Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] Xorg crash after update
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
alex6
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Jul 2011
Posts: 157

PostPosted: Tue Jul 31, 2012 5:32 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED] Xorg crash after update Reply with quote

I did a big update of my system (280 updates) and now can't start x...
I didn't change anything about my kernel and I did several revdeb-rebuild after updating.

I get this message at startup
Quote:
fatal server error : no screens found
Server terminated with error (1)


Xorg.0.log : http://bpaste.net/show/37788/
lpci -k : http://bpaste.net/show/37789/


Last edited by alex6 on Tue Jul 31, 2012 6:59 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ferreirafm
Guru
Guru


Joined: 28 Jul 2005
Posts: 487
Location: Sao Paulo, Brazil

PostPosted: Tue Jul 31, 2012 6:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi alex6,
Have you tried to rebuild your ATI video driver (xf86-video-ati)? and xf86-input-evdev?
From your log
Code:
[    24.035] (WW) Falling back to old probe method for fglrx
[    24.042] (II) Loading PCS database from /etc/ati/amdpcsdb
[    24.042] (EE) No supported AMD display adapters were found
[    24.042] (EE) No devices detected.
[    24.042]
Fatal server error:
[    24.042] no screens found

It seems your are trying to load a old driver version or something.
G'Luck
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alex6
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Jul 2011
Posts: 157

PostPosted: Tue Jul 31, 2012 6:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

the update also updated my ati-driver.I already tried to rebuild xorg, ati-driver and evdev without success.

But since I post this topic I discovered the last driver I had was coming from an overlay.
I just downgraded to the previous version and now it seems instead of gdm I have a crashy xdm...
Trying to fix this with a livecd....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Doctor
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Jul 2010
Posts: 2630

PostPosted: Tue Jul 31, 2012 6:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

When ever you update xorg you do need to rebuild some drivers.

Here is the command to memorize, burn into you memory, etc, so when Xorg fails you don't need to do anything drastic to find it.

Code:
emerge -av -1 $(qlist -IC x11-drivers)


It should get you a working xorg again, hopefully.
_________________
First things first, but not necessarily in that order.

Apologies if I take a while to respond. I'm currently working on the dematerialization circuit for my blue box.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VoidMage
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Oct 2006
Posts: 6194

PostPosted: Tue Jul 31, 2012 6:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My hunch would be that your video card got too old.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gusar
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 09 Apr 2005
Posts: 2665
Location: Slovenia

PostPosted: Tue Jul 31, 2012 6:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

VoidMage wrote:
My hunch would be that your video card got too old.

Your hunch is correct. What I find interesting is that the driver doesn't provide a useful error message that would tell the user more clearly what's going on.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alex6
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Jul 2011
Posts: 157

PostPosted: Tue Jul 31, 2012 6:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In re-updated to last drivers.Now I dont need a livecd...But still the same error message (and gdm doesn't even try to run :D I only have the login window in console mode)

I also did this
Quote:
emerge -av -1 $(qlist -IC x11-drivers)


But didn't seem to change anything....(Anyway it's a usefull command, instead of having to type evdev etc everytime in emerge....)

Quote:
My hunch would be that your video card got too old.


VoidMage >> do you mean the drivers would stop working for my card since the last version ? (they were working pretty well before)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alex6
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Jul 2011
Posts: 157

PostPosted: Tue Jul 31, 2012 6:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Your hunch is correct. What I find interesting is that the driver doesn't provide a useful error message that would tell the user more clearly what's going on.


Do you talk about this ?

Quote:
(WW) Falling back to old probe method for fglrx



In this case what solutions do I have ?
- downgrading to last working version of ATI-driver ?
- using non proprietary driver ?
- sending an insulting letter to AMD because I bought this card one year ago ?

OR something else ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gusar
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 09 Apr 2005
Posts: 2665
Location: Slovenia

PostPosted: Tue Jul 31, 2012 6:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm talking about the lack of a useful error message. As in, the driver could tell you exactly what's wrong, but it instead shows you stuff that is meaningless.

The solution? Buy a Nvidia card :lol:

Ok, real solution: You need to use the 12.6-legacy driver which isn't in portage currently. The insulting letter to AMD, yeah, do that too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alex6
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Jul 2011
Posts: 157

PostPosted: Tue Jul 31, 2012 6:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for your replies !
I went back to the last working driver version (thanks to emerge.log) and it works again.
I'll install the non proprietary drivers when I'll have time.

By the way I didn't choose an ATI card it was integrated to my motherboard :D (I even looked for the same motherboard with a nvidia card when I bought it)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ferreirafm
Guru
Guru


Joined: 28 Jul 2005
Posts: 487
Location: Sao Paulo, Brazil

PostPosted: Thu Aug 02, 2012 3:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Congrats!
In case you haven't done yet, mask the higher versions of your current ATI drivers to prevent such mess in the next world/system update. More appropriately, you can:
Code:
emerge --noreplace =packagename-packageversion

G'Luck

EDIT: If you are done, put "[SOLVED]" in the beginning of your header.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alex6
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Jul 2011
Posts: 157

PostPosted: Sun Aug 05, 2012 6:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for this info, I was acutally looking for a way to mask all new version in packages.mask, which is not the best solution.
I will do this.Is there another way to mask it without re-emerging it ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ferreirafm
Guru
Guru


Joined: 28 Jul 2005
Posts: 487
Location: Sao Paulo, Brazil

PostPosted: Mon Aug 06, 2012 2:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

alex6 wrote:
Is there another way to mask it without re-emerging it ?

To mask that working driver/package itself and its higher versions as well, edit /etc/portage/packges.mask with
Code:
>=category/packagename-packageversion

This way, your driver will not be re-emerged anymore. However, certainly there will be situations that you will have to emerge it. For instance, when you upgrade your kernel. Cause this I have suggested the emerge --no-replace option.
G'Luck

EDIT: --no-replace option is not going to re-emerge that package. That package is going to be assigned to "--no-replace" only.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alex6
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Jul 2011
Posts: 157

PostPosted: Mon Aug 06, 2012 5:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The strange thing about it is since I did "emerge --noreplace =x11-drivers/ati-drivers-12.2" emerge still want to upgrade it to 12.6 when I do "emerge -avuD world"

Another strange thing is the fact I can't recompile my actual version (12.2) since I have installed a new kernel...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ferreirafm
Guru
Guru


Joined: 28 Jul 2005
Posts: 487
Location: Sao Paulo, Brazil

PostPosted: Mon Aug 06, 2012 9:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

HI alex6,
What did you actually do? "noreplace" option, "mask >=" or both?
From emerge manual
Code:
--noreplace (-n)
              Skips the packages specified on the command-line that have
              already  been  installed.   Without this option, any pack‐
              ages, ebuilds, or deps you  specify  on  the  command-line
              will  cause  Portage to remerge the package, even if it is
              already installed.  Note that  Portage  will  not  remerge
              dependencies by default

So, use the "noreplace"option if you DO NOT want to remerge such package anymore. This option will also protect your package from "depclean", but will not prevent it from being upgraded.
If you don't want to upgrade it never more, mask higher version as suggested above. You can mask higher version with ">" only, which means that you will be able to remerge the package, but it will never be upgraded. In this case, you have to revert the "noreplace" option with the following command:
Code:
emerge --deselect=y =packagename-packageversion

G'Luck
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum