Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] New Laptop - Microphone not working
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
chevymoon
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Aug 2002
Posts: 111

PostPosted: Fri Apr 17, 2020 1:21 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED] New Laptop - Microphone not working Reply with quote

Hi, All. I'm having an issue getting my mic to work. I'm specifically interested in getting it to work in Skype. Other than a few work related softwares, it's the only reason I boot to Windows. My wife is overseas and it's essential.

Sound did not work at all initially. I've made changes to alsa.conf, the kernel, etc. Sound works from speakers perfectly, just no microphone. I'm out of ideas at this point.

My Laptop is an ASUS ROG Strix GL703G. Kernel 5.4.28-gentoo-x86_64. I used genkernel.

$ lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 8th Gen Core Processor Host Bridge/DRAM Registers (rev 07)
00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation Xeon E3-1200 v5/E3-1500 v5/6th Gen Core Processor PCIe Controller (x16) (rev 07)
00:04.0 Signal processing controller: Intel Corporation Xeon E3-1200 v5/E3-1500 v5/6th Gen Core Processor Thermal Subsystem (rev 07)
00:08.0 System peripheral: Intel Corporation Xeon E3-1200 v5/v6 / E3-1500 v5 / 6th/7th/8th Gen Core Processor Gaussian Mixture Model
00:12.0 Signal processing controller: Intel Corporation Cannon Lake PCH Thermal Controller (rev 10)
00:14.0 USB controller: Intel Corporation Cannon Lake PCH USB 3.1 xHCI Host Controller (rev 10)
00:14.2 RAM memory: Intel Corporation Cannon Lake PCH Shared SRAM (rev 10)
00:14.3 Network controller: Intel Corporation Wireless-AC 9560 [Jefferson Peak] (rev 10)
00:15.0 Serial bus controller [0c80]: Intel Corporation Cannon Lake PCH Serial IO I2C Controller #0 (rev 10)
00:15.1 Serial bus controller [0c80]: Intel Corporation Cannon Lake PCH Serial IO I2C Controller #1 (rev 10)
00:16.0 Communication controller: Intel Corporation Cannon Lake PCH HECI Controller (rev 10)
00:17.0 SATA controller: Intel Corporation Cannon Lake Mobile PCH SATA AHCI Controller (rev 10)
00:1d.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation Cannon Lake PCH PCI Express Root Port #9 (rev f0)
00:1d.6 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation Cannon Lake PCH PCI Express Root Port #15 (rev f0)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation Device a30d (rev 10)
00:1f.3 Audio device: Intel Corporation Cannon Lake PCH cAVS (rev 10)
00:1f.4 SMBus: Intel Corporation Cannon Lake PCH SMBus Controller (rev 10)
00:1f.5 Serial bus controller [0c80]: Intel Corporation Cannon Lake PCH SPI Controller (rev 10)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation GP104BM [GeForce GTX 1070 Mobile] (rev a1)
01:00.1 Audio device: NVIDIA Corporation GP104 High Definition Audio Controller (rev a1)
02:00.0 Non-Volatile memory controller: Samsung Electronics Co Ltd NVMe SSD Controller SM961/PM961
03:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller (rev 15)

/etc/modprobe.d/alsa.conf
# Alsa kernel modules' configuration file.

# ALSA portion
alias char-major-116 snd
# OSS/Free portion
alias char-major-14 soundcore

##
## IMPORTANT:
## You need to customise this section for your specific sound card(s)
## and then run `update-modules' command.
## Read alsa-driver's INSTALL file in /usr/share/doc for more info.
##
## ALSA portion
## alias snd-card-0 snd-interwave
## alias snd-card-1 snd-ens1371
## OSS/Free portion
## alias sound-slot-0 snd-card-0
## alias sound-slot-1 snd-card-1
##

# OSS/Free portion - card #1
alias sound-service-0-0 snd-mixer-oss
alias sound-service-0-1 snd-seq-oss
alias sound-service-0-3 snd-pcm-oss
alias sound-service-0-8 snd-seq-oss
alias sound-service-0-12 snd-pcm-oss
## OSS/Free portion - card #2
## alias sound-service-1-0 snd-mixer-oss
## alias sound-service-1-3 snd-pcm-oss
## alias sound-service-1-12 snd-pcm-oss

alias /dev/mixer snd-mixer-oss
alias /dev/dsp snd-pcm-oss
alias /dev/midi snd-seq-oss

# Set this to the correct number of cards.
options snd cards_limit=1
#options snd-hda-intel index=1
#options snd-hda-intel
options snd-hda-intel probe_mask=0x1 model=alc295-disable-dac3 index=1

kernel .config
http://dpaste.com/247878C

lsmod
http://dpaste.com/0NKWFZ3

Not sure of the best way to show alsamixer or pulseaudio apps here, but everything looks enabled, unmuted. Any suggestions appreciated.


Last edited by chevymoon on Sun May 03, 2020 3:08 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RayDude
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 29 May 2004
Posts: 1583
Location: San Jose, CA

PostPosted: Sat Apr 18, 2020 9:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Install pavucontrol or pavucontrol-qt and run it. Then click the input devices tab and see if your mic is selected.

That's what fixed my laptop with this problem.

I'm running KDE and it's volume control still does not do all the settings for pulse.
_________________
Some day there will only be free software.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chevymoon
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Aug 2002
Posts: 111

PostPosted: Sun Apr 19, 2020 1:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you, RayDude. I had those two installed and was using them. They show what I think is the correct input device - Internal Microphone. but no joy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gentlenoob
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Apr 2008
Posts: 41

PostPosted: Sun Apr 19, 2020 6:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had a similar issue recently and had to activate my capture devices first. In my case I did it with alsamixer, i.e. starting it from console, hitting 'F4' for capturing devices only, then moving the cursor to 'Capture' and hitting 'space', which toggles a red colored 'CAPTURE' indicator.

Good luck, Ralph
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RayDude
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 29 May 2004
Posts: 1583
Location: San Jose, CA

PostPosted: Sun Apr 19, 2020 8:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gentlenoob wrote:
I had a similar issue recently and had to activate my capture devices first. In my case I did it with alsamixer, i.e. starting it from console, hitting 'F4' for capturing devices only, then moving the cursor to 'Capture' and hitting 'space', which toggles a red colored 'CAPTURE' indicator.

Good luck, Ralph


This was going to be my next suggestions. Thanks Ralph!
_________________
Some day there will only be free software.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UlFie
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Nov 2011
Posts: 112
Location: Wuppertal

PostPosted: Mon Apr 20, 2020 4:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

When I set up my current laptop, I also had problems to get sound from the mic. Turned out that none of the controls in kmix with `Mic' in the label actually controlled the microphone, but one labelled `Digital'. So now all the `Mic' controls are down to zero, and `Digital' is at 100%. So I suggest trying out each and every control (and maybe even combinations), you might end up as surprised as I was when I found this solution.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Budoka
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Jun 2012
Posts: 745
Location: Tokyo, Japan

PostPosted: Tue Apr 21, 2020 4:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Following this thread closely.

I was never able to get my mic to work and quite frankly at some point just gave up.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RayDude
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 29 May 2004
Posts: 1583
Location: San Jose, CA

PostPosted: Tue Apr 21, 2020 4:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Budoka wrote:
Following this thread closely.

I was never able to get my mic to work and quite frankly at some point just gave up.


I avoided pulseaudio for years because every time I tried it, it made my audio a little nightmare. I think I only gave in when I found out that audio in firefox would only use pulse.

Configuring pulse and alsa is ... to say the least ... tricky. It took me hours to figure out how to set everything up.

Since then pulse has improved and except for the odd pulseaudio die which needs pulseaudio -k to fix, everything is working well. Even surround sound is working. That's cool.

Can you post the output of: (I give the command, and I show a sample from my work laptop)

Code:
fire /usr/src/linux # emerge -1pv pulseaudio

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild   R    ] media-sound/pulseaudio-13.0::gentoo  USE="X alsa alsa-plugin asyncns bluetooth caps dbus elogind gdbm glib gtk ipv6 jack lirc orc qt5 realtime ssl tcpd udev webrtc-aec zeroconf -doc -equalizer -gconf -libressl -libsamplerate -native-headset -ofono-headset (-oss) (-selinux) -sox (-system-wide) -systemd -test" ABI_X86="32 (64) (-x32)" 0 KiB

Total: 1 package (1 reinstall), Size of downloads: 0 KiB


Code:
fire /usr/src/linux # equery list *alsa*
 * Searching for *alsa* ...
[IP-] [  ] dev-python/pyalsa-1.1.6:0
[IP-] [  ] media-libs/alsa-lib-1.2.2:0
[IP-] [  ] media-plugins/alsa-plugins-1.2.2:0
[IP-] [  ] media-sound/alsa-tools-1.2.2:0.9
[IP-] [  ] media-sound/alsa-utils-1.2.2:0.9


Code:
fire /usr/src/linux # emerge -1pv alsa-lib

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild   R   ~] media-libs/alsa-lib-1.2.2::gentoo  USE="python thread-safety -alisp -debug -doc" ABI_X86="32 (64) (-x32)" PYTHON_SINGLE_TARGET="python3_6 -python2_7 -python3_7" 0 KiB

Total: 1 package (1 reinstall), Size of downloads: 0 KiB



Code:
fire /usr/src/linux # emerge -1pv alsa-plugins

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild   R   ~] media-plugins/alsa-plugins-1.2.2::gentoo  USE="ffmpeg jack mix pulseaudio usb_stream -arcam_av -debug (-libav) -libsamplerate -oss -speex" ABI_X86="32 (64) (-x32)" 0 KiB

Total: 1 package (1 reinstall), Size of downloads: 0 KiB




Code:
fire /usr/src/linux # grep SND /usr/src/linux/.config | grep -v "not set"
CONFIG_SND=y
CONFIG_SND_TIMER=y
CONFIG_SND_PCM=y
CONFIG_SND_SEQ_DEVICE=y
CONFIG_SND_JACK=y
CONFIG_SND_JACK_INPUT_DEV=y
CONFIG_SND_OSSEMUL=y
CONFIG_SND_MIXER_OSS=y
CONFIG_SND_PCM_OSS=y
CONFIG_SND_PCM_OSS_PLUGINS=y
CONFIG_SND_PCM_TIMER=y
CONFIG_SND_DYNAMIC_MINORS=y
CONFIG_SND_MAX_CARDS=32
CONFIG_SND_SUPPORT_OLD_API=y
CONFIG_SND_PROC_FS=y
CONFIG_SND_VMASTER=y
CONFIG_SND_DMA_SGBUF=y
CONFIG_SND_SEQUENCER=y
CONFIG_SND_SEQUENCER_OSS=y
CONFIG_SND_SEQ_MIDI_EVENT=y
CONFIG_SND_PCI=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_INTEL=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_RECONFIG=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_PATCH_LOADER=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_REALTEK=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_ANALOG=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_SIGMATEL=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_HDMI=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CIRRUS=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CONEXANT=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CMEDIA=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_SI3054=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_GENERIC=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_POWER_SAVE_DEFAULT=0
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CORE=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_COMPONENT=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_I915=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_PREALLOC_SIZE=4096
CONFIG_SND_INTEL_NHLT=y
CONFIG_SND_INTEL_DSP_CONFIG=y


Edit: Oh, add these too:

Code:
fire /usr/src/linux # lspci | grep -i audio
00:1f.3 Audio device: Intel Corporation 100 Series/C230 Series Chipset Family HD Audio Controller (rev 31)
01:00.1 Audio device: NVIDIA Corporation GP104 High Definition Audio Controller (rev a1)


Code:
lsusb | grep -i audio


I have no usb audio devices...
_________________
Some day there will only be free software.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chevymoon
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Aug 2002
Posts: 111

PostPosted: Tue Apr 21, 2020 5:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry for not being more involved with this thread. Got caught up in some work.

Thank you all for your replies. The capture device in alsamixer is unmuted. Still no functioning microphone.

Stupid question, RayDude. How do you get the nice quotes in your reply? How do you copy and paste to make it look like that?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RayDude
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 29 May 2004
Posts: 1583
Location: San Jose, CA

PostPosted: Tue Apr 21, 2020 5:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

chevymoon wrote:
Sorry for not being more involved with this thread. Got caught up in some work.

Thank you all for your replies. The capture device in alsamixer is unmuted. Still no functioning microphone.

Stupid question, RayDude. How do you get the nice quotes in your reply? How do you copy and paste to make it look like that?


Use code comments:

Code:
This is code


It's made by surrounding blocks of text with '[code\]' in the front and '[/code\]' at the end.

(remove the backslashes, I had to add them to keep them from operating...)

You can also highlight the text and press the "Code" button above the text editor window.
_________________
Some day there will only be free software.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chevymoon
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Aug 2002
Posts: 111

PostPosted: Tue Apr 21, 2020 6:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
parakeet /home/bryon # lspci | grep -i audio
00:1f.3 Audio device: Intel Corporation Cannon Lake PCH cAVS (rev 10)
01:00.1 Audio device: NVIDIA Corporation GP104 High Definition Audio Controller (rev a1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chevymoon
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Aug 2002
Posts: 111

PostPosted: Tue Apr 21, 2020 6:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
parakeet /home/bryon # grep SND /usr/src/linux/.config | grep -v "not set"                                   
CONFIG_SND=y
CONFIG_SND_TIMER=y
CONFIG_SND_PCM=y
CONFIG_SND_COMPRESS_OFFLOAD=y
CONFIG_SND_JACK=y
CONFIG_SND_JACK_INPUT_DEV=y
CONFIG_SND_OSSEMUL=y
CONFIG_SND_MIXER_OSS=y
CONFIG_SND_PCM_OSS=y
CONFIG_SND_PCM_OSS_PLUGINS=y
CONFIG_SND_PCM_TIMER=y
CONFIG_SND_DYNAMIC_MINORS=y
CONFIG_SND_MAX_CARDS=32
CONFIG_SND_SUPPORT_OLD_API=y
CONFIG_SND_PROC_FS=y
CONFIG_SND_VERBOSE_PROCFS=y
CONFIG_SND_VMASTER=y
CONFIG_SND_DMA_SGBUF=y
CONFIG_SND_DRIVERS=y
CONFIG_SND_PCI=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_INTEL=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_REALTEK=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_ANALOG=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_HDMI=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_GENERIC=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_POWER_SAVE_DEFAULT=0
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CORE=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_DSP_LOADER=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_COMPONENT=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_I915=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_EXT_CORE=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_PREALLOC_SIZE=2048
CONFIG_SND_INTEL_NHLT=y
CONFIG_SND_SPI=y
CONFIG_SND_USB=y
CONFIG_SND_FIREWIRE=y
CONFIG_SND_PCMCIA=y
CONFIG_SND_SOC=y
CONFIG_SND_SOC_COMPRESS=y
CONFIG_SND_SOC_TOPOLOGY=y
CONFIG_SND_SOC_ACPI=y
CONFIG_SND_SOC_INTEL_SST_TOPLEVEL=y
CONFIG_SND_SST_IPC=y
CONFIG_SND_SST_IPC_ACPI=y
CONFIG_SND_SOC_INTEL_SST=y
CONFIG_SND_SST_ATOM_HIFI2_PLATFORM=y
CONFIG_SND_SST_ATOM_HIFI2_PLATFORM_ACPI=y
CONFIG_SND_SOC_INTEL_CFL=y
CONFIG_SND_SOC_INTEL_SKYLAKE_FAMILY=y
CONFIG_SND_SOC_INTEL_SKYLAKE_COMMON=y
CONFIG_SND_SOC_ACPI_INTEL_MATCH=y
CONFIG_SND_SOC_INTEL_MACH=y
CONFIG_SND_SOC_I2C_AND_SPI=y
CONFIG_SND_X86=y


Code:
parakeet /home/bryon # equery list *alsa*
 * Searching for *alsa* ...
[IP-] [  ] media-libs/alsa-lib-1.2.1.2:0
[IP-] [  ] media-plugins/alsa-plugins-1.2.1:0
[IP-] [  ] media-sound/alsa-utils-1.2.1:0.9


Code:
parakeet /home/bryon # emerge -1pv pulseaudio

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild   R    ] media-sound/pulseaudio-13.0::gentoo  USE="X alsa alsa-plugin asyncns bluetooth caps dbus elogind gdbm glib ipv6 orc qt5 realtime ssl tcpd udev webrtc-aec -doc -equalizer -gconf -gtk -jack -libressl -libsamplerate -lirc -native-headset -ofono-headset (-oss) (-selinux) -sox (-system-wide) -systemd -test -zeroconf" ABI_X86="(64) -32 (-x32)" 0 KiB

Total: 1 package (1 reinstall), Size of downloads: 0 KiB


Code:
parakeet /home/bryon # emerge -1pv alsa-plugins

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild   R    ] media-plugins/alsa-plugins-1.2.1::gentoo  USE="mix pulseaudio usb_stream -arcam_av -debug -ffmpeg -jack (-libav) -libsamplerate -oss -speex" ABI_X86="(64) -32 (-x32)" 0 KiB

Total: 1 package (1 reinstall), Size of downloads: 0 KiB


Code:
parakeet /home/bryon # emerge -1pv alsa-lib

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild   R    ] media-libs/alsa-lib-1.2.1.2::gentoo  USE="thread-safety -alisp -debug -doc -python" ABI_X86="(64) -32 (-x32)" PYTHON_SINGLE_TARGET="python3_6 -python2_7 -python3_7" 0 KiB

Total: 1 package (1 reinstall), Size of downloads: 0 KiB


No USB devices, either.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RayDude
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 29 May 2004
Posts: 1583
Location: San Jose, CA

PostPosted: Wed Apr 22, 2020 11:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You should probably install alsa-tools, however I don't think that will prevent the mic from working.

Sorry if this seems redundant, I have to start by asking the obvious questions.

When you run alsamixer, can you see the line in gains after you press F4? Are they set to non-zero values and unmuted?

Does it list your chip and card on the top left?

Did you try pavucontrol to see if it shows recording devices and try setting the recording device?

Is pulseaudio running? What GUI are you running, is it set to input and output from and to pulse?
_________________
Some day there will only be free software.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chevymoon
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Aug 2002
Posts: 111

PostPosted: Fri Apr 24, 2020 8:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks for the replies, RayDude.

I'm running:

Operating System: Gentoo Linux
KDE Plasma Version: 5.17.5
KDE Frameworks Version: 5.67.0
Qt Version: 5.14.1
Kernel Version: 5.4.28-gentoo-x86_64
OS Type: 64-bit
Processors: 12 × Intel® Core™ i7-8750H CPU @ 2.20GHz
Memory: 15.6 GiB of RAM

I will get alsa-tools installed, and PulseAudio is running. Alsamixer F4 shows PulseAudio capture device, unmuted.

My choices for Input Devices in Pavucontrol are Internal Microphone (selected) and Headset microphone. I have tried both, and I've used a bluetooth headset with no luck.

Sytem Settings -> Audio shows Built-In Analog Stereo as my options for Output and Input, with Internal Microphone as the input.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RayDude
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 29 May 2004
Posts: 1583
Location: San Jose, CA

PostPosted: Sun Apr 26, 2020 5:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
I will get alsa-tools installed, and PulseAudio is running. Alsamixer F4 shows PulseAudio capture device, unmuted.


Pulse there seems odd to me.

Run alsamixer at a command prompt, then press F6 and choose the device you know the microphone input
is on, then press F4 and see what it says...

You may need to check more than one device.

Look for the "MM" at the bottom of the bars, use the arrow keys to shift left and right and unmute all the inputs!

If that doesn't work, let me know and I'll try to come up with other ideas.
_________________
Some day there will only be free software.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chevymoon
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Aug 2002
Posts: 111

PostPosted: Mon Apr 27, 2020 11:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've made sure everything is enabled and unmuted for HDA PCH. There is an HDA NVidia selection under available sound cards, but does not have any input devices. I am confused by "Auto-Mute Mode". It was enabled, so I disabled it. It makes no difference.

thanks again for your help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
javeree
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 405

PostPosted: Mon Apr 27, 2020 7:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My Laptop is an ASUS ROG Strix GL703VM, so virtuallly the same as yours, and I am facing the same issue: internal microphone doesn't work.
I am trying to do this from console, so no pulseaudio is active.

Same as you, I checked alsamixer amixer and made sure all mixer settings were enabled.
I can run arecord /tmp/test.wav, but when I play it back all I get is static.

I see the following with lspci -knn
Quote:
00:1f.3 Audio device [0403]: Intel Corporation CM238 HD Audio Controller [8086:a171] (rev 31)
Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. CM238 HD Audio Controller [1043:1bc0]
Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel
Kernel modules: snd_hda_intel
...
01:00.1 Audio device [0403]: NVIDIA Corporation GP106 High Definition Audio Controller [10de:10f1] (rev a1)
Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel
Kernel modules: snd_hda_intel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
javeree
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 405

PostPosted: Mon Apr 27, 2020 8:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just restarted after having executed

Quote:
echo "options snd-hda-intel model=generic" > /etc/modprobe.d/snd-hda.conf


and now I get a recording. There is still quite some noise on it, but maybe I can get it right by tuning the volume sliders.
Can you test the same on your system ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chevymoon
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Aug 2002
Posts: 111

PostPosted: Mon Apr 27, 2020 8:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

lspci -knn gives me:

Code:
00:1f.3 Audio device [0403]: Intel Corporation Cannon Lake PCH cAVS [8086:a348] (rev 10)
        Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. Cannon Lake PCH cAVS [1043:1011]
        Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel
01:00.1 Audio device [0403]: NVIDIA Corporation GP104 High Definition Audio Controller [10de:10f0] (rev a1)
        Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. GP104 High Definition Audio Controller [1043:1011]
        Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel


Using skype, I still don't have the ability to record. What were you using to record?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chevymoon
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Aug 2002
Posts: 111

PostPosted: Mon Apr 27, 2020 9:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tried KMix and got this when I first opened.

Code:
unable to open recording device /dev/dsp


But I closed it and reopened without the error.

I also tried Audacity. Maybe some progress in that when I selected sysdefault, I got static on playback. But no voice. No other options produced sound at all.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
javeree
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 405

PostPosted: Tue Apr 28, 2020 7:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was using 'arecord -d 5 /tmp/test.wav && mpv /tmp/test.wav'
This records 5 seconds and then plays it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chevymoon
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Aug 2002
Posts: 111

PostPosted: Tue Apr 28, 2020 9:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I meant KWave, not KMix
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chevymoon
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Aug 2002
Posts: 111

PostPosted: Tue Apr 28, 2020 10:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
arecord -d 5 /tmp/test.wav && mpv /tmp/test.wav


doesn't produce any sound for me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
javeree
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 405

PostPosted: Tue Apr 28, 2020 5:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

what is in your dmesg ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chevymoon
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Aug 2002
Posts: 111

PostPosted: Tue Apr 28, 2020 6:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, javeree.

http://dpaste.com/3VEJ7Q4

Posted the whole thing because I'm not sure what might be relevant.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum