Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Why doesn't my Kodi build use hardware acceleration?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
resill
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Feb 2018
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Wed Jul 18, 2018 12:58 pm    Post subject: Why doesn't my Kodi build use hardware acceleration? Reply with quote

Hi all,

Let's start with a brief picture of my system:

Code:
➜  ~ neofetch --stdout
larry@gentoo
---------------
OS: Gentoo/Linux x86_64
Kernel: 4.17.5-zen
Uptime: 1 hour, 5 mins
Packages: 1005
Shell: zsh 5.5.1
Resolution: 1920x1080
WM: i3
Theme: Adwaita [GTK2]
Icons: Adwaita [GTK2]
Terminal: urxvtd
Terminal Font: DejaVu Sans Mono
CPU: Intel i5-2500K (4) @ 3.301GHz
GPU: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 670
GPU: Intel 2nd Generation Core Processor Family
Memory: 1424MiB / 15947MiB


I've successfully built media-tv/kodi 17.3-r1 on amd64 using the latest stable ebuild in the default Gentoo repository, with the following USE flags: X alsa bluetooth css dbus dvd nonfree opengl pulseaudio samba sftp system-ffmpeg udev udisks upower vdpau webserver xslt:

Code:
➜  ~ eix media-tv/kodi                       
[I] media-tv/kodi
     Available versions:  17.3-r1 ~17.5-r1 ~17.6 ~17.6-r1 ~17.6-r2 ~17.6-r3 ~17.6-r4 **9999 {+X airplay alsa bluetooth bluray caps cec +css dbus debug dvd gbm gles java lcms libressl libusb lirc mysql nfs nonfree +opengl pulseaudio samba sftp +system-ffmpeg systemd test +udev udisks upnp upower vaapi vdpau wayland webserver +xslt zeroconf KERNEL="linux" PYTHON_TARGETS="python2_7"}
     Installed versions:  17.3-r1(00:09:58 18/07/18)(X alsa bluetooth css dbus dvd nonfree opengl pulseaudio samba sftp system-ffmpeg udev udisks upower vdpau webserver xslt -airplay -bluray -caps -cec -debug -gles -java -libressl -libusb -lirc -mysql -nfs -systemd -test -upnp -vaapi -zeroconf KERNEL="linux" PYTHON_TARGETS="python2_7")
     Homepage:            https://kodi.tv/ https://kodi.wiki/
     Description:         Kodi is a free and open source media-player and entertainment hub



Notice the vdpau USE flag above. I've also successfully built x11-drivers/nvidia-drivers 396.24-r1, also using the latest stable ebuild in the default Gentoo repository, with the following use flags: X acpi driver kms multilib tools:

Code:
➜  ~ eix x11-drivers/nvidia-drivers       
[I] x11-drivers/nvidia-drivers
     Available versions:  304.137(0/304)^md 340.107(0/340)^md 375.82(0/375)^md 378.13-r1(0/378)^md 381.22-r1(0/381)^md 384.130(0/384)^md 387.34(0/387)^md 390.67(0/390)^md ~390.77(0/390)^md 396.24-r1(0/396)^md {+X acpi compat +driver gtk3 +kms multilib pax_kernel static-libs +tools uvm wayland ABI_MIPS="n32 n64 o32" ABI_PPC="32 64" ABI_S390="32 64" ABI_X86="32 64 x32" KERNEL="FreeBSD linux"}
     Installed versions:  396.24-r1^md(23:00:02 10/07/18)(X acpi driver kms multilib tools -compat -gtk3 -pax_kernel -static-libs -uvm -wayland ABI_MIPS="-n32 -n64 -o32" ABI_PPC="-32 -64" ABI_S390="-32 -64" ABI_X86="32 64 -x32" KERNEL="linux -FreeBSD")
     Homepage:            http://www.nvidia.com/ http://www.nvidia.com/Download/Find.aspx
     Description:         NVIDIA Accelerated Graphics Driver



The Nvidia kernel modules are running:

Code:
➜  ~ lsmod | grep nvidia
nvidia_drm             40960  1
nvidia_modeset       1064960  2 nvidia_drm
nvidia              13615104  72 nvidia_modeset
drm_kms_helper        229376  2 nvidia_drm,i915
ipmi_msghandler        65536  2 ipmi_devintf,nvidia
drm                   512000  6 drm_kms_helper,nvidia_drm,i915
i2c_core               98304  7 drm_kms_helper,i2c_algo_bit,igb,nvidia,i2c_i801,i915,drm


And for completion, this is the vdpauinfo output:
Code:
➜  ~ vdpauinfo
display: :0   screen: 0
API version: 1
Information string: NVIDIA VDPAU Driver Shared Library  396.24  Wed Apr 25 23:53:18 PDT 2018

Video surface:

name   width height types
-------------------------------------------
420     4096  4096  NV12 YV12
422     4096  4096  UYVY YUYV

Decoder capabilities:

name                        level macbs width height
----------------------------------------------------
MPEG1                           0 65536  4032  4048
MPEG2_SIMPLE                    3 65536  4032  4048
MPEG2_MAIN                      3 65536  4032  4048
H264_BASELINE                  51 65536  4032  4080
H264_MAIN                      51 65536  4032  4080
H264_HIGH                      51 65536  4032  4080
VC1_SIMPLE                      1  8190  2048  2048
VC1_MAIN                        2  8190  2048  2048
VC1_ADVANCED                    4  8190  2048  2048
MPEG4_PART2_SP                  3  8192  2048  2048
MPEG4_PART2_ASP                 5  8192  2048  2048
DIVX4_QMOBILE                   0  8192  2048  2048
DIVX4_MOBILE                    0  8192  2048  2048
DIVX4_HOME_THEATER              0  8192  2048  2048
DIVX4_HD_1080P                  0  8192  2048  2048
DIVX5_QMOBILE                   0  8192  2048  2048
DIVX5_MOBILE                    0  8192  2048  2048
DIVX5_HOME_THEATER              0  8192  2048  2048
DIVX5_HD_1080P                  0  8192  2048  2048
H264_CONSTRAINED_BASELINE      51 65536  4032  4080
H264_EXTENDED                  51 65536  4032  4080
H264_PROGRESSIVE_HIGH          51 65536  4032  4080
H264_CONSTRAINED_HIGH          51 65536  4032  4080
H264_HIGH_444_PREDICTIVE       51 65536  4032  4080
HEVC_MAIN                      --- not supported ---
HEVC_MAIN_10                   --- not supported ---
HEVC_MAIN_STILL                --- not supported ---
HEVC_MAIN_12                   --- not supported ---
HEVC_MAIN_444                  --- not supported ---

Output surface:

name              width height nat types
----------------------------------------------------
B8G8R8A8         16384 16384    y  Y8U8V8A8 V8U8Y8A8 A4I4 I4A4 A8I8 I8A8
R10G10B10A2      16384 16384    y  Y8U8V8A8 V8U8Y8A8 A4I4 I4A4 A8I8 I8A8

Bitmap surface:

name              width height
------------------------------
B8G8R8A8         16384 16384
R8G8B8A8         16384 16384
R10G10B10A2      16384 16384
B10G10R10A2      16384 16384
A8               16384 16384

Video mixer:

feature name                    sup
------------------------------------
DEINTERLACE_TEMPORAL             y
DEINTERLACE_TEMPORAL_SPATIAL     y
INVERSE_TELECINE                 y
NOISE_REDUCTION                  y
SHARPNESS                        y
LUMA_KEY                         y
HIGH QUALITY SCALING - L1        y
HIGH QUALITY SCALING - L2        -
HIGH QUALITY SCALING - L3        -
HIGH QUALITY SCALING - L4        -
HIGH QUALITY SCALING - L5        -
HIGH QUALITY SCALING - L6        -
HIGH QUALITY SCALING - L7        -
HIGH QUALITY SCALING - L8        -
HIGH QUALITY SCALING - L9        -

parameter name                  sup      min      max
-----------------------------------------------------
VIDEO_SURFACE_WIDTH              y         1     4096
VIDEO_SURFACE_HEIGHT             y         1     4096
CHROMA_TYPE                      y 
LAYERS                           y         0        4

attribute name                  sup      min      max
-----------------------------------------------------
BACKGROUND_COLOR                 y 
CSC_MATRIX                       y 
NOISE_REDUCTION_LEVEL            y      0.00     1.00
SHARPNESS_LEVEL                  y     -1.00     1.00
LUMA_KEY_MIN_LUMA                y 
LUMA_KEY_MAX_LUMA                y 




Then in Kodi I've made sure that, in Settings/Player settings, Allow hardware acceleration - VDPAU is truned on, including all of its sub-options. Yet it appears that whenever I launch Kodi and play a(n HD) video file my CPU keeps spiking for as long as I use Kodi, even when browsing through the application menus and settings. While playing a video file, when pressing O, the Player process info shows: Video decoder: ff-h264 (SW). My memory is at ~10% and my four CPU cores are steaming between 85% and 95%.

Have I made a mistake somewhere? How can I force Kodi to use my GPU instead of my CPU?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bunder
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 10 Apr 2004
Posts: 5620

PostPosted: Wed Jul 18, 2018 1:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i see that you are running both i915 and nvidia, are you sure you're using the nvidia card?
_________________
overlay | patches
Neddyseagoon wrote:
The problem with leaving is that you can only do it once and it reduces your influence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
resill
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Feb 2018
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Wed Jul 18, 2018 1:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bunder wrote:
i see that you are running both i915 and nvidia, are you sure you're using the nvidia card?

How can I be sure, and should I blacklist i915 perhaps?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 5879
Location: Room 101

PostPosted: Wed Jul 18, 2018 4:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bunder wrote:
i see that you are running both i915 and nvidia, are you sure you're using the nvidia card?

resill wrote:
How can I be sure, and should I blacklist i915 perhaps?

resill ... 'cat /proc/fb' will show 'inteldrmfb' if i915 is in use ... I expect something similar for nvidia (I just can't say what).

best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
resill
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Feb 2018
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Wed Jul 18, 2018 4:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

khayyam wrote:
resill ... 'cat /proc/fb' will show 'inteldrmfb' if i915 is in use ... I expect something similar for nvidia (I just can't say what).

best ... khay


Code:
➜  ~ sudo cat /proc/fb
0 simple


I guess we can rule this one out then, thanks. :-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 40979
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Jul 18, 2018 5:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

resill,

Are you using Xorg or running Kodi without X?

If you have an /var/log/Xorg.0.log, please put it onto a pastebin site.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
resill
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Feb 2018
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Wed Jul 18, 2018 5:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
resill,

Are you using Xorg or running Kodi without X?

If you have an /var/log/Xorg.0.log, please put it onto a pastebin site.
I should be running Xorg. Please find my /var/log/Xorg.0.log here: https://pastebin.com/5V3AagKK
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 40979
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Jul 18, 2018 6:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

resill,

No acceleration at all.
Code:
[    34.955] (EE) NVIDIA(0): Failed to initialize the GLX module; please check in your X
[    34.955] (EE) NVIDIA(0):     log file that the GLX module has been loaded in your X
[    34.955] (EE) NVIDIA(0):     server, and that the module is the NVIDIA GLX module.  If
[    34.955] (EE) NVIDIA(0):     you continue to encounter problems, Please try
[    34.955] (EE) NVIDIA(0):     reinstalling the NVIDIA driver.
...
[    35.230] (II) NVIDIA(0): Virtual screen size determined to be 1920 x 1080

The kernel module is loaded.
Code:

[    34.885] Build Operating System: Linux 4.15.0-20-generic x86_64 Gentoo
[    34.886] Current Operating System: Linux nostromo 4.17.5-zen #1 ZEN SMP PREEMPT Tue Jul 10 20:13:39 -00 2018 x86_64

What does
Code:
eselect opengl list
show.
So your nvidia card isn't working.

Code:

[    35.515] EGL_MESA_drm_image required.
[    35.517] (EE) modeset(G0): glamor initialization failed

Glamor provides acceleratin on the the Intel chipset.

Is this an Optims graphics system?
I suspect not as it would not have reported
Code:
[    35.230] (II) NVIDIA(0): Virtual screen size determined to be 1920 x 1080


For nVidia, it may be as simple as selecting the nvidia opengl then restarting Xorg.
For the Intel chipest you need glamor support everywhere.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
resill
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Feb 2018
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Wed Jul 18, 2018 6:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
resill,

No acceleration at all.
Code:
[    34.955] (EE) NVIDIA(0): Failed to initialize the GLX module; please check in your X
[    34.955] (EE) NVIDIA(0):     log file that the GLX module has been loaded in your X
[    34.955] (EE) NVIDIA(0):     server, and that the module is the NVIDIA GLX module.  If
[    34.955] (EE) NVIDIA(0):     you continue to encounter problems, Please try
[    34.955] (EE) NVIDIA(0):     reinstalling the NVIDIA driver.
...
[    35.230] (II) NVIDIA(0): Virtual screen size determined to be 1920 x 1080

The kernel module is loaded.
Code:

[    34.885] Build Operating System: Linux 4.15.0-20-generic x86_64 Gentoo
[    34.886] Current Operating System: Linux nostromo 4.17.5-zen #1 ZEN SMP PREEMPT Tue Jul 10 20:13:39 -00 2018 x86_64

What does
Code:
eselect opengl list
show.
So your nvidia card isn't working.

Code:

[    35.515] EGL_MESA_drm_image required.
[    35.517] (EE) modeset(G0): glamor initialization failed

Glamor provides acceleratin on the the Intel chipset.

Is this an Optims graphics system?
I suspect not as it would not have reported
Code:
[    35.230] (II) NVIDIA(0): Virtual screen size determined to be 1920 x 1080


For nVidia, it may be as simple as selecting the nvidia opengl then restarting Xorg.
For the Intel chipest you need glamor support everywhere.


I'm not really sure what Optimus is, or if my card supports that (how can I find out?) I'm using an EVGA NVIDIA GeForce GTX 670.

You're a genius:
Code:
➜  ~ sudo eselect opengl list           
Password:
Available OpenGL implementations:
  [1]   nvidia
  [2]   xorg-x11 *


After settings this to nvidia and restarting Xorg I could play videos using Kodi with hardware acceleration again. Kodi also mentions it's using ff-h264-vdpau (HW). I must have missed this one when reinstalling my box, sorry...

My /var/log/Xorg.0.log still has some errors, but I'm already glad Kodi works again: https://pastebin.com/VcfdrVsf Would this still be of any concern?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 40979
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Jul 18, 2018 6:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

resill,

The Xorg auto hardware detect tries to use the following drivers, in order of preference.
Code:
[ 23401.300] (==) Matched nvidia as autoconfigured driver 0
[ 23401.301] (==) Matched nouveau as autoconfigured driver 1
[ 23401.301] (==) Matched nv as autoconfigured driver 2
[ 23401.301] (==) Matched intel as autoconfigured driver 3
[ 23401.301] (==) Matched nouveau as autoconfigured driver 4
[ 23401.301] (==) Matched nv as autoconfigured driver 5
[ 23401.301] (==) Matched modesetting as autoconfigured driver 6
[ 23401.301] (==) Matched fbdev as autoconfigured driver 7
[ 23401.301] (==) Matched vesa as autoconfigured driver 8


Lines like
Code:
[ 23401.301] (WW) Warning, couldn't open module nouveau
...
[ 23401.301] (EE) Failed to load module "intel" (module does not exist, 0)
are harmless. Xorg tried to load the driver(s) but its not available.

Code:
[ 23401.586] (II) glamor: OpenGL accelerated X.org driver based.
[ 23401.636] (EE) modeset(G0): eglGetDisplay() failed
[ 23401.636] (EE) modeset(G0): glamor initialization failed
means that you won't have acceleration for your Intel chipset but you have to choose a single OpenGL implementation system wide, so you can't have both xorg and nvidia selected in eselect opengl at the same time.

Optimus is a cost saving and power saving way to combine an Intel and nVidia graphics system into a single graphics system.
Only the Intel GPU can write to the display but either GPUs can draw in the pixel buffer.
The nvidia GPU has no links to the outside world at all, so can't read the display EDID data or put an image on the display surface.
The idea is to only use the high power nvidia GPU only when its needed.

Its up to you if you want to fix glamor or not. Its not needed while the nvidia card is in use.
Installing x11-drivers/nvidia-drivers usually selects the nvidia OpenGL for you. I wonder what happened for you?
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
resill
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Feb 2018
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Wed Jul 18, 2018 7:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
resill,

The Xorg auto hardware detect tries to use the following drivers, in order of preference.
Code:
[ 23401.300] (==) Matched nvidia as autoconfigured driver 0
[ 23401.301] (==) Matched nouveau as autoconfigured driver 1
[ 23401.301] (==) Matched nv as autoconfigured driver 2
[ 23401.301] (==) Matched intel as autoconfigured driver 3
[ 23401.301] (==) Matched nouveau as autoconfigured driver 4
[ 23401.301] (==) Matched nv as autoconfigured driver 5
[ 23401.301] (==) Matched modesetting as autoconfigured driver 6
[ 23401.301] (==) Matched fbdev as autoconfigured driver 7
[ 23401.301] (==) Matched vesa as autoconfigured driver 8


Lines like
Code:
[ 23401.301] (WW) Warning, couldn't open module nouveau
...
[ 23401.301] (EE) Failed to load module "intel" (module does not exist, 0)
are harmless. Xorg tried to load the driver(s) but its not available.

Code:
[ 23401.586] (II) glamor: OpenGL accelerated X.org driver based.
[ 23401.636] (EE) modeset(G0): eglGetDisplay() failed
[ 23401.636] (EE) modeset(G0): glamor initialization failed
means that you won't have acceleration for your Intel chipset but you have to choose a single OpenGL implementation system wide, so you can't have both xorg and nvidia selected in eselect opengl at the same time.

Optimus is a cost saving and power saving way to combine an Intel and nVidia graphics system into a single graphics system.
Only the Intel GPU can write to the display but either GPUs can draw in the pixel buffer.
The nvidia GPU has no links to the outside world at all, so can't read the display EDID data or put an image on the display surface.
The idea is to only use the high power nvidia GPU only when its needed.

Its up to you if you want to fix glamor or not. Its not needed while the nvidia card is in use.
Installing x11-drivers/nvidia-drivers usually selects the nvidia OpenGL for you. I wonder what happened for you?


Thanks for explaining and taking the time took look at my logs. I'm willing to fix glamor, just to have a backup, and because I'm interested. When taking a look at https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Intel#Modesetting_DDX it should be just a matter of adding the glamor USE flag, and appending intel i965 to my VIDEO_CARDS="nvidia" in my make.conf, right (not sure about that last one)?

I'm also not sure what happened to my x11-drivers/nvidia-drivers installation. I just set the aforementioned VIDEO_CARDS="nvidia" in make.conf and did a @world update.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 40979
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Jul 18, 2018 7:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

resill,

I think its just adding USE=glamor then rebuilding affected packages.

Unless nvidia has changed over that last few years adding intel i965 to VIDEO_CARDS= will fail as the kernel cannot support both intel and the nvidia binary blob at the same time.
Hence your intel chip uses the modesetting driver, which works but is not as good as the Intel driver.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
resill
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Feb 2018
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Wed Jul 18, 2018 7:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
resill,

I think its just adding USE=glamor then rebuilding affected packages.

Unless nvidia has changed over that last few years adding intel i965 to VIDEO_CARDS= will fail as the kernel cannot support both intel and the nvidia binary blob at the same time.
Hence your intel chip uses the modesetting driver, which works but is not as good as the Intel driver.


When adding the glamor USE flag to make.conf and then doing a sudo emerge --ask --verbose --update --deep --newuse --keep-going --with-bdeps=y @world, nothing is rebuilt for some reason. Maybe this only works when changing completely to VIDEO_CARDS="intel i965", right? Anyway, my original issue is fixed and I dare not take any more of your time. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 40979
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Jul 18, 2018 8:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

resill,

Code:
 $ equery h glamor
 * Searching for USE flag glamor ...
[IP-] [  ] x11-base/xorg-server-1.19.5-r2:0/1.19.5
[IP-] [  ] x11-drivers/xf86-video-ati-18.0.1-r1:0


Only x11-base/xorg-server is of interest. Does
Code:
emerge -pv1  x11-base/xorg-server
list glamor as set already?

Don't worry about my time. Others will read this thread later. It will help them too.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
resill
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Feb 2018
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Wed Jul 18, 2018 8:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@NeddySeagoon

Why, yes it does:
Code:
➜  ~ emerge -pv1  x11-base/xorg-server

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild   R    ] x11-base/xorg-server-1.19.5-r2:0/1.19.5::gentoo  USE="glamor ipv6 suid udev xorg -debug -dmx -doc -kdrive -libressl -minimal (-selinux) -static-libs -systemd -tslib -unwind -wayland -xcsecurity -xephyr -xnest -xvfb" 0 KiB

Total: 1 package (1 reinstall), Size of downloads: 0 KiB


It feels like I'm missing something.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 40979
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Jul 18, 2018 8:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

resill,

Glamor must be set either in your profile, or in your package.use.

I don't understand the Xorg error now.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
resill
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Feb 2018
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Wed Jul 18, 2018 8:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@NeddySeagoon

I can't seem to find it in either package.use or in make.profile:
Code:
➜  ~ grep -ir glamor /etc/portage/package.use
➜  ~ grep -ir glamor /etc/portage/make.profile
➜  ~     


and eix shows I have built it 8 days ago:
Code:
➜  ~ eix x11-base/xorg-server
[I] x11-base/xorg-server
     Available versions:  1.19.5-r2(0/1.19.5) ~1.20.0(0/1.20.0) **9999(0/9999) {debug dmx doc +glamor ipv6 kdrive libressl minimal selinux static-libs +suid systemd tslib +udev unwind wayland xcsecurity xephyr xnest xorg xvfb}
     Installed versions:  1.19.5-r2(14:14:11 10/07/18)(glamor ipv6 suid udev xorg -debug -dmx -doc -kdrive -libressl -minimal -selinux -static-libs -systemd -tslib -unwind -wayland -xcsecurity -xephyr -xnest -xvfb)
     Homepage:            https://www.x.org/wiki/ https://cgit.freedesktop.org/
     Description:         X.Org X servers


It must be included somewhere, according to:
Code:
➜  ~ portageq envvar USE | xargs -n 1 | grep glamor
glamor


Where else should I look?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 12490

PostPosted: Thu Jul 19, 2018 1:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

As of my last sync, =x11-base/xorg-server-1.19.5-r2 has IUSE=+glamor, so it is enabled unless you explicitly disable it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum