Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
X wont start - HDMI TV Radeon ATI
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
gentoo_newguy
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Oct 2006
Posts: 539

PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2012 5:36 pm    Post subject: X wont start - HDMI TV Radeon ATI Reply with quote

Hi everyone.

I can get X to start at all. I have a new machine and its caused nothing but problems . Wireless is working but drops constantly and only works when typing in iwlist scan which makes no sense at all.

Now i have xorg installed I cant get X to start . I
I had to unmerge the radeon-ucode package to be able to have the linux firmware package installed for my wifi.

I have followed many different Documents and nothing is working.

In my /etc/make.conf

VIDEO_CARDS="radeon"
INPUT_DEVICES="keyboard mouse evdev"

My graphics card is a AMD nee ATI Caicos Radeon HD 6400

I have emerged the ati-drivers package.
Xorg-server is installed


I have also tried the aticonfig command and this produces nothing helpfull

startx comes back with

Code:

[kms] no DIRCreatePCIbusID symbol, no kernel modsetting.
GPU only supported with KMS using vesa instead.
fatal no server error
no screens found


Trying to copy my /var/log/Xorg.0.log but its so big i can copy it out of nano is there an easier way to do this.

Followed the ati guide and the x guide but not working
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kidov
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Jul 2006
Posts: 56
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2012 5:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

First install wgetpaste:
Code:
emerge wgetpaste


then write

Code:

wgetpaste /var/log/Xorg.0.log


and paste the link here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gentoo_newguy
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Oct 2006
Posts: 539

PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2012 6:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That wgetpaste is amazing

[url] http://bpaste.net/show/34713/
[/url]

[/code]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gusar
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 09 Apr 2005
Posts: 2665
Location: Slovenia

PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2012 6:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You probably compiled radeon built-in and didn't configure the firmware properly. So either configure the firmware properly (it's in the guide, and there's also several threads on the forums about it) or compile radeon as module.

The other possibility is you didn't install the kernel properly. Plenty of threads on the forums about that too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gentoo_newguy
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Oct 2006
Posts: 539

PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2012 6:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Which guide are u referring to as the one i followed i have copied exactly ?

I followed this
Code:
http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/xorg-config.xml


Also what do you mean by not install kernel properly ?

I emerge gentoo-sources compile the kernel then copy it to boot drive.
Am i doing something wrong ?

And what do you mean by compiled radeon built in im slightly confused
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gentoo_newguy
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Oct 2006
Posts: 539

PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2012 6:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok so gone back into the kernel and changed ati radeon to module

Graphics support >
<*> Dirext Rendering Manger
<M> ATI Radeon
<*> Enable modsetting on radeon by default.

Compiled copied across to boot rebooted

The screen looks a lot nicer and sharper and smoother
But still error when i start x

N0 screens found .

Here is a copy of xorg log again.

[url] http://bpaste.net/show/34718/
[/url]

Also why has this compiled as a module made it work better. Id like it to be compiled into the kernel properly and not a module if there is away of doing it
Being able to start x either way right now would be helpfull though

Really appreciate this help
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 46752
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2012 7:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gentoo_newguy,

You must choose between the radeon driver and ati-drivers. You caanot have both with the same kernel as they need conflicting kernel options.

It looks like you wand the radeo driver. Your kernel is still missing DRI support, so even when it works, you will have no 3D acceleration.
I will come back to that.

The kernel code and its associated firmware, be it for radeon or wifi, needs to be in the right places. There are four combinations but only two work.
The two that work are code and fimware in the kernel binary and the module in /lib/modules and the firmware in /lib/firmware.
The code in the kernel binary and the firware in /lib/firmware fails as /lib/firmware is not mounted when the kernel code tries to load the firmware.

For the radeon driver in the kernel you need the following settings:-
On the Generic Driver Options menu
Code:

  │ │          -*- Userspace firmware loading support                                           │ │ 
  │ │          [ ]   Include in-kernel firmware blobs in kernel binary                          │ │ 
  │ │          (rtl_nic/rtl8168e-2.fw radeon/PALM_pfp.bin radeon/PALM_me.bin radeon/SUMO_rlc.bin│ │ 
  │ │          (/lib/firmware/) Firmware blobs root directory

Notice the last two lines. This tells the kernel to look in /lib/firmware/ for firmware files, the truncated line above is a space separateled list of firmware files to include in the kernel binary, as they appear in /lib/firmware. Thats my list from my media player. You list your files.

Under /dev/agpgart (AGP Support) choose support for your motherboard chipset. I have
Code:
           --- /dev/agpgart (AGP Support)                                           │ │ 
  │ │          <*>   AMD Opteron/Athlon64 on-CPU GART support


Lastly,
Code:
 │ │          --- Direct Rendering Manager (XFree86 4.1.0 and higher DRI support)             │ │ 
  │ │          < >   3dfx Banshee/Voodoo3+                                                     │ │ 
  │ │          < >   ATI Rage 128                                                              │ │ 
  │ │          <*>   ATI Radeon                                                                │ │ 
  │ │          [*]     Enable modesetting on radeon by default - NEW DRIVER

You must not have any framebuffer hardware support on. The radeon driver provides a console framebuffer at no extra charge.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gentoo_newguy
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Oct 2006
Posts: 539

PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2012 7:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Needy thanks for ur reply.
Im going to check everything again now.
I get so confused because when u follow the guide it says one thing and ur telling me another.

Im getting confused between the both and i dont understand which one i need. I just follow the guide to what it says.

I followed this.

http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/xorg-config.xml


I dont no what i need what is the diffrence radeon or ati drives im just following the guide ? I would like 3d acceleration .

Code:
   
Mine is set to star like the the guide says so .

 [* ]   Include in-kernel firmware blobs in kernel binary                          │ │
  │


│          --- Direct Rendering Manager (XFree86 4.1.0 and higher DRI support)             │ │
  │ │          < >   3dfx Banshee/Voodoo3+                                                     │ │
  │ │          < >   ATI Rage 128                                                              │ │
  │ │          <*>   ATI Radeon                                                                │ │
  │ │          [*]     Enable modesetting on radeon by default - NEW



My chipset is set the same as urs im guessing this wrong .


heres lspci

00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Atom Processor D2xxx/N2xxx DRAM Controller (rev 03)
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family High Definition Audio Controller (rev 02)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family PCI Express Port 1 (rev 02)
00:1c.1 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family PCI Express Port 2 (rev 02)
00:1c.2 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family PCI Express Port 3 (rev 02)
00:1c.3 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family PCI Express Port 4 (rev 02)
00:1d.0 USB controller: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 02)
00:1d.1 USB controller: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 02)
00:1d.2 USB controller: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family USB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 02)
00:1d.3 USB controller: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family USB UHCI Controller #4 (rev 02)
00:1d.7 USB controller: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family USB2 EHCI Controller (rev 02)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge (rev e2)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation NM10 Family LPC Controller (rev 02)
00:1f.2 IDE interface: Intel Corporation N10/ICH7 Family SATA Controller [IDE mode] (rev 02)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family SMBus Controller (rev 02)
01:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller (rev 06)
02:00.0 Network controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8188CE 802.11b/g/n WiFi Adapter (rev 01)
03:00.0 USB controller: NEC Corporation uPD720200 USB 3.0 Host Controller (rev 04)
04:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI Caicos [Radeon HD 6400 Series]
04:00.1 Audio device: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI Caicos HDMI Audio [Radeon HD 6400 Series]




So sorry where i have been doing this all day its becoming a big mess changing things
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BillWho
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 1600
Location: US

PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2012 7:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gentoo_newguy,

You should be using the firmware for # Radeon HD 6400-7600 aka. Northern Islands:
_________________
Good luck :wink:

Since installing gentoo, my life has become one long emerge :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gentoo_newguy
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Oct 2006
Posts: 539

PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2012 8:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok i set it to ati

but still not working :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BillWho
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 1600
Location: US

PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2012 8:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

compile radeon as a module and check its dependencies
Code:
root@gentoo-gateway linux-3.5-rc6 # modprobe --show-depends radeon
insmod /lib/modules/3.5.0-rc6/kernel/drivers/i2c/algos/i2c-algo-bit.ko
insmod /lib/modules/3.5.0-rc6/kernel/drivers/gpu/drm/drm.ko
insmod /lib/modules/3.5.0-rc6/kernel/drivers/gpu/drm/ttm/ttm.ko
insmod /lib/modules/3.5.0-rc6/kernel/drivers/gpu/drm/drm_kms_helper.ko
insmod /lib/modules/3.5.0-rc6/kernel/drivers/gpu/drm/radeon/radeon.ko

_________________
Good luck :wink:

Since installing gentoo, my life has become one long emerge :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gentoo_newguy
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Oct 2006
Posts: 539

PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2012 8:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So just compile this as a modules .
]│ --- Direct Rendering Manager (XFree86 4.1.0 and higher DRI support) │ │
│ │ < > 3dfx Banshee/Voodoo3+ │ │
│ │ < > ATI Rage 128 │ │
│ │ <M> ATI Radeon │ │
│ │ [*] Enable modesetting on radeon by default - NEW DRIVER


Correct or anything else as a module ?

Show depends when its not a module says built in
when compiled as a module show depends =

lib/modules/3.2.21-gentoo/kernel/drivers/video/cfbfillrect.ko
lib/modules/3.2.21-gentoo/kernel/drivers/video/cfbimgblt.ko
lib/modules/3.2.21-gentoo/kernel/drivers/video/cfbcopyarea.ko
lib/modules/3.2.21-gentoo/kernel/drivers/gpu/drm/drm_kms_helper.ko
lib/modules/3.2.21-gentoo/kernel/drivers/gpu/drm/ttm/ttm.ko
lib/modules/3.2.21-gentoo/kernel/drivers/gpu/drm/radeon/radeon.ko

Once again when compiled as a module it makes my screen look at lot sharper and nicer.
Still Nothing when start x
Also x is not creating any sort xorg.conf is part of the problem ? And remember im using a HDMI TV


Sorry for all the hassel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gusar
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 09 Apr 2005
Posts: 2665
Location: Slovenia

PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2012 9:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gentoo_newguy wrote:
Once again when compiled as a module it makes my screen look at lot sharper and nicer.

That means you got the kernel part right.

For X... have you tried recompiling xf86-video-ati?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 46752
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2012 9:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gentoo_newguy,

The radeon firmware was not always included with the kernel. It still may not be.

The option
Code:
 [* ]   Include in-kernel firmware blobs in kernel binary 
includes needed firmware from /usr/src/linux/firmware in the kernel binary.
If your firmware is there, you do not need the
Code:
    │ │          (rtl_nic/rtl8168e-2.fw radeon/PALM_pfp.bin radeon/PALM_me.bin radeon/SUMO_rlc.bin│ │ 
  │ │          (/lib/firmware/) Firmware blobs root directory
options I posted about before. You do need all the rest though.

Code:
ls /usr/src/linux/firmware/radeon/
PALM_me.bin.gen.S   R520_cp.bin        RS780_pfp.bin       RV630_pfp.bin       RV710_pfp.bin
PALM_me.bin.gen.o   R520_cp.bin.ihex   RS780_pfp.bin.ihex  RV630_pfp.bin.ihex  RV710_pfp.bin.ihex
PALM_pfp.bin.gen.S  R600_me.bin        RV610_me.bin        RV635_me.bin        RV730_me.bin
PALM_pfp.bin.gen.o  R600_me.bin.ihex   RV610_me.bin.ihex   RV635_me.bin.ihex   RV730_me.bin.ihex
R100_cp.bin         R600_pfp.bin       RV610_pfp.bin       RV635_pfp.bin       RV730_pfp.bin
R100_cp.bin.ihex    R600_pfp.bin.ihex  RV610_pfp.bin.ihex  RV635_pfp.bin.ihex  RV730_pfp.bin.ihex
R200_cp.bin         RS600_cp.bin       RV620_me.bin        RV670_me.bin        RV770_me.bin
R200_cp.bin.ihex    RS600_cp.bin.ihex  RV620_me.bin.ihex   RV670_me.bin.ihex   RV770_me.bin.ihex
R300_cp.bin         RS690_cp.bin       RV620_pfp.bin       RV670_pfp.bin       RV770_pfp.bin
R300_cp.bin.ihex    RS690_cp.bin.ihex  RV620_pfp.bin.ihex  RV670_pfp.bin.ihex  RV770_pfp.bin.ihex
R420_cp.bin         RS780_me.bin       RV630_me.bin        RV710_me.bin        SUMO_rlc.bin.gen.S
R420_cp.bin.ihex    RS780_me.bin.ihex  RV630_me.bin.ihex   RV710_me.bin.ihex   SUMO_rlc.bin.gen.o

Is your firmware there?
If so, you can do it the easy way and let the kernel take care of finding your firmaware. If you do that, you must configure all of the Radeon options as built in.

Both ways work, what is in your guide was current when the guide was written.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 46752
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2012 9:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gentoo_newguy,

To answer your most recent post, please
Code:
wgetpaste /var/log/Xorg.0.log


If you have not installed and configured a window manager, Xorg will do nothing
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gentoo_newguy
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Oct 2006
Posts: 539

PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2012 9:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Im getting really confused now

At the moment i have radeon built in as a module as listed above .
It has done something and changed the screen it looks sharper

When i type ls /usr/srcllinux/firmware/radeon i get a huge list of firmware just like urs im just missing the ones listed as palm

Ive tried a thousand things everyone is saying diffrent things so im getting in a mess.

This part does not show up in my kernel under include in kernel blobs

(rtl_nic/rtl8168e-2.fw radeon/PALM_pfp.bin radeon/PALM_me.bin radeon/SUMO_rlc.bin│ │
│ │ (/lib/firmware/) Firmware blobs root directory
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BillWho
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 1600
Location: US

PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2012 9:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There's no need for an xorg.conf file - make sure there's none there. Also remove anything in /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d that's referencing graphics

Did you change your VIDEO_CARDS= in /etc/make/conf :?:

Did you unmerge x11-drivers/ati-drivers :?:

Did you update the drivers emerge -av1 $(qlist -I -C x11-drivers) and emerge -uavDN @world

Did you set mesa to gallium :?:

Did you revdep-rebuild emerge --depclean

Have you instaled a wm/de yet :?:
_________________
Good luck :wink:

Since installing gentoo, my life has become one long emerge :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 46752
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2012 9:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gentoo_newguy,

For the moment, lets assume your kernel is good. Feel free to wgetpaste the config.
Your Xorg.0.log may confirm if your kernel is ok. Please pastebin the log.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gentoo_newguy
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Oct 2006
Posts: 539

PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2012 9:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://bpaste.net/show/34742/

I have no window manager i have always setup x and had the 3 little window things pop up and then i have gone from them to build the rest of the system
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gentoo_newguy
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Oct 2006
Posts: 539

PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2012 9:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Billwho

There's no need for an xorg.conf file - make sure there's none there. Also remove anything in /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d that's referencing graphics

Did you change your VIDEO_CARDS= in /etc/make/conf :?: This is set to radeon

Did you unmerge x11-drivers/ati-drivers :?: no i havent unmerged them

Did you update the drivers emerge -av1 $(qlist -I -C x11-drivers) and emerge -uavDN @world havent done this

Did you set mesa to gallium :?: dont no how

Did you revdep-rebuild emerge --depclean nope

Have you instaled a wm/de yet :?: no
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BillWho
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 1600
Location: US

PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2012 9:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gentoo_newguy,

Most of the log looks good. There's a problem with KMS (kernel mode setting)

[ 325.644] (II) [KMS] No DRICreatePCIBusID symbol, no kernel modesetting.
[ 325.644] (II) GPU only supported with KMS, using vesa instead.
[ 325.644] (II) UnloadModule: "radeon"

Here's how mine is set:
Code:
root@gentoo-gateway linux-3.5-rc6 # grep KMS .config
CONFIG_DRM_KMS_HELPER=m
CONFIG_DRM_RADEON_KMS=y
root@gentoo-gateway linux-3.5-rc6 # grep RADEON .config
CONFIG_DRM_RADEON=m
CONFIG_DRM_RADEON_KMS=y
CONFIG_FB_RADEON=m
CONFIG_FB_RADEON_I2C=y
CONFIG_FB_RADEON_BACKLIGHT=y


I use the hdmi output with a hdmi monitor and I have also used a hdtv with this.

Wait for NeddySeagoon to review the log before proceeding though :wink:
_________________
Good luck :wink:

Since installing gentoo, my life has become one long emerge :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gentoo_newguy
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Oct 2006
Posts: 539

PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2012 9:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

CONFIG_DRM_KMS_HELPER=m
CONFIG_DRM_RADEON_KMS=y
localhost linux #


Thats mine after the grep
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BillWho
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 1600
Location: US

PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2012 9:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What does yours show :?:

Code:
root@gentoo-gateway linux-3.5-rc6 # lsmod|grep radeon
radeon                714053  2
drm_kms_helper         20916  1 radeon
ttm                    51155  1 radeon
drm                   182229  4 ttm,drm_kms_helper,radeon
i2c_algo_bit            4401  1 radeon

_________________
Good luck :wink:

Since installing gentoo, my life has become one long emerge :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gentoo_newguy
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Oct 2006
Posts: 539

PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2012 9:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
localhost linux # lsmod | grep radeon
radeon                691795  1
ttm                    44426  1 radeon
drm_kms_helper         21960  1 radeon
cfbcopyarea             2885  1 radeon
cfbimgblt               1829  1 radeon
cfbfillrect             2961  1 radeon


Like i said no window manager

I basically follwed x86 guide setup as usual
Then i had problems with wifi so had to get firmware place it in lib/firmware
so on
Then emerge xorg-server


Downloaded at-drivers so on
thats it same as i have ever done

Always tried to startx and bang it works get the three little window things then i would normall emerge gnome.
Have never had to emerge a window manager before ??


eslect mesa list shows everything set to gallium


Last edited by gentoo_newguy on Thu Jul 12, 2012 9:45 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BillWho
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 1600
Location: US

PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2012 9:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My card is older than yours, so results might differ

Try to emerge twm xterm to test further
_________________
Good luck :wink:

Since installing gentoo, my life has become one long emerge :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum