Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Kde problem: Not connected to D-Bus server.
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Auriferous
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Jul 2012
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Thu Jul 19, 2012 3:45 pm    Post subject: Kde problem: Not connected to D-Bus server. Reply with quote

Hi there, I recently installed Kde on my x86_64 gentoo box and it was working ok until I installed a few widgets and half installed google chrome (i decided half way through i didn't want it). The problem is when I boot up kdm, the loader appears for about 5 seconds and then fails with an error in kdm.log (bad formatting, i'm on elinks): klauncher(29488) kdemain: No DBus session-bus found. Check if you have started the DBUS server.

According to ps my dbus is running good. I've tried wiping the .kde4 directory and updating kde but there is still the problem.

Another strange thing is that I can run kdm from a debugging application (gdb or strace) and it works fine until i login and get to the desktop where there is an image like the theme but all pixilated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ce110ut
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Sep 2002
Posts: 199

PostPosted: Thu Jul 19, 2012 5:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

this may be a problem with dbus-daemon-launch-helper. Can you share the output of it's properties?

Code:

# ls -l /usr/libexec/dbus-daemon-launch-helper
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Auriferous
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Jul 2012
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Thu Jul 19, 2012 5:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

-rwxr-xr-x 1 root messagebus 322832 Jul 18 18:09 /usr/libexec/dbus-daemon-launch-helper
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Randy Andy
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 19 Jun 2007
Posts: 1136
Location: /dev/koelsch

PostPosted: Thu Jul 19, 2012 5:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mmh,

mine looks like this, don't know how relevant the differences are:

Code:
-rws--x--- 1 root messagebus 322832 14. Jul 10:56 /usr/libexec/dbus-daemon-launch-helper


Nevetheless, I had also shortly fixed some dbus troubles with recompiling with the help of this:

Code:
emerge -av $(qlist -IC dbus)


Less packages, so pretty fast done, try it reboot and come back again.
_________________
If you want to see a Distro done right, compile it yourself!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Auriferous
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Jul 2012
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Thu Jul 19, 2012 6:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sadly didn't work. If it helps I get this in my .xsession-errors file when I open kdm via a debugger, or when I run and an application through startx: QDBusConnection: session D-Bus connection created before QCoreApplication. Application may misbehave.
QDBusObjectPath: invalid path ""
QDBusConnection: session D-Bus connection created before QCoreApplication. Application may misbehave.

Perhaps invalid path "" indicates something?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BillWho
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 1600
Location: US

PostPosted: Thu Jul 19, 2012 7:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Auriferous wrote:
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root messagebus 322832 Jul 18 18:09 /usr/libexec/dbus-daemon-launch-helper

Try setting the access to 4710
_________________
Good luck :wink:

Since installing gentoo, my life has become one long emerge :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Auriferous
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Jul 2012
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Thu Jul 19, 2012 7:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

same problem
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BillWho
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 1600
Location: US

PostPosted: Thu Jul 19, 2012 7:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Auriferous,

Since you installed a few widgets and half installed google chrome I would try backing those things out then doing an
Code:
emerge -uavDN @world
followed with
Code:
 revdep-rebuild
and
Code:
emerge --depclean
and lastly
Code:
emerge sys-apps/dbus
if it didn't get emerged already with revdep-rebuild
_________________
Good luck :wink:

Since installing gentoo, my life has become one long emerge :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Auriferous
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Jul 2012
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Fri Jul 20, 2012 8:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

when I say I half installed chrome I meant that I installed half it's dependancies (the ones I didn't have at that time). As to the widgets I don't know where kde stores them (any ideas?)

Nevertheless updating sounds good so I'll do that now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BillWho
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 1600
Location: US

PostPosted: Fri Jul 20, 2012 1:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Auriferous wrote:
when I say I half installed chrome I meant that I installed half it's dependancies (the ones I didn't have at that time). As to the widgets I don't know where kde stores them (any ideas?)

Nevertheless updating sounds good so I'll do that now.

The only thing I can suggest not being a kde user is to use genlop to search the portage logfiles on the day you installed the widget packages and maybe equery files and/or check for any google chrome remnants.

If eix or equery shown google-chrome as installed then just emerge -Ca www-client/google-chrome
_________________
Good luck :wink:

Since installing gentoo, my life has become one long emerge :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Auriferous
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Jul 2012
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

good idea; I never knew you can do that, I'll try it as soon as I can
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Auriferous
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Jul 2012
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sat Jul 21, 2012 5:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, i've updated my whole system and run revdep-rebuild and my problem still exists, except that my dbus-daemon-launch-helper is marked in red when i run ls -l on it. I assume this means the file is corrupt and so must be the problem. I've tried re-emerging dbus but the file still appears red, even when replaced. Does anyone know how i can fix this file?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BillWho
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 1600
Location: US

PostPosted: Sat Jul 21, 2012 6:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Auriferous wrote:
Ok, i've updated my whole system and run revdep-rebuild and my problem still exists, except that my dbus-daemon-launch-helper is marked in red when i run ls -l on it. I assume this means the file is corrupt and so must be the problem. I've tried re-emerging dbus but the file still appears red, even when replaced. Does anyone know how i can fix this file?

The suid bit is set so that's why it shows red -> -rws--x--- 1 root messagebus 326736 Jul 13 16:35 /usr/libexec/dbus-daemon-launch-helper

Do your permissions match mine :?:
_________________
Good luck :wink:

Since installing gentoo, my life has become one long emerge :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Auriferous
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Jul 2012
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sat Jul 21, 2012 7:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeah, my mistake, sorry.

Being a noob, I removed all my gentoo log files a few days after I got the error *embarrassed*. But i've looked at the dependancies for google-chrome and none of them look like they'd break kde or dbus.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BillWho
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 1600
Location: US

PostPosted: Sat Jul 21, 2012 9:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Auriferous wrote:
yeah, my mistake, sorry.

Being a noob, I removed all my gentoo log files a few days after I got the error *embarrassed*. But i've looked at the dependancies for google-chrome and none of them look like they'd break kde or dbus.

Is consolekit being started - does dmesg show anything of interest :?:
_________________
Good luck :wink:

Since installing gentoo, my life has become one long emerge :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
drvik
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 17 Apr 2004
Posts: 121
Location: Adelaide, South Australia

PostPosted: Sun Oct 21, 2012 2:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Has there been a solution to this yet? I have been experiencing these errors too, but on my system I develop shutdown/reboot problems after a few days of uptime and reboot hangs on /etc/init.d/dbus shutdown. I'm having to hit the reset button every time!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum