Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[Closed] gconfd-2 is using 100% cpu and gnome doesn't start
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Phancy Physicist
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 10 Apr 2005
Posts: 193

PostPosted: Mon Jul 23, 2012 12:57 pm    Post subject: [Closed] gconfd-2 is using 100% cpu and gnome doesn't start Reply with quote

First the problem then what I have tried and finally what I did to cause it.

Problem
When I boot up my computer everything loads as expected and gdm starts up. However when I log in, gnome does not load and gconfd-2 uses 100% CPU according to top.

Things I have tried
I have tried the following to fix this issue:
* re-emerged the following

    gnome
    gdm
    gconfd
    gvfs
    metacity
    vino

* created a new user <- same problem as normal login
* deleted the following folders:

    .config
    .gconf
    .gconfd
    .gnome
    .gnome2

I thought it wouldn't work since creating a new user didn't work but worth a try:P

Currently I am trying
Code:

emerge -eD world

hoping that will fix it.

How it all started
It started with me doing a
Code:
emerge -NuD world

got some errors with deskbar-applet and saw that gnomeapplet module for python was causing the problem. So I emerged python and some other related python packages(I don't remember which ones). This got rid of the deskbar-applet compile issues and the emerge -DuN world finished with no problems.

However upon rebooting I found that none of my windows had borders and everything opened in the top-left of the screen. I could still open a terminal so I ran
Code:

emerge -eD system

to help insure I would have a working core. Then I ran
Code:

emerge -eD gnome

After that completed with no errors I rebooted and that is when gnome stopped working and gconfd-2 started eating resources.

I have slowly been making my system worse :oops: Any ideas on what happened and how to fix so that I don't dig myself in any deeper?

****EDIT****
I forgot to say that it is gnome 2.32.1-r2


Last edited by Phancy Physicist on Fri Aug 03, 2012 8:03 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Phancy Physicist
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 10 Apr 2005
Posts: 193

PostPosted: Tue Jul 24, 2012 12:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am typying this post in Links2 so please stick with me :)

The "emerge -eD world" finally finished and gconfigd-2 still eats cpu and gnome still wont start.
I am currently typing this after running "startx" and running Links.

I have seen on the internet others have had similar problems but their solutions are quite varied and I can't find anything exactly matching my situation.

I'm willing to enterain just about any idea at this point. Please guys. Somebody out there has to have an idea or at least had a similar error in the past
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
EoD
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 May 2008
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Wed Jul 25, 2012 12:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What you are experiencing sounds like https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-920108.html .

I installed lxde ( lxde-base/lxde-meta ) after I couldn't log into Gnome anymore. Now I have at least a (fast and simple) desktop environment :)
_________________
Sun Blade 100 (UltraSPARC IIe) server with multilib and Java
----
Gentoo/SPARC, Gentoo/AMD64, Gentoo/x86
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Phancy Physicist
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 10 Apr 2005
Posts: 193

PostPosted: Wed Jul 25, 2012 1:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

EoD wrote:
What you are experiencing sounds like https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-920108.html .

I thought so to but I'm not getting a glibc error like in the original post. I see that the later posts are more like my problem though.

To continue the saga:
I thought well maybe if I stop using gnome... So I installed xfce4 and slim for graphic login last night.

If I login using slim and let is startx no gconfd-2 but if i run startxfce4 or let slim start it up gconfd-2.

I'm going to look into figuring out how to stop xfce4 from starting gconfd-2.

Got to run sorry if this post seems lacking.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
EoD
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 May 2008
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Wed Jul 25, 2012 1:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Phancy Physicist wrote:
EoD wrote:
What you are experiencing sounds like https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-920108.html .

I thought so to but I'm not getting a glibc error like in the original post. I see that the later posts are more like my problem though.


I also had this 100% gcfond issue (and it filled my HDD up), but after a few updates/re-emerges I was back with glibc failing. That's why I posted it for you.

And I really recommend LXDE if not even Xfce works :)
_________________
Sun Blade 100 (UltraSPARC IIe) server with multilib and Java
----
Gentoo/SPARC, Gentoo/AMD64, Gentoo/x86
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Phancy Physicist
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 10 Apr 2005
Posts: 193

PostPosted: Thu Jul 26, 2012 2:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

EoD wrote:
And I really recommend LXDE if not even Xfce works :)

Thanks for the recommendation I'll check out LXDE.

But first I must look more into this gcondf/gnome issue. I have a problem in my brain meat that doesn't allow me to let these things go :P

I got gconfd-2 to stop loading when I run startxfce4 by deleting the following

    /tmp/*
    /var/tmp/*
    /home/USER/cache/*
    /home/USER/.gconfd/saved_state

I think it was the saved state but deleting unneeded files can't hurt either:)

So now I can start up xfce4 and even use the internet with google-chrome. However firefox segfaults now and a bunch of other programs still don't work. At least I use my computer to post now!

I'm going to try
deleting

    /home/USER/.gconf
    /home/USER/.gconfd
    /home/USER/.gnome
    /home/USER/.gnome2

and running
Code:

emerge -C gnome gconfd && emerge -D gnome gconfd

to see if that changes anything for me.

Back in a bit I hope.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Phancy Physicist
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 10 Apr 2005
Posts: 193

PostPosted: Fri Aug 03, 2012 8:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I still don't know what happened but I have given up on my gnome install. I installed KDE and am trying to remove all traces of gnome and I'll try it again later ... someday ... :P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cmichal
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Dec 2004
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu Aug 16, 2012 10:01 pm    Post subject: The answer! Reply with quote

This is a problem in crossdev if you can believe it.

See:

https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=411237
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum