Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Gentoo Studio: A Gentoo Linux Professional Audio Workstation
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... , 16, 17, 18  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 5955

PostPosted: Wed Sep 27, 2017 8:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Recent changes:

Some minor tweaks to the automated install bash script. https://gentoostudio.org/?page_id=2

Officially dropped the "basic" install option. There is only minimal and complete.

Updated flavors page to reflect above. Visitors may leave comments regarding content. All comments go through moderation (anti-spam measure), so please be patient if your comment doesn't show up right away. https://gentoostudio.org/?page_id=44

As always, feedback on how things could be improved are welcome. 8)

EDIT:

Further tweaks made to facilitate installation on UEFI machines.

EDIT^2:

Changed SSL cert for bugs.gentoostudio.org. No more warnings about unknown providers. Please feel free to create a Mantis account and report issues.
_________________
Gentoo Studio
Gentoo Studio in open beta. Feedback wanted.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 5955

PostPosted: Thu Oct 12, 2017 1:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Updated install script to allow user to choose install disk. Install disk must be a physical drive, and the entire drive will be used. Grub will still be installed to that drive.
_________________
Gentoo Studio
Gentoo Studio in open beta. Feedback wanted.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ifys
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Sep 2014
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Mon Nov 20, 2017 8:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hello everyone,
trying to install MIXBUS from source
using
Code:
git clone git://git.ardour.org/harrison/mixbus.git

Code:
./waf configure

Code:
./waf

but it failed
anyone could help ?
thanks !!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 11781

PostPosted: Tue Nov 21, 2017 2:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes. First, be grateful that it failed. You should use an ebuild to wrap the install so that its files are tracked. Had you succeeded in installing by hand, it would become your responsibility to track the location of all installed files. Second, if you need help, post the error message. We do not know your system configuration, so unless the package is severely broken upstream, it is unlikely that we can quickly reproduce the same failure you saw. If the error message is long, use app-text/wgetpaste to upload the build log to a pastebin service, then post here the URL returned.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 5955

PostPosted: Thu Nov 23, 2017 3:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm going to put adding an ebuild for Mixbus in Gentoo Studio to the pile.

General update:

I am having a lot of trouble with my dev VM and I don't know why. It keeps freezing, and catalyst keeps bjorking. This is all after my last world update on my VM host. Hopefully I will have an updated tarball soon.

EDIT:

Silly me, I need to catalyst -s before I catalyst -f.
_________________
Gentoo Studio
Gentoo Studio in open beta. Feedback wanted.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 5955

PostPosted: Wed Dec 06, 2017 3:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There may be a new issue with clang needing to be ~amd64 keyworded on a recent world update. If you're having issues with Portage requiring clang to be ~amd64, and this in turn causes further Portage snafus, please post in this thread. This is for users who have installed Gentoo Studio, not Gentoo users in general.
_________________
Gentoo Studio
Gentoo Studio in open beta. Feedback wanted.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 5955

PostPosted: Fri Dec 08, 2017 2:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I recently noticed my Firewire mixers suddenly stopped being recognized by Cadence when they were seen by gscanbus.

It turns out a recent update switched from the Gentoo Studio overlay's jack2 to Portage's jack2, which disables the ieee1394 use flag. Gentoo Studio supports Firewire devices, so the Portage version will be masked until it enables the use of ieee1394 FireWire devices.

If you just did an update and are struggling with your Firewire audio devices suddenly not working and getting JACK failures, do:
Code:

emerge jack2::GentooStudio

and put the Portage version in package.mask with
Code:

echo "media-sound/jack2::gentoo" >> /etc/portage/package.mask/media-sound

_________________
Gentoo Studio
Gentoo Studio in open beta. Feedback wanted.


Last edited by audiodef on Wed Dec 13, 2017 8:38 pm; edited 4 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 5955

PostPosted: Fri Dec 08, 2017 7:14 pm    Post subject: Wine Reply with quote

https://www.gentoo.org/support/news-items/2017-04-10-split-and-slotted-wine.html

Gentoo Studio will use wine-any with the use flags already in place. Users who wish to change that can do so at their own risk. (No real risk, I just can't think of a better phrase right now because I'm migraining as I type this.)
_________________
Gentoo Studio
Gentoo Studio in open beta. Feedback wanted.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 5955

PostPosted: Fri Dec 08, 2017 8:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

app-emulation/wine-any may have trouble with multilib, or maybe the issue is dssi-vst. In any case, wine-any has been set to use abi_x86_32 only. If abi_x86_64 is needed, we'll look at it then.
_________________
Gentoo Studio
Gentoo Studio in open beta. Feedback wanted.


Last edited by audiodef on Sat Dec 09, 2017 9:14 pm; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dragius
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Dec 2017
Posts: 2
Location: France

PostPosted: Sat Dec 09, 2017 8:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey, thanks for your work.

So i have no wireless connection with this version, i need the ath10k driver and nmtui (networkmanager).
Can you add that in your next version ?

All went perfectly except that. (Uefi)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Maitreya
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 Jan 2006
Posts: 309

PostPosted: Sat Dec 09, 2017 9:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

audiodef wrote:
I just noticed that the +bindist use flag is set in the tarball. This will be fixed. In the meantime, anyone who installed the beta should use ufed or edit make.conf so that bindist is not set. If using ufed, set it so it's neither + nor -. If editing make.conf, just remove the bindist use flag. It should not have been set to begin with, and I was probably trying to troubleshoot something when I set it. I apologize for any trouble this may have caused.


I thought the bindist was to prevent distributing binaries with patents. To avoid legal stuff.
You might want to keep it in there? And then let users agree to remove it on install?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 5955

PostPosted: Sat Dec 09, 2017 1:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gentoo Studio is moving to gcc6. Hopefully this will go smoothly.
_________________
Gentoo Studio
Gentoo Studio in open beta. Feedback wanted.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 5955

PostPosted: Sat Dec 09, 2017 2:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Networkmanager is being looked at so that laptop users will have an easier time managing connections.
_________________
Gentoo Studio
Gentoo Studio in open beta. Feedback wanted.


Last edited by audiodef on Sat Dec 09, 2017 9:13 pm; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 5955

PostPosted: Sat Dec 09, 2017 2:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hm, I'm surprised genkernel didn't take care of that. Make sure rt-sources is installed (it's uninstalled in the tarball to shrink the download size) and run genkernel --menuconfig all. (Also make sure the boot partition is mounted first.) Search for the ath10k driver and nmtui. Please let me know if you find them and I'll add it to the pile to make those default settings.

I'm glad the rest of it worked!

Dragius wrote:
Hey, thanks for your work.

So i have no wireless connection with this version, i need the ath10k driver and nmtui (networkmanager).
Can you add that in your next version ?

All went perfectly except that. (Uefi)

_________________
Gentoo Studio
Gentoo Studio in open beta. Feedback wanted.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dragius
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Dec 2017
Posts: 2
Location: France

PostPosted: Sat Dec 09, 2017 2:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah i've tested and genkernel didn't care about this driver. It is included in menuconfig in the wireless section.
Nmtui is a part of networkmanager ebuild.
I noticed you only installed dhpcd which is for desktop.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 5955

PostPosted: Sat Dec 09, 2017 5:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Networkmanager used to be part of the install. On my regular Gentoo machines, NM and Wicd play ping-pong depending on which one breaks on an update. But I actually think it would be a good thing to have NM included, so I'm going to look into that.

EDIT: Added in dev, adding nm-applet, too. User can customize if nm-applet isn't wanted.

Dragius wrote:
Yeah i've tested and genkernel didn't care about this driver. It is included in menuconfig in the wireless section.
Nmtui is a part of networkmanager ebuild.
I noticed you only installed dhpcd which is for desktop.

_________________
Gentoo Studio
Gentoo Studio in open beta. Feedback wanted.


Last edited by audiodef on Sat Dec 09, 2017 10:14 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 11781

PostPosted: Sat Dec 09, 2017 7:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

audiodef wrote:
I can't remember who advised me and what the exact reasoning was, but I do remember I trusted my source. It should be left unset unless it's needed for something very specific. There is nothing patented in Gentoo Studio, and anyway, it's not an installation from which redistribution even makes sense.
If you are distributing tbz2 files built from packages that respect USE=bindist, it's legally safer to set it there, even if it might not be necessary. There's no need to set it in the configuration files, so users can rebuild with it off as soon as they switch to your configuration files.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 5955

PostPosted: Fri Dec 15, 2017 4:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Complete tarball has been updated. NetworkManager and nm-applet are now included. GCC has been updated to 6. Enjoy, and please continue to provide feedback so I can continue to improve.
_________________
Gentoo Studio
Gentoo Studio in open beta. Feedback wanted.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 5955

PostPosted: Mon Dec 18, 2017 3:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Minimal tarball has been updated. As always, feedback welcome.
_________________
Gentoo Studio
Gentoo Studio in open beta. Feedback wanted.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 5955

PostPosted: Mon Dec 25, 2017 9:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

https://vcvrack.com/

Put the free stuff into the tarball? Thoughts from people who have actually tried it out. I plan to try it myself as well.
_________________
Gentoo Studio
Gentoo Studio in open beta. Feedback wanted.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 5955

PostPosted: Sat Jan 06, 2018 8:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

News, tips and troubleshooting entries are going to be posted to gentoostudio.org. However, you can still post here with questions and comments. This thread isn't going anywhere.
_________________
Gentoo Studio
Gentoo Studio in open beta. Feedback wanted.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 5955

PostPosted: Wed Jan 17, 2018 7:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

January 2018 changelog. Existing users are encouraged to read this and to follow suggestions for changed packages. Also, feedback/comments welcome as always. https://gentoostudio.org/?p=168
_________________
Gentoo Studio
Gentoo Studio in open beta. Feedback wanted.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 5955

PostPosted: Wed Jan 24, 2018 6:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

New page: Technical Details. https://gentoostudio.org/?page_id=174

Enjoy, and as always, comments are welcome.
_________________
Gentoo Studio
Gentoo Studio in open beta. Feedback wanted.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ymi
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Feb 2018
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sun Feb 04, 2018 8:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello Audiodef,
I've just done a fresh automated install of Gentoo Studio (complete) on a laptop (dell xps 15 l501x - core i3). Here's a quick feedback : the process went globally well and the first reboot was successful. So many thanks for the good work !

That said, a few packages failed to emerge during install (zziplib, texlive-core, texlive-basic and texlive-metapost). I emerged zziplib without problem after first reboot but not the texlive stuff yet.

Also the cpuinfo2cpuflags-x86 command was not found (line 77 in chroot_install.sh). I had to emerge the package later on.

The initial keyboard layout is qwerty (us) while mine needs to be set to fr ( = azerty) : the initial login (text console or graphical in lightdm) can be tricky if the password is complex. I'm used to it so was easy but it would help if it could be set during installation.

I emerged some packages after first boot and I needed to perform an etc-update. I accidentally said yes to overwrite limits.conf :-( and am now looking for the proper values to be set. Where can I find them ? It could be indicated on the Installation page of gentoostudio.org where you warn against updating the file ;-)

best regards,
ymi
_________________
ymi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 5955

PostPosted: Sun Feb 04, 2018 10:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ymi,

Thank you. I'm glad you're enjoying it. I apologize for the small breakage. I've hit a few bumps in the road making some changes to the files that build the installation. It looks like you took care of them perfectly.

ymi wrote:

That said, a few packages failed to emerge during install (zziplib, texlive-core, texlive-basic and texlive-metapost). I emerged zziplib without problem after first reboot but not the texlive stuff yet.


Yes, I've noticed this during a test install as well. Not sure why. I'm still looking into it.

ymi wrote:

Also the cpuinfo2cpuflags-x86 command was not found (line 77 in chroot_install.sh). I had to emerge the package later on.


It turned out that there are two versions of this package. I've masked version 5 so only version 1 gets installed. Version 1 has the command with the correct output format needed by Gentoo Studio. Version 5 got picked up by the latest installation before I caught it.

ymi wrote:

The initial keyboard layout is qwerty (us) while mine needs to be set to fr ( = azerty) : the initial login (text console or graphical in lightdm) can be tricky if the password is complex. I'm used to it so was easy but it would help if it could be set during installation.


This seems to be a popular request, so I should look into this sooner than later so users can select their keyboard layout during installation.

ymi wrote:

I emerged some packages after first boot and I needed to perform an etc-update. I accidentally said yes to overwrite limits.conf :-( and am now looking for the proper values to be set. Where can I find them ? It could be indicated on the Installation page of gentoostudio.org where you warn against updating the file ;-)


I updated the technical details page. If you go there, there's a link to limits.conf, and you can copy it back to your system. https://gentoostudio.org/?page_id=174

Just let me know if you need anything else.
_________________
Gentoo Studio
Gentoo Studio in open beta. Feedback wanted.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... , 16, 17, 18  Next
Page 17 of 18

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum