Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Gentoo Studio: A Gentoo Linux Professional Audio Workstation
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 17, 18, 19  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Oblivius
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Jun 2018
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2018 4:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Has anybody here gotten Gentoo Studio to work 100% with the integrated GPU on an AMD Ryzen 2400G Raven Ridge CPU on a Gigabyte AB350M-Gaming 3 motherboard?

I'm getting a blank screen after I log in with a user account I've created.

It does appear that the kernel is up and running though. I can "ping" it, without any packet loss, from another Linux PC coexisting on the same network behind an Asus NAT broadband router. A "ssh" connection will be refused though so I can't do anything remotely. I'll end up needing to do either a hard power-off or reset using the corresponding button on my PC case.

The only way I can do anything is to boot the Gentoo Live DVD (albeit on a USB stick) and do the convoluted steps necessary to mount all of the partitions I've created and chroot in.

This definitely appears to be a problem with the integrated gpu.

The two things I would like to do is to enable "ssh" remote logins and to get X properly working with the Ryzen 2400G GPU.

I appreciate any help but realize that I may need to provide more information.

Many thanks in advance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 6231
Location: /usr/lib64/lv2

PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2018 11:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've noticed a similar issue on a fresh install of mine, different hardware. I had to chroot in, rm xdm from runlevel, set VIDEO_CARDS in make.conf just for the integrated graphics, update world, and then it worked with startx. Still having an issue with Lightdm, and I don't know why yet.

Try what I just described and let me know if it works. Maybe that will help me figure out what's going on in the tarball build.
_________________
Gentoo Studio in open beta. Feedback wanted.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Oblivius
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Jun 2018
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sun Jul 08, 2018 6:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK. I haven't solved the underlying problem but I can now log in with "ssh" by adding this line to "/etc/hosts.allowed":

sshd: 192.168.1. EXCEPT 192.168.1.1

where 192.168.1.* are the ip addresses on my LAN sitting behind my broadband router and its firewall and "EXCEPT 192.168.1.1" is to block any access from the router itself just on the possible chance that someone or something might break in from outside.

This part isn't perfect but it's good enough that I can at least now copy and paste a screen-full of command-line information to show here. I now can also be able to shut the system properly with the "shutdown" command.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 6231
Location: /usr/lib64/lv2

PostPosted: Mon Jul 09, 2018 2:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Good! Let me know how it goes.

I find ssh very useful for transferring files and projects between my DAW computers.
_________________
Gentoo Studio in open beta. Feedback wanted.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Oblivius
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Jun 2018
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2018 7:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, here's where I'm at now that I'm no longer flying blind:

When my setup appeared to hang, I discovered that I can get to a command-line login prompt by using <ctrl>-<alt>-<f4>.
(Actually, I now see that I could have used any of the function key from <f1> to <f6> rather than only <f4> exclusively)

This is what I get when I try to use "startx":

xauth: file /home/useraccount/.serverauth.3694 does not exist

X.Org X Server 1.19.5
Release Date: 2017-10-12
X Protocol Version 11, Revision 0
Build Operating System: Linux 4.5.2-aufs-r1 x86_64 Gentoo
Current Operating System: Linux livecd 4.16.18-rt-rt9 #2 SMP PREEMPT RT Wed Jul 11 01:26:22 EDT 2018 x86_64
Kernel command line: BOOT_IMAGE=/vmlinuz-4.16.18-rt-rt9 root=/dev/nvme0n1p3 ro
Build Date: 05 July 2018 06:18:03PM

Current version of pixman: 0.34.0
Before reporting problems, check http://wiki.x.org
to make sure that you have the latest version.
Markers: (--) probed, (**) from config file, (==) default setting,
(++) from command line, (!!) notice, (II) informational,
(WW) warning, (EE) error, (NI) not implemented, (??) unknown.
(==) Log file: "/var/log/Xorg.0.log", Time: Wed Jul 11 02:18:19 2018
(==) Using config directory: "/etc/X11/xorg.conf.d"
(==) Using system config directory "/usr/share/X11/xorg.conf.d"
(II) [KMS] Kernel modesetting enabled.
gbm: failed to open any driver (search paths /usr/lib64/dri)
gbm: Last dlopen error: /usr/lib64/dri/radeonsi_dri.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
failed to load driver: radeonsi
gbm: failed to open any driver (search paths /usr/lib64/dri)
gbm: Last dlopen error: /usr/lib64/dri/radeonsi_dri.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
failed to load driver: radeonsi
EGL_MESA_drm_image required.
/etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc: line 58: twm: command not found
/etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc: line 59: xclock: command not found
/etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc: line 60: xterm: command not found
/etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc: line 62: exec: xterm: not found
/etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc: line 61: xterm: command not found
xinit: connection to X server lost

waiting for X server to shut down (II) Server terminated successfully (0). Closing log file.


The only reason I specified radeonsi in "/etc/portage/make.conf" ('VIDEO_CARDS="amdgpu radeonsi"') is because that is what was instructed in https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/AMDGPU.

I'll try taking that out next to see what happens.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 6231
Location: /usr/lib64/lv2

PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2018 10:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

When you install Gentoo Studio, don't do anything specific until/unless you have trouble with the default install. Did the default install work? Did you make that change to make.conf before booting into Gentoo Studio for the first time?
_________________
Gentoo Studio in open beta. Feedback wanted.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 17, 18, 19
Page 19 of 19

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum