Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[wifi] I can't setup my atheros wifi card ! (solved)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
22decembre
Guru
Guru


Joined: 08 May 2010
Posts: 308
Location: Paris, banlieue sud (Massy et alentours)

PostPosted: Sun Jul 08, 2012 2:34 pm    Post subject: [wifi] I can't setup my atheros wifi card ! (solved) Reply with quote

Hi guys.

I would like to setup my atheros wifi card.
The hardware is recognized, wicd tells me which network I can connect to (so, this looks like a software problem, not hardware). The problem is that I can't enter any encryption passphrase or whatever !

When I look at a network properties, the network encryption is disabled.

How can I solve this ? What type of informations do you need ?

Thanks !
_________________
Portable Gentoo installé depuis ~fevrier 2010, kde4 ( doc : http://www.22decembre.eu/gentoo-portable/)
Serveur Maison Gentoo depuis ~avril 2010 (doc : http://www.22decembre.eu/gentoo-serveur/)
http://www.22decembre.eu


Last edited by 22decembre on Sun Jul 22, 2012 9:42 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 6347
Location: /usr/lib64/lv2

PostPosted: Sun Jul 08, 2012 4:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What desktop or window manager are you using, and what wireless management program are you using (applet, wicd, etc.)?
_________________
Gentoo Studio: A Gentoo-based, professional digital audio workstation OS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
22decembre
Guru
Guru


Joined: 08 May 2010
Posts: 308
Location: Paris, banlieue sud (Massy et alentours)

PostPosted: Sun Jul 08, 2012 4:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am using the current kde desktop, with wicd to manage my network.
I have a wired eth cart, and an atheros wireless card.

I haven't setup wpa-supplicant, as wicd is supposed to build its own conf, but I have the software. Wicd have also wext to mange that, except that I don't know what it is.
_________________
Portable Gentoo installé depuis ~fevrier 2010, kde4 ( doc : http://www.22decembre.eu/gentoo-portable/)
Serveur Maison Gentoo depuis ~avril 2010 (doc : http://www.22decembre.eu/gentoo-serveur/)
http://www.22decembre.eu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nlsa8z6zoz7lyih3ap
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Sep 2007
Posts: 383
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sun Jul 08, 2012 4:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just checking that you have run
Code:
rc-update add wicd deafult

A good test would be to disable security on your network for a few moments and see if you can connect using the wicd gui.

For security you might turn off everything else on you network and run a firewall on your computer during the test.
Then again if you run the test quickly, that might not be necessary.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
22decembre
Guru
Guru


Joined: 08 May 2010
Posts: 308
Location: Paris, banlieue sud (Massy et alentours)

PostPosted: Sun Jul 08, 2012 5:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Of course, I have wicd running as daemon... :D

When disabling security (disabling wpa in wifi access point management), I can connect with the wifi.
So, this is really a problem concerning wpa and encryption !

I didn't disabled my firewall during that test.
_________________
Portable Gentoo installé depuis ~fevrier 2010, kde4 ( doc : http://www.22decembre.eu/gentoo-portable/)
Serveur Maison Gentoo depuis ~avril 2010 (doc : http://www.22decembre.eu/gentoo-serveur/)
http://www.22decembre.eu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nlsa8z6zoz7lyih3ap
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Sep 2007
Posts: 383
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sun Jul 08, 2012 5:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry that I can't help you. Good luck :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gusar
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 09 Apr 2005
Posts: 2665
Location: Slovenia

PostPosted: Sun Jul 08, 2012 7:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Modprobe the ath9k module with nohwcrypt=1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
22decembre
Guru
Guru


Joined: 08 May 2010
Posts: 308
Location: Paris, banlieue sud (Massy et alentours)

PostPosted: Sun Jul 08, 2012 8:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

after doing

Code:
modprobe ath9k nohwcrypt=1


Code:
Jul  8 22:42:22 luciole klogd: [25689.138340] ath9k 0000:07:00.0: PCI INT A -> GSI 19 (level, low) -> IRQ 19
Jul  8 22:42:22 luciole klogd: [25689.138356] ath9k 0000:07:00.0: setting latency timer to 64
Jul  8 22:42:22 luciole klogd: [25689.566902] ath: EEPROM regdomain: 0x65
Jul  8 22:42:22 luciole klogd: [25689.566905] ath: EEPROM indicates we should expect a direct regpair map
Jul  8 22:42:22 luciole klogd: [25689.566909] ath: Country alpha2 being used: 00
Jul  8 22:42:22 luciole klogd: [25689.566911] ath: Regpair used: 0x65
Jul  8 22:42:22 luciole klogd: [25689.568796] ieee80211 phy1: Selected rate control algorithm 'ath9k_rate_control'
Jul  8 22:42:22 luciole klogd: [25689.570706] Registered led device: ath9k-phy1
Jul  8 22:42:22 luciole klogd: [25689.570729] ieee80211 phy1: Atheros AR9280 Rev:2 mem=0xffffc90011180000, irq=19
Jul  8 22:42:26 luciole klogd: [25692.867442] ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): wlan0: link is not ready

_________________
Portable Gentoo installé depuis ~fevrier 2010, kde4 ( doc : http://www.22decembre.eu/gentoo-portable/)
Serveur Maison Gentoo depuis ~avril 2010 (doc : http://www.22decembre.eu/gentoo-serveur/)
http://www.22decembre.eu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 6347
Location: /usr/lib64/lv2

PostPosted: Mon Jul 09, 2012 1:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Could you please post the output of lspci and lspci -n?
_________________
Gentoo Studio: A Gentoo-based, professional digital audio workstation OS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nlsa8z6zoz7lyih3ap
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Sep 2007
Posts: 383
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Mon Jul 09, 2012 3:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you connect using the command line? (ipconfig and iwconfig with wep) (wpa_supplicant also needed with wpa.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
22decembre
Guru
Guru


Joined: 08 May 2010
Posts: 308
Location: Paris, banlieue sud (Massy et alentours)

PostPosted: Mon Jul 09, 2012 6:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
20:35 stephane@luciole ~ $ /usr/sbin/lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Mobile 4 Series Chipset Memory Controller Hub (rev 07)
00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation Mobile 4 Series Chipset PCI Express Graphics Port (rev 07)
00:1a.0 USB controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #4 (rev 03)
00:1a.1 USB controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #5 (rev 03)
00:1a.2 USB controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #6 (rev 03)
00:1a.7 USB controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #2 (rev 03)
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) HD Audio Controller (rev 03)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) PCI Express Port 1 (rev 03)
00:1c.2 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) PCI Express Port 3 (rev 03)
00:1c.3 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) PCI Express Port 4 (rev 03)
00:1c.5 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) PCI Express Port 6 (rev 03)
00:1d.0 USB controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 03)
00:1d.1 USB controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 03)
00:1d.2 USB controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 03)
00:1d.7 USB controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #1 (rev 03)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge (rev 93)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation ICH9M LPC Interface Controller (rev 03)
00:1f.2 SATA controller: Intel Corporation 82801IBM/IEM (ICH9M/ICH9M-E) 4 port SATA Controller [AHCI mode] (rev 03)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) SMBus Controller (rev 03)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation G98 [GeForce 9300M GS] (rev a1)
06:00.0 System peripheral: JMicron Technology Corp. SD/MMC Host Controller
06:00.2 SD Host controller: JMicron Technology Corp. Standard SD Host Controller
06:00.3 System peripheral: JMicron Technology Corp. MS Host Controller
06:00.4 System peripheral: JMicron Technology Corp. xD Host Controller
07:00.0 Network controller: Atheros Communications Inc. AR928X Wireless Network Adapter (PCI-Express) (rev 01)
09:00.0 Ethernet controller: Broadcom Corporation NetXtreme BCM5764M Gigabit Ethernet PCIe (rev 10)
20:35 stephane@luciole ~ $ /usr/sbin/lspci -n
00:00.0 0600: 8086:2a40 (rev 07)
00:01.0 0604: 8086:2a41 (rev 07)
00:1a.0 0c03: 8086:2937 (rev 03)
00:1a.1 0c03: 8086:2938 (rev 03)
00:1a.2 0c03: 8086:2939 (rev 03)
00:1a.7 0c03: 8086:293c (rev 03)
00:1b.0 0403: 8086:293e (rev 03)
00:1c.0 0604: 8086:2940 (rev 03)
00:1c.2 0604: 8086:2944 (rev 03)
00:1c.3 0604: 8086:2946 (rev 03)
00:1c.5 0604: 8086:294a (rev 03)
00:1d.0 0c03: 8086:2934 (rev 03)
00:1d.1 0c03: 8086:2935 (rev 03)
00:1d.2 0c03: 8086:2936 (rev 03)
00:1d.7 0c03: 8086:293a (rev 03)
00:1e.0 0604: 8086:2448 (rev 93)
00:1f.0 0601: 8086:2919 (rev 03)
00:1f.2 0106: 8086:2929 (rev 03)
00:1f.3 0c05: 8086:2930 (rev 03)
01:00.0 0300: 10de:06e9 (rev a1)
06:00.0 0880: 197b:2382
06:00.2 0805: 197b:2381
06:00.3 0880: 197b:2383
06:00.4 0880: 197b:2384
07:00.0 0280: 168c:002a (rev 01)
09:00.0 0200: 14e4:1684 (rev 10)


On suggestion from the strange person named after the even more strange name nlsa8z6zoz7lyih3ap, I tried to connect manually ... I succed ! (this is one wired thing ! :D )

Except that's so hard.

I followed the wiki there :
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Wireless_Setup#Manual_setup
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/WPA_Supplicant

So, I created a wpa_supplicant.conf, filed with the ssid passphrase.
Set my wlan0 cart up, then tell it to connect my network, tell wpa_supplicant to run (according to the wiki), and then ask for dhcpcd to request an address.

this give that :
Code:

20:36 root@luciole ~ # iwconfig wlan0 essid 22decembre
20:43 root@luciole ~ # nano /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf
20:44 root@luciole ~ # wpa_supplicant -i wlan0 -c /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf
ioctl[SIOCSIWSCAN]: Device or resource busy
Failed to initiate AP scan.
Trying to associate with b8:a3:86:54:87:78 (SSID='22decembre' freq=2412 MHz)
Associated with b8:a3:86:54:87:78
WPA: Key negotiation completed with b8:a3:86:54:87:78 [PTK=CCMP GTK=CCMP]
CTRL-EVENT-CONNECTED - Connection to b8:a3:86:54:87:78 completed (auth) [id=0 id_str=]


the command line is still up ! I need a second command line :
Code:
20:47 root@luciole ~ # dhcpcd wlan0
dhcpcd[4695]: version 5.2.12 starting

dhcpcd[4695]: wlan0: broadcasting for a lease
dhcpcd[4695]: wlan0: offered 192.168.0.113 from 192.168.0.2 `einstein.22decembre.eu'
dhcpcd[4695]: wlan0: acknowledged 192.168.0.113 from 192.168.0.2 `einstein.22decembre.eu'
dhcpcd[4695]: wlan0: checking for 192.168.0.113
dhcpcd[4695]: wlan0: leased 192.168.0.113 for 3600 seconds

dhcpcd[4695]: forked to background, child pid 4753
20:47 root@luciole ~ # ifconfig
eth0      Lien encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:23:8b:75:2e:ce 
          inet adr:192.168.0.5  Bcast:192.168.0.255  Masque:255.255.255.0
          adr inet6: 2a01:e35:2e32:5980:223:8bff:fe75:2ece/64 Scope:Global
          adr inet6: fe80::223:8bff:fe75:2ece/64 Scope:Lien
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:2458 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:2356 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 lg file transmission:1000
          RX bytes:1874791 (1.7 MiB)  TX bytes:335743 (327.8 KiB)
          Interruption:17

lo        Lien encap:Boucle locale 
          inet adr:127.0.0.1  Masque:255.0.0.0
          adr inet6: ::1/128 Scope:Hôte
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:112 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:112 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 lg file transmission:0
          RX bytes:7456 (7.2 KiB)  TX bytes:7456 (7.2 KiB)

wlan0     Lien encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:24:2b:72:d1:df 
          inet adr:192.168.0.113  Bcast:192.168.0.255  Masque:255.255.255.0
          adr inet6: 2a01:e35:2e32:5980:224:2bff:fe72:d1df/64 Scope:Global
          adr inet6: fe80::224:2bff:fe72:d1df/64 Scope:Lien
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:11 errors:0 dropped:1 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:17 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 lg file transmission:1000
          RX bytes:1788 (1.7 KiB)  TX bytes:2204 (2.1 KiB)


The good news is that I am on the way ! The bad news is that I don't know how to make wicd able to manage that !
_________________
Portable Gentoo installé depuis ~fevrier 2010, kde4 ( doc : http://www.22decembre.eu/gentoo-portable/)
Serveur Maison Gentoo depuis ~avril 2010 (doc : http://www.22decembre.eu/gentoo-serveur/)
http://www.22decembre.eu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
22decembre
Guru
Guru


Joined: 08 May 2010
Posts: 308
Location: Paris, banlieue sud (Massy et alentours)

PostPosted: Sun Jul 22, 2012 9:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

solved by using python 2.7 and 2.6 (2.7 at least).

sometime I have to use wicd-curse rather than kde-client.
_________________
Portable Gentoo installé depuis ~fevrier 2010, kde4 ( doc : http://www.22decembre.eu/gentoo-portable/)
Serveur Maison Gentoo depuis ~avril 2010 (doc : http://www.22decembre.eu/gentoo-serveur/)
http://www.22decembre.eu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum