Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[solved] Crusader Kings II -- DLC Does Not Work
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gamers & Players
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jagdpanther
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 Nov 2003
Posts: 277

PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2015 7:31 pm    Post subject: [solved] Crusader Kings II -- DLC Does Not Work Reply with quote

The core Crusader Kings II seems to work well. (I turned off the in-game steam access. The startup sequence is very slow -- but running in windowed mode and moving the window around speeds it up. Once the game is running all is well. It is a very heavy GPU user.)

The DLC I purchased is listed in the steam client when I right-click on Crusader Kings II and select 'View Downloadable Content". Also I can see the DLC files in /data/Steam_Library/steamapps/common/Crusader Kings II/DLC.

The problem is that the DLC does not work. At the start of a new game I can not choose Viking Age: The icon states that the Old Gods DLC is required -- but I have it. Also if I try to click on "ruler designer" at the start of a game, I am also told I need the DLC, again I have it.

I have tried uninstalling the game and re-installing: Same issue. How do I use DLC in Linux for Crusader Kings II? Is there some master DLC on/off switch?

Kernel: 4.0.5-gentoo nvidia-drivers-352.21


Last edited by jagdpanther on Fri Jul 03, 2015 7:26 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
j_c_p
Guru
Guru


Joined: 30 Aug 2003
Posts: 302
Location: France - Colmar

PostPosted: Wed Jul 01, 2015 10:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It works well for me : http://imagesia.com/bigindianfp3086_z8c2

Quote:
jcp@phoenix64 ~/Jeux/steam/SteamApps/common/Crusader Kings II $ ls
ChangeLog.txt connectui events history libsteam_api.so libtbbmalloc.so.2 localisation music tutorial
ck2 decisions fontconfig interface libsteam.so libtbb.so.2 map sound
common dlc gfx launcher libtbbmalloc_proxy.so.2 license-fi.txt mod steamclient.so

Maybe you can try : DLC -> dlc.

About the dlc repertory :
Quote:
jcp@phoenix64 ~/Jeux/steam/SteamApps/common/Crusader Kings II/dlc $ ls
dlc007.dlc dlc011.dlc dlc020.dlc dlc021.dlc dlc022.dlc dlc024.dlc dlc032.dlc dlc039.dlc dlc042.dlc dlc045.dlc
dlc007.zip dlc011.zip dlc020.zip dlc021.zip dlc022.zip dlc024.zip dlc032.zip dlc039.zip dlc042.zip dlc045.zip


Do you have verified the cache in the Steam application ?
_________________
Lian Li PC60 - AMD Phenom II X6 1100T BE - Asrock 990FX EXTREME9 - Gigabyte GTX960 G1 Gaming 4Go
Kernel 4.1.0 KF5/Plasma5 GCC 4.9.3 x86_64 07/07/2015


Last edited by j_c_p on Wed Jul 01, 2015 8:13 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jagdpanther
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 Nov 2003
Posts: 277

PostPosted: Wed Jul 01, 2015 6:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

j_c_p Thanks for the reply.

I tried putting in a symbolic link from DLC to dlc, I also verified the cache and tried a re-install. No joy yet. I think I'll re-read the Gentoo Steam wiki page.

I am glad to know that it is possible to get DLCs in CK2 working under Gentoo.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
j_c_p
Guru
Guru


Joined: 30 Aug 2003
Posts: 302
Location: France - Colmar

PostPosted: Wed Jul 01, 2015 8:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You're welcome.
If it can help you :
Quote:
jcp@phoenix64 ~/Jeux/steam/SteamApps/common/Crusader Kings II $ ldd ck2
linux-gate.so.1 (0xf77cb000)
libGLU.so.1 => /usr/lib32/libGLU.so.1 (0xf76be000)
libGL.so.1 => /usr/lib32/opengl/nvidia/lib/libGL.so.1 (0xf75bb000)
libSM.so.6 => /usr/lib32/libSM.so.6 (0xf75b0000)
libICE.so.6 => /usr/lib32/libICE.so.6 (0xf7593000)
libX11.so.6 => /usr/lib32/libX11.so.6 (0xf740f000)
libXext.so.6 => /usr/lib32/libXext.so.6 (0xf73f5000)
libtbb.so.2 => /home/jcp/Jeux/steam/SteamApps/common/Crusader Kings II/libtbb.so.2 (0xf73b8000)
libsteam_api.so => /home/jcp/Jeux/steam/SteamApps/common/Crusader Kings II/libsteam_api.so (0xf73a4000)
libpthread.so.0 => /lib32/libpthread.so.0 (0xf7389000)
libdl.so.2 => /lib32/libdl.so.2 (0xf7384000)
libz.so.1 => /lib32/libz.so.1 (0xf736a000)
libstdc++.so.6 => /usr/lib/gcc/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/4.9.2/32/libstdc++.so.6 (0xf726e000)
libm.so.6 => /lib32/libm.so.6 (0xf7222000)
libgcc_s.so.1 => /usr/lib/gcc/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/4.9.2/32/libgcc_s.so.1 (0xf7206000)
libc.so.6 => /lib32/libc.so.6 (0xf7050000)
libnvidia-tls.so.352.21 => /usr/lib32/libnvidia-tls.so.352.21 (0xf704b000)
libnvidia-glcore.so.352.21 => /usr/lib32/libnvidia-glcore.so.352.21 (0xf4e7e000)
libuuid.so.1 => /usr/lib32/libuuid.so.1 (0xf4e76000)
libxcb.so.1 => /usr/lib32/libxcb.so.1 (0xf4e50000)
librt.so.1 => /lib32/librt.so.1 (0xf4e47000)
/lib/ld-linux.so.2 (0xf77cc000)
libXau.so.6 => /usr/lib32/libXau.so.6 (0xf4e42000)
libXdmcp.so.6 => /usr/lib32/libXdmcp.so.6 (0xf4e3a000)

About the Steam installation, I've done the manual way : easy and working all the time.
_________________
Lian Li PC60 - AMD Phenom II X6 1100T BE - Asrock 990FX EXTREME9 - Gigabyte GTX960 G1 Gaming 4Go
Kernel 4.1.0 KF5/Plasma5 GCC 4.9.3 x86_64 07/07/2015
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jagdpanther
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 Nov 2003
Posts: 277

PostPosted: Thu Jul 02, 2015 7:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just ran ldd on ck2 and like your list, all the dynamic libraries except for two come from Gentoo / Linux.
I notice that if I directly run ck2 (not using the steam launcher) that the content button is greyed out and not 'clickable' If I run from the steam launcher, I can press the content button but my DLC list is still empty. I can think of three things to try:

1. In the steam launcher I think I put "-forcedlc" in the 'set launch options'. (A suggestion from paradox, they said it probably won't work.)

2. Re-install steam.

3. Install steam in a 32-bit chroot environment.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jagdpanther
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 Nov 2003
Posts: 277

PostPosted: Fri Jul 03, 2015 7:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

"-forcedlc" did not fix the No DLC issue.

Using the updated https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Steam and the manual install option, I re-installed steam (as a new user) and now CK2 and all the DLCs I purchased are working well.

(For anyone who cares: The "Crusader Kings II Collection 2014" steam key on gamemafia.pro was less than $33 and includes many of CK2's DLC packages.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gamers & Players All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum