W530 Sound Card Disappearing
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
[n00b@localhost]
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Thu Jun 27, 2013 10:27 am    Post subject: W530 Sound Card Disappearing Reply with quote

I work as a consultant software engineer and managed to convince a client of mine (at a university) to buy me a Lenovo Thinkpad W530 for the project I'm doing for him. This was in April this year and since I got it it has had nothing but problems. Firstly, within two weeks, the charging circuit blew a fuse which stopped the battery charging. After phoning their technical support line and refusing to let them "remotely diagnose" the solution by connecting to the laptop (I didn't tell them I had Gentoo on it ;) ) the support representative insisted on sending out a new battery. I knew it was a problem with the charging circuit but wasn't going to turn down a free 9-cell battery. After it arrived, I phoned again, explained the situation and sent the laptop in to get repaired. This takes 5 working days from when the repair centre receives the laptop for them to repair it and send it back. Additionally I took a complete system backup using sysresccd when I received the laptop so that I can restore it to factory at any point. This means that whenever I have to send it in I have to backup my Gentoo installation, wipe anything sensitive from the hard drive, restore Windows from the backup and go through all the registration and update stuff that requires. Then, when it arrives back, I have to do the whole thing in reverse.