
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Mar 2016
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Mon May 23, 2016 4:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

On my slow laptop to build chromium this was sent from heaven with vivaldi browser.

Very pleased with vivaldi so far.


Code:
sudo genlop -t chromium
 * www-client/chromium

     Sat Mar 19 17:58:13 2016 >>> www-client/chromium-49.0.2623.87-r1
       merge time: 5 hours, 39 minutes and 38 seconds.

     Sun Mar 20 14:41:05 2016 >>> www-client/chromium-49.0.2623.87-r1
       merge time: 5 hours, 36 minutes and 9 seconds.

     Fri Mar 25 22:34:14 2016 >>> www-client/chromium-49.0.2623.108
       merge time: 5 hours, 43 minutes and 26 seconds.

     Sun Mar 27 03:47:49 2016 >>> www-client/chromium-50.0.2661.37
       merge time: 5 hours, 47 minutes and 19 seconds.

     Mon Mar 28 18:28:37 2016 >>> www-client/chromium-50.0.2661.37
       merge time: 5 hours, 54 minutes and 37 seconds.

     Fri Apr  1 23:22:20 2016 >>> www-client/chromium-50.0.2661.57
       merge time: 6 hours, 2 minutes and 47 seconds.

     Thu Apr  7 22:55:56 2016 >>> www-client/chromium-50.0.2661.66
       merge time: 6 hours, 6 minutes.

     Thu Apr 14 23:16:04 2016 >>> www-client/chromium-50.0.2661.75
       merge time: 6 hours, 3 minutes and 46 seconds.

     Sat Apr 23 01:13:37 2016 >>> www-client/chromium-50.0.2661.86
       merge time: 6 hours, 19 minutes and 5 seconds.

     Thu Apr 28 17:50:03 2016 >>> www-client/chromium-51.0.2704.22
       merge time: 6 hours, 37 minutes and 46 seconds.

     Tue May 10 00:02:28 2016 >>> www-client/chromium-51.0.2704.36
       merge time: 6 hours, 17 minutes and 47 seconds.

     Sat May 14 05:12:00 2016 >>> www-client/chromium-51.0.2704.36
       merge time: 6 hours, 39 minutes and 12 seconds.

     Wed May 18 18:57:21 2016 >>> www-client/chromium-51.0.2704.47
       merge time: 7 hours, 23 minutes and 54 seconds.

->>sudo genlop -t vivaldi
 * www-client/vivaldi

     Fri May 20 16:20:15 2016 >>> www-client/vivaldi-1.2.479.8_p1
       merge time: 21 seconds.

     Sun May 22 21:58:53 2016 >>> www-client/vivaldi-1.2.485.14_p1
       merge time: 24 seconds.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 3491
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon May 23, 2016 7:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

wuzzerd wrote:
Well, I got an update 2 days in a row. Somehow the preferences I had carefully set were overwritten with defaults. I have better things to do than configure things all the time.

Then do "ln -s ~/.config/vivaldi-snapshot ~/.config/vivaldi", the browser is schizophrenic about whether it's a beta or not.

Quote:
Just starting it netstat -tn shows
Code:

Active Internet connections (w/o servers)
Proto Recv-Q Send-Q Local Address           Foreign Address         State     
tcp        0      0 10.10.10.2:60754        199.7.91.13:53          TIME_WAIT 
tcp        0      0 10.10.10.2:38912        199.7.91.13:53          TIME_WAIT 
tcp        0      0 10.10.10.2:50559        199.7.91.13:53          TIME_WAIT 
tcp        0      0 10.10.10.2:53719        199.7.91.13:53          TIME_WAIT 
tcp        0      0 10.10.10.2:48840        199.7.91.13:53          TIME_WAIT 
tcp        0      0 10.10.10.2:41300        199.7.91.13:53          TIME_WAIT 
tcp6       0      0 2602:47:d2fb:c00::36275 2001:7fd::1:53          TIME_WAIT 
tcp6       0      0 2602:47:d2fb:c00::54348 2001:7fd::1:53          TIME_WAIT 
tcp6       0      0 2602:47:d2fb:c00::54929 2001:7fd::1:53          TIME_WAIT 
tcp6       0      0 2602:47:d2fb:c00::59880 2001:7fd::1:53          TIME_WAIT 
tcp6       0      0 2602:47:d2fb:c00::42538 2001:500:3::42:53       TIME_WAIT 
tcp6       0      0 2602:47:d2fb:c00::42978 2610:20:8c00:8c00::2:53 TIME_WAIT 
tcp6       0      0 2602:47:d2fb:c00::37642 2610:20:8c00:8c00::2:53 TIME_WAIT 
tcp6       0      0 2602:47:d2fb:c00::53015 2001:7fd::1:53          TIME_WAIT 

For some reason I want to know when a program opens a connection.

Those are DNS requests; if you want to be informed whenever a program does those then you'd better have a few TB free disk space or a 4k screen spare to capture the log output.
_________________
overlay | runit-scripts
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
haarp
Guru
Guru


Joined: 31 Oct 2007
Posts: 475

PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2016 7:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Vivaldi has a lot of potential. I'm liking it so far.

They released sources at https://vivaldi.com/source/. Is someone interested in writing an ebuild that compiles it isntead of using the binary distribution?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Buffoon
l33t
l33t


Joined: 17 Jun 2015
Posts: 825
Location: EU or US

PostPosted: Sun Jun 12, 2016 3:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I wanted to install binary in one of my MythTV frontends ... wants to pull in CUPS and lots of other cruft. No go.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 3491
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun Jun 12, 2016 4:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You'd have the same problem with chromium there. Blame Google for thinking everyone with an x86 PC also has a 2D printer... (and vision impairments; at least this doesn't pull in a low-quality speech synthesizer like chromium does).
_________________
overlay | runit-scripts
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Perfect Gentleman
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 May 2014
Posts: 408

PostPosted: Sun Jun 12, 2016 5:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

CUPS is needed for Chromium ? I got Chromium and no CUPS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 3491
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun Jun 12, 2016 6:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Huh, they must've made it optional at some point. It looks like there's a use flag that drops the dependency on speech-dispatcher too but I can't tell if it actually gets rid of it or just causes it to use a bundled library instead.
_________________
overlay | runit-scripts
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chiitoo
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 28 Feb 2010
Posts: 1186
Location: Here and Away Again

PostPosted: Mon Jun 13, 2016 11:09 am    Post subject: ><)))°€ Reply with quote

The dependency on net-print/cups is why I haven't tried Vivaldi and the new Opera the old Opera used to be my main browser). While indeed www-client/chromium has it optional, www-client/google-chrome does not, though I don't know if that has anything to do with why the other two do the same.

I'm probably more happy with QupZilla and Otter Browser anyblue, although they are now using Chromium in a way as well (QtWebEngine), which isn't something that makes me jump for joy.

Will be somewhat interesting to see what will come of the QtWebKit “revival” project. ^^
_________________
Kind Regards,
~ The Noob Unlimited ~

Sore wa sore, kore wa kore.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
haarp
Guru
Guru


Joined: 31 Oct 2007
Posts: 475

PostPosted: Mon Jun 13, 2016 11:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Couldn't you add cups to package.provided? I doubt that it's a hard runtime dependency.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chiitoo
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 28 Feb 2010
Posts: 1186
Location: Here and Away Again

PostPosted: Mon Jun 13, 2016 11:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've probably tried 'package.provided' before, but I can't remember for sure... well, now I can:

Code:
/usr/bin/vivaldi: error while loading shared libraries: libcups.so.2: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

_________________
Kind Regards,
~ The Noob Unlimited ~

Sore wa sore, kore wa kore.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Perfect Gentleman
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 May 2014
Posts: 408

PostPosted: Mon Jun 13, 2016 2:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:


~ $ USE=python_targets_python2_7 emerge -avtp vivaldi

These are the packages that would be merged, in reverse order:

Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild  N     ] www-client/vivaldi-1.3.501.6_p1::gentoo  LINGUAS="en_US ru -am -ar -bg -bn -ca -cs -da -de -el -en_GB -es -es_419 -et -fa -fi -fil -fr -gu -he -hi -hr -hu -id -it -ja -kn -ko -lt -lv -ml -mr -ms -nb -nl -pl -pt_BR -pt_PT -ro -sk -sl -sr -sv -sw -ta -te -th -tr -uk -vi -zh_CN -zh_TW" 44,299 KiB
[ebuild  N     ]  gnome-base/gconf-3.2.6-r4:2::gentoo  USE="introspection (policykit) -debug -ldap" ABI_X86="(64) -32 (-x32)" PYTHON_TARGETS="python2_7" 1,524 KiB

Total: 2 packages (2 new), Size of downloads: 45,822 KiB

 ~ $ eix net-print/cups
* net-print/cups
     Available versions:  2.0.3^t (~)2.0.4^t (~)2.1.2-r2^t (~)2.1.3^t 2.1.3-r1^t **9999^t {X acl dbus debug java kerberos lprng-compat pam python selinux +ssl static-libs systemd +threads usb xinetd zeroconf ABI_MIPS="n32 n64 o32" ABI_PPC="32 64" ABI_S390="32 64" ABI_X86="32 64 x32" ELIBC="FreeBSD" LINGUAS="+ca +cs +de +es +fr +it +ja +ru" PYTHON_TARGETS="python2_7"}
     Homepage:            http://www.cups.org/
     Description:         The Common Unix Printing System



Last edited by Perfect Gentleman on Sun Jun 19, 2016 7:20 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 3491
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat Jun 18, 2016 3:39 am    Post subject: Re: ><)))°€ Reply with quote

Chiitoo wrote:
Will be somewhat interesting to see what will come of the QtWebKit “revival” project. ^^

I'm more interested in KDE Fiber personally... getting sick of the WebKit monoculture.
_________________
overlay | runit-scripts
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum