Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] Shotwell freezes at importing photos
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
fabalthazar
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 May 2015
Posts: 12
Location: France

PostPosted: Tue May 26, 2015 8:26 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED] Shotwell freezes at importing photos Reply with quote

Hi,

I am encountering a freeze when I start an import of photos in the Shotwell photo manager. As well as by clicking on the Import folder "file" menu entry or by clicking and dropping photos in the main window of the app. Shotwell received well the event but stucks on a 0% progress bar, undefinitely. And all the UI is inactive.
No particular message is show when started from a terminal.

I am running the stable version (media-gfx/shotwell-0.20.1-r1) whithin the xfce desktop environment.

As I'm new to the forum and at Gentoo Linux in general (I'm coming from Manjaro Linux), I don't know exactly whether I should go further in examining the bug (strace, etc.) before posting a bug report.

Does anyone has already encountered that thing?


Last edited by fabalthazar on Tue Jun 30, 2015 7:39 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 4488
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed May 27, 2015 6:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've found that shotwell is really crappy with cameras with huge files and patience is needed. At least this was the case with my Nikon D5100 and have NEFs on the card image, as well as if I have large videos. It seems to work the same way with my other USB PTP cameras - slow. Might be easier to plug the memory card straight into the computer.

Which camera do you have?

Might have to ask this upstream to have a bit better feedback on slow cameras or with huge files if this is the case.
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed to be advocating?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fabalthazar
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 May 2015
Posts: 12
Location: France

PostPosted: Wed May 27, 2015 7:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you for your reply.

I have got a Panasonic Lumix XS3 camera. It produces files of approximately 6MB.

But I have copied the files from the camera to a local folder, then I would like to import these in the shotwell library. Infinite freeze of the UI.
I have also tried downloading a simple jpeg from the web and tried to import it. Same thing :( .

I have not tried an unstable version of Shotwell. Should I?

Cheers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 4488
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed May 27, 2015 9:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah I suppose you'd also see a really unpleasant wait like my Nikon (16MPx, JPG is ~7M, NEF(RAW) is ~17MB, downloading one means downloading a 24MB clump) so yours should be -slightly- faster. Any videos on it will make it more unpleasant (due to size). I'm currently using stable on Gnome3 which seems to work - but yes the UI of Shotwell appears to be hung until it downloads the picture. Very very awful in terms of usability as PTP is awful (a USB-storage can get 24MB/sec easily, downloading a picture should take 1 second!!!)

If you have nothing on the card except for a small picture, does it still 'hang'?

One thing is that I am using Gnome3 and have all the dependencies for Gnome3 installed (and honestly I only have Shotwell installed because Gnome3 depends on it). I don't know if there are any hidden dependencies that may affect its operation.
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed to be advocating?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fabalthazar
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 May 2015
Posts: 12
Location: France

PostPosted: Thu May 28, 2015 12:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I completely agree with the weird thing about the transfer speed in relation to the USB speed!

At least you finally succeed in downloading the pictures after a while! For me not!

I have not tried grabbing a unique small picture from the card as I'm connected with the USB cable. But ignoring the camera, importing a small common picture from a local folder results in the total freeze. Still present if I let it for hours...

So in my opinion, my problem does not come from the pictures sizes nor the connection with the camera.
I am not in a Gnome environment but it worked for me in another distribution with xfce too. (certainley with another version of Shotwell, it is true)

I will check the USE flags whether there is an important option to not avoid...

I have found this old bug in the fedora side: https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=1134128
Looks similar but affected the 0.19.0, not 0.20.1 we have in the Gentoo repos.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 4488
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu May 28, 2015 2:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm using media-gfx/shotwell-0.20.1-r1

This is weird that RH has the same problem, as they tend to regress their fixed versions very well. Then again as you said, it's an older version.

It does not appear to be a DE dependency indeed, as since Gnome broke on one of my machines, I am using xfce as a fallback. However both of the machines that Shotwell is running on are systemd machines, and it could have some udev dependencies as PTP is not a normal Un*x protocol. I don't have shotwell running on a OpenRC machine.
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed to be advocating?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fabalthazar
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 May 2015
Posts: 12
Location: France

PostPosted: Thu May 28, 2015 7:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My machine is on OpenRC and uses udev as well. Interesting.

Grrrr that dysfunction is a bit disappointing for a stable version. My install is fresh (one month) and clean.

I would like to ask upstream but as of today I am not documented enough in debugging/bug reporting :?. Will see if I have a little time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
szatox
l33t
l33t


Joined: 27 Aug 2013
Posts: 721

PostPosted: Fri May 29, 2015 6:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm using shotwell 0.22, but AFAIR older versions used to behave in similar fashion:
When I import photos with shotwell it creates a small dialog window that asks me in what way I want to import them. It happens after selectig pictures.
The wrong part is, that dialog is behind (under) current window, so it's not immidiatelly visible. This might be confusing you into thinking it has hanged. It hasn't, it's just waiting for your action. A silly bug indeed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 4488
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri May 29, 2015 6:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That indeed is more likely the true issue. Those dialog boxes need to be put on the foreground and the window manager better be putting it somewhere visible. One would hope shotwell would flag windows that need to have immediate attention. I would suppose this should be window manager/DE dependent however, as the window manager can choose to honor geometries or not.

I'm not entirely sure why I've not run across this issue however. I tend to import all pictures and then have it delete all pictures from the camera, perhaps this may be the reason why I see different behavior.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fabalthazar
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 May 2015
Posts: 12
Location: France

PostPosted: Tue Jun 02, 2015 7:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mmmm interesting. I actually got this little dialog box asking me to choose the way of importing. But after choosing it hanged even though.
And now Shotwell dosn't show me this dialog box anymore... ^^

I will install another version.
Thanks mates!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fabalthazar
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 May 2015
Posts: 12
Location: France

PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2015 7:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bug fixed in the last stable 0.22.0 version!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum