Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Jedi knight 2 linux client
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gamers & Players
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
hackerError
Guru
Guru


Joined: 14 Mar 2003
Posts: 341
Location: Reston, VA, USA

PostPosted: Fri Oct 03, 2003 4:04 am    Post subject: Jedi knight 2 linux client Reply with quote

Why is there no linux client for jedi knight 2.

I understand that it uses the quake3 engine, and there is native quake3 support for linux.

Can someone please explain this?
_________________
Before you insult someone, it is often best to walk a mile in their shoes.

That way when you insult them you're already a mile away and have their shoes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
senectus
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2003
Posts: 534

PostPosted: Fri Oct 03, 2003 6:58 am    Post subject: Re: Jedi knight 2 linux client Reply with quote

hackerError wrote:
Why is there no linux client for jedi knight 2.

I understand that it uses the quake3 engine, and there is native quake3 support for linux.

Can someone please explain this?


Not really an answer to your original Q.. but still might be usefull to you..

Jedi Knight 2 (Jedi Outcast) Runs SWEET under WineX 3.1
Jedi Knight : Jedi Academey Demo runs SWEET as well, I bought the game last night and will be installing it tonight to see if the full game runs sweet as well..

Why there is no client.. Its mostly because LucasArts couldnt give a toss about the minority market that linux gaming covers.
_________________
2800+XP A7N8X FX6600GT
www.modmeup.net |
Belief is 9/10 of YOUR reality.
Wise man say: A skilled troll is a master baiter.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hackerError
Guru
Guru


Joined: 14 Mar 2003
Posts: 341
Location: Reston, VA, USA

PostPosted: Fri Oct 03, 2003 7:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

aww no linux monkey island or grim fandango?
_________________
Before you insult someone, it is often best to walk a mile in their shoes.

That way when you insult them you're already a mile away and have their shoes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
senectus
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2003
Posts: 534

PostPosted: Fri Oct 03, 2003 7:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hackerError wrote:
aww no linux monkey island or grim fandango?


huh?
_________________
2800+XP A7N8X FX6600GT
www.modmeup.net |
Belief is 9/10 of YOUR reality.
Wise man say: A skilled troll is a master baiter.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MIT_Service
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Nov 2002
Posts: 355

PostPosted: Fri Oct 03, 2003 7:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You might consider scummvm as some kind of "linux monkey island".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
owensd
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Aug 2003
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Sat Oct 04, 2003 6:17 am    Post subject: Re: Jedi knight 2 linux client Reply with quote

senectus wrote:


Jedi Knight 2 (Jedi Outcast) Runs SWEET under WineX 3.1
Jedi Knight : Jedi Academey Demo runs SWEET as well, I bought the game last night and will be installing it tonight to see if the full game runs sweet as well..

Why there is no client.. Its mostly because LucasArts couldnt give a toss about the minority market that linux gaming covers.


As for Jedi Academy, I actually get a better framerate in linux that I do in windows, and that is with more options turned off in Windows... go figure.

However, I do seem to be having a funny lighting issue in Jedi Academy. The first level was awesome looking, but in later levels, the light screws up the textures and I cannot see the textures... :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zakk
l33t
l33t


Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 614
Location: Oakland, CA

PostPosted: Sat Oct 04, 2003 8:08 am    Post subject: Re: Jedi knight 2 linux client Reply with quote

hackerError wrote:
Why is there no linux client for jedi knight 2.

I understand that it uses the quake3 engine, and there is native quake3 support for linux.

Can someone please explain this?

Mostly since it would be a liability instead of an asset to Lucasarts iirc.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hasufell
Developer
Developer


Joined: 29 Oct 2011
Posts: 335

PostPosted: Fri May 01, 2015 9:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is a linux client now (for jka, jk outcast is very experimental): https://github.com/JACoders/OpenJK

And an ebuild here: https://github.com/hasufell/games-overlay/blob/master/games-engines/OpenJK/OpenJK-9999.ebuild

Works pretty well. I've only had some minor trouble with a few cutscenes, but you can skip them.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
senectus
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2003
Posts: 534

PostPosted: Sat May 02, 2015 4:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yikes!
This has to be a new record for resurrecting a dead thread...

12 years between posts...
_________________
2800+XP A7N8X FX6600GT
www.modmeup.net |
Belief is 9/10 of YOUR reality.
Wise man say: A skilled troll is a master baiter.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zakk
l33t
l33t


Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 614
Location: Oakland, CA

PostPosted: Sat May 02, 2015 4:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

senectus wrote:
yikes!
This has to be a new record for resurrecting a dead thread...

12 years between posts...

I can't believe how shitty my earlier reply was. Jeez.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hasufell
Developer
Developer


Joined: 29 Oct 2011
Posts: 335

PostPosted: Sat May 02, 2015 10:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

senectus wrote:
yikes!
This has to be a new record for resurrecting a dead thread...

12 years between posts...

What does it matter? There's not even a bug report for OpenJK so I suspect that people don't know about it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gamers & Players All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum