Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
pulse audio causing delays in firefox
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Wizumwalt
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 Aug 2006
Posts: 418

PostPosted: Mon Aug 14, 2017 2:25 am    Post subject: pulse audio causing delays in firefox Reply with quote

When I install pulse-audio, every time I click on a link in firefox (52.2), there is about a 4 second delay before firefox reacts to my clicking on a link in a webpage.

If I uninstall pulse-audio, firefox works just fine, no delays.

Anyone have thoughts on this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 5869
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Mon Aug 14, 2017 4:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

How are you "installing" pulseaudio?

There's a lot of things that need to be put together for it to actually work properly... Normally the least effort way is to set USE=pulseaudio and emerge --deep --newuse @world.

You may be better off using ALSA with firefox until you're forced to use pulseaudio or apulse?
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wizumwalt
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 Aug 2006
Posts: 418

PostPosted: Mon Aug 14, 2017 6:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I install pulse-audio the normal gentoo way, emerge (and just as you posted -uDN @world). I basically just follow the Gentoo PA wiki page. I have PA because skype now requires it as are so many other apps.

The situation is getting bad, but I guess not enough people really care since all the distros keep going in these directions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 5869
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Mon Aug 14, 2017 6:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I would think it's kind of tricky to remove pulseaudio, which seems to sound like it's an easy task (Simply emerge --unmerge pulseaudio doesn't quite cut it). Did you have consolekit up and running as well before PA? What DE are you using? Does PA even work?

Yes people writing software want to "move ahead"... all about "integration"...
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wizumwalt
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 Aug 2006
Posts: 418

PostPosted: Mon Aug 14, 2017 9:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've been able to uninstall it quite easily with -C. Actually, I didn't quite understand where consolekit was coming from, sort of thought it was PA since sound only worked when I had consolekit started. My DE is 'awesome' and PA does work most of the time. But I'm not a big sound person.

Heh, moving ahead can be done in different directions. It's not always a "this is the only way."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 5869
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Tue Aug 15, 2017 3:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So it looks like you don't have pulseaudio un-setup (or setup for that matter) completely if you just uninstalled pulseaudio by emerge -C ... because you still have consolekit installed. Pulseaudio requires consolekit as it uses consolekit to give rights to your sound device.

Since you use awesome you don't really use a true DE and thus don't technically require consolekit. So there's a bit of a learning curve involved with console sessions and pulseaudio that need to be figured out...

Once you had consolekit installed, did you etc-update/dispatch-conf to update the /etc/pam.d/* stuff for consolekit. This would then get consolekit working properly and thus should allow pulseaudio to work.

Then you need to make sure your client programs such as firefox(USE flag, and post 52.* it will be required) and skype(required) to use pulseaudio.
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
arnvidr
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Aug 2004
Posts: 546
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Tue Aug 15, 2017 12:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

eccerr0r wrote:
firefox(USE flag, and post 52.* it will be required
That's not really true. I still had sound in 54, and I haven't noticed missing sound in 55, although I can't be sure if I've yet actually tried to make any sound after upgrading.

edit: Just to clarify, I don't have pulseaudio installed.
_________________
Noone wrote:
anything
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 5869
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Tue Aug 15, 2017 3:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So you're using apulse?

Either way, Firefox after 52 no longer support direct ALSA, and use the pulseaudio API.
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum