Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
All login managers give a blank/black screen. [Solved]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
bpaddock
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 Nov 2005
Posts: 195
Location: Franklin, PA

PostPosted: Wed Jul 04, 2012 2:17 pm    Post subject: All login managers give a blank/black screen. [Solved] Reply with quote

I'm trying to install Gentoo on my Wife's Acer 6930 laptop. A very old install of Gentoo worked on it in the past.

I've followed the various handbooks and Install documents etc.

I've tried the login managers, xdm, gdm, and ligthdm.

All appear for a second or two, if they appear at all, only to be replaced by a blank/black screen with a mouse pointer in the center, and a "_" in the upper left corner.

Conclusion is that the problem really is not the login manager, so what is the problem?

The video is Intel i915. User is in the video group (doesn't mater never get to enter a username/password).

Here is every configuration file I could think to send:

lspci|wgetpaste
Your paste can be seen here: http://bpaste.net/show/33417/

cat dmesg|wgetpaste
Your paste can be seen here: http://bpaste.net/show/33416/

cat /usr/src/linux/.config|wgetpaste
Your paste can be seen here: http://bpaste.net/show/33418/

cat /etc/conf.d/modules|wgetpaste
Your paste can be seen here: http://bpaste.net/show/33421/

cat /etc/make.conf|wgetpaste
Your paste can be seen here: http://bpaste.net/show/33422/

emerge --info|wgetpaste
Your paste can be seen here: http://bpaste.net/show/33424/

/etc/X11/xorg.conf.d is empty.

wgetpaste Xorg.0.log
Your paste can be seen here: http://bpaste.net/show/33419/

wgetpaste xdm.log
Your paste can be seen here: http://bpaste.net/show/33420/

I can ssh into the laptop. Nothing is jumping out at me from the logs.


Help?


Last edited by bpaddock on Wed Jul 04, 2012 4:52 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gusar
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 09 Apr 2005
Posts: 2665
Location: Slovenia

PostPosted: Wed Jul 04, 2012 2:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The only thing that looks weird to me is this line:
Code:
[   415.693] (II) intel(0): Allocated new frame buffer 1408x768 stride 5632, tiled

Why 1408 and where does it come from?

Actually, it starts earlier, from dmesg:
Code:
[    1.075586] Console: switching to colour frame buffer device 106x30

With the default 8x16 font, a resolution of 1366x768 should give you 170x48. So something is definitely screwy in setting up the display.

I only have generic suggestions: Try ether the latest kernel (3.4.4, it's in ~arch) or the lts kernel (3.0.35 is in stable, 3.0.36 is in ~arch).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bpaddock
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 Nov 2005
Posts: 195
Location: Franklin, PA

PostPosted: Wed Jul 04, 2012 3:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gusar wrote:
The only thing that looks weird to me is this line:
Code:
[   415.693] (II) intel(0): Allocated new frame buffer 1408x768 stride 5632, tiled

Why 1408 and where does it come from?

Actually, it starts earlier, from dmesg:
Code:
[    1.075586] Console: switching to colour frame buffer device 106x30

With the default 8x16 font, a resolution of 1366x768 should give you 170x48. So something is definitely screwy in setting up the display.

I only have generic suggestions: Try ether the latest kernel (3.4.4, it's in ~arch) or the lts kernel (3.0.35 is in stable, 3.0.36 is in ~arch).


I have no idea where the 1408 comes from. I have noted that on boot some times the console takes the full screen all the way across, on other boots it is only the top left quarter of the screen.
Where would I set the resolution thing for the kernel when not using vesa? When I was using vesa this worked: video=vesafb:ywrap,mttr:3 vga=0xF00

I have tried playing with those settings and they change the console. Did not seem to have any real effect on the blank/black screen issue.

I did try a 3.4.something earlier, will try again, figured going with the 'stable' one in portage was a safer bet.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gusar
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 09 Apr 2005
Posts: 2665
Location: Slovenia

PostPosted: Wed Jul 04, 2012 4:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bpaddock wrote:
I have noted that on boot some times the console takes the full screen all the way across, on other boots it is only the top left quarter of the screen.

That's the phantom TV. To turn it off, add this to the kernel line in the grub config:
Code:
video=SVIDEO-1:d
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bpaddock
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 Nov 2005
Posts: 195
Location: Franklin, PA

PostPosted: Wed Jul 04, 2012 4:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

[quote="Gusar"]
bpaddock wrote:
add this to the kernel line in the grub config:
Code:
video=SVIDEO-1:d


That and finding the 8x16 font was not compiled into the kernel fixed this issue.

Thank you.

Happy Wife: Happy Life
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum