Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Wpa_supplicant on eth0 problem
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
NewBieUser
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Aug 2012
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed Aug 15, 2012 5:44 pm    Post subject: Wpa_supplicant on eth0 problem Reply with quote

I have two network interfaces eth0 and wlan0. Both of them requires wpa_supplicant. My wireless connection works fine, but eth0 doesn't start properly.
Could you help plz?

my configs:

/etc/conf.d/net
Code:

modules="wpa_supplicant dhcpcd"

config_wlan0="dhcp"

wpa_supplicant_eth0=" -Dwired -c /etc/wpa_supplicant/wired.conf"
config_eth0="dhcp"


/etc/wpa_supplicant/wired.conf
Code:

ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant

eapol_version=1

ap_scan=0

network={
        eapol_flags=0
        key_mgmt=IEEE8021X
        eap=TLS
        identity="myidentity"
        ca_cert="/etc/wpa_supplicant/certs/cacas.pem"
        client_cert="/etc/wpa_supplicant/certs/clientcert.cer"
        private_key="/etc/wpa_supplicant/certs/privkey.pem"
        private_key_passwd="my_privkey_pass"
        priority=80
}


/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf
Code:

ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant

ctrl_interface_group=0
eapol_version=1
fast_reauth=1

ap_scan=1

#Work
network={
        ssid="ASUS"
        psk=fcf3e0c39d76a250f38da15c6413...
        priority=80
}

#Open AP
network={
        key_mgmt=NONE
        priority=5
}


When net.wlan0 starts wpa_supplicant started by it, but when eth0 starts it doesn't start wpa_supplicant.
Also, if I ran manually and restart dhcpcd eth0 works properly
Code:
wpa_supplicant -c /etc/wpa_supplicant/wired.conf -i eth0 -D wired


How to reconfigure my eth0 / wpa_supplicant to start properly by starting init.d script net.eth0?
Is there any decision to start wlan0 and eth0 that eth0 works as primary connection and wlan0 when eth0 is unavailable?

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jopeto
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Jul 2012
Posts: 106

PostPosted: Mon Aug 20, 2012 5:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm just a beginner as well, so if some of what I tell you below is wrong, hopefully someone more knowledgeable will jump in and correct me.

Regarding starting net.eth0 when booting you can try using the command
Code:
# rc-update add net.eth0 default


I don't know if that's what you are asking for, but ifplugd is a program which determines whether you have an ethernet cable plugged to your computer. If there isn't, then it skips directly to wireless. You can install it running
Code:
# emerge sys-apps/ifplugd


I don't think that my wired connection is started by wpa_supplicant. Here's my /etc/conf.d/net file for comparison:
Code:
dns_domain_lo="homenetwork"

config_eth0="dhcp"

modules="wpa_supplicant"
config_wlan0="dhcp"
wpa_cli_wlan0="-G3600"
wpa_supplicant_wlan0="-D nl80211"


I don't have a /etc/wpa_supplicant/wired.conf file.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 6228
Location: Room 101

PostPosted: Mon Aug 20, 2012 6:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NewBieUser ...

I think the issue here is that you are using the same control_interface for both wlan0 and eth0 ... and from the wpa_supplicant manpage it would seem that control_interfaces are per interface.

So, change one or other config to create a seperate control_interface.

best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum