Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] Cannot connect Wireless
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
athena810
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Jun 2012
Posts: 176

PostPosted: Wed Jun 27, 2012 6:57 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED] Cannot connect Wireless Reply with quote

Hey, sorry to be spamming the threads again with my n00b questions.

So anyways, I've been trying to connect wirelessly but nothing seems to work. I thought it was a kernel driver problem. So, i downloaded and installed a different one (r8101).

However; that really did not fix anything. I emerged wireless-tools and wpa_supplicant and I'm pretty sure I configured them right. DHCPCD works with a wired connection but not wirelessly.

I'm really not sure where I went wrong. I thought it was the driver but now that the driver is working, the wireless connection still doesnt work.

Also strangely, everytime I reboot, resolv.conf deletes my previous entries in it and all there's left is comments. I blacklisted my old driver too just to make sure. I honestly don't know where to go from now.

(Also, links doesn't work anymore but it works in the livecd...how do i browse the internet now?)


Last edited by athena810 on Sat Jun 30, 2012 1:06 am; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Doctor
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Jul 2010
Posts: 1269

PostPosted: Wed Jun 27, 2012 7:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

1) wpa_supplicant is a pain in the arse to use. Using something else like wicd or networkmanager is much easier.

2) resolve.conf does that. DHCPCD clears the file each time its run. If you read the comments one of them should instruct you to use another file, namely resolv.conf.head to write any persistent changes you wish to make.

If I where you I would triple check that I was using the right driver and also I would check to see if it requires firmware.
_________________
First things first, but not necessarily in that order.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 31373
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Jun 27, 2012 7:18 pm    Post subject: Re: Cannot connect Wireless Reply with quote

athena810,
athena810 wrote:
Hey, sorry to be spamming the threads again with my n00b questions.

We were all noobs once - there is no shame in that.

athena810 wrote:
So anyways, I've been trying to connect wirelessly but nothing seems to work. I thought it was a kernel driver problem. So, i downloaded and installed a different one (r8101).

Lets start at the beginning. You have a lot of modules you need in your kernel for wireless support, not just the module for your hardware. Depending on your device you may need firmware to.
A good start would be for you to post the output of
Code:
lspci
and
Code:
lspci -nn
this will tell us about your hardware.

athena810 wrote:
However; that really did not fix anything. I emerged wireless-tools and wpa_supplicant and I'm pretty sure I configured them right. DHCPCD works with a wired connection but not wirelessly.

wireless-tools is a good diagnostic aid and will get you connected if your wireless is unencrypted or uses WEP. Foe other encryption your need wpa_supplicant.

athena810 wrote:
I'm really not sure where I went wrong. I thought it was the driver but now that the driver is working, the wireless connection still doesnt work.
If your wireless is not working, how do you kow the driver works?
Do you see any wireless related messages in
Code:
dmesg


athena810 wrote:
Also strangely, everytime I reboot, resolv.conf deletes my previous entries in it and all there's left is comments. I blacklisted my old driver too just to make sure. I honestly don't know where to go from now.
dhcpcd populates /etc/resolv.conf as part of your network setup, but only if it can contact a dhcp server, which its can't unless either your wireless works or your wired is connected.

athena810 wrote:
(Also, links doesn't work anymore but it works in the livecd...how do i browse the internet now?)

Go back to a wired connection meanwhile.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
athena810
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Jun 2012
Posts: 176

PostPosted: Wed Jun 27, 2012 7:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

penguin swordmaster,
I did triple check I actually followed these instructions. http://en.gentoo-wiki.com/wiki/Realtek_RTL8101E\

EDIT: also, i would use wicd but I've had some very bad experiences with it. And I've tried network manager but it doesnt work well for me. Also, I haven't gotten around to figuring out how to setup a desktop environment yet.

NeddySeagoon,
Yeah, actually i've been looking around at some previous threads and some peeple did mention firmware.

I'm gonna post lspci and lspci -nn but I have no way of copying and pasting it so I'll have to type it up which could take a while.
Code:

00:00.0 0600: 8086:0066 (rev 02)
00:02.0 0300: 8086:0046 (rev 02)
00:16.0 0780: 8086:3b64 (rev 06)
00:1a.0 0c03: 8086:4b4c (rev 05)
00:1b.0 0403: 8086:3b56 (rev 05)
00:1c.0 0604: 8086:4b42 (rev 05)
00:1c.2 0604: 8086:3b46 (rev 05)
00:1c.4 0604: 8086:3b4a (rev 05)
00:1d.0 0c03: 8086:3b34 (rev 05)
00:1e.0 0604: 8086:2448 (rev 05)
00:1f.0 0601: 8086:3b09 (rev 05)
00:1f.2 0106: 8086:3b29 (rev 05)
00:1f.3 0c05: 8086:3b30 (rev 05)
00:1f.6 1180: 8086:3b32 (rev 05)
01:00.0 0200: 103c:8136 (rev 05)
02:00.0 0280: 1814:5390
03:00.0 ff00: 10ec:5209 (rev 01)
ff:00.0 0600: 8086:2c62 (rev 05)
ff:00.1 0600: 8086:2d01 (rev 05)
ff:02.0 0600: 8086:2d10 (rev 05)
ff:02.1 0600: 8086:2d11 (rev 05)
ff:02.2 0600: 8086:2d12 (rev 05)
ff:02.3 0600: 8086:2d13 (rev 05)

http://kmuto.jp/debian/hcl/
^ Will that work for identifying hardware or should I type out lspci?

My router uses WEP hex but just in case I emerged bot of them.

In dmesg is really long but at the bottom there is
Code:

r8101: eth0 link down
ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): eth0: link not ready
kworker/u:0 used greatest stack depth:3400 bytes left



Then there's a lot of messages that say:
Code:

Unknown key pressed (translated set 2, code 0xab on isa0060/serio0)


and that messages repeats a LOT.
Also it says that the identified chip is RTL8105E and which is weird because mine is RTL8101E...but I doubt it makes much of a difference.

And links doesn't work in a wired connection either. Neither does net-setup eth0 <- but I don't think its suppose to work anyway.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 31373
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Jun 27, 2012 9:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

athena810,

The Debian page says
Code:
 18145390   Yes   Ralink corp.   RT5390 Wireless 802.11n 1T/1R PCIe   rt2800pci   v3.0.0-

So the driver has only been added to the kernel since kernel 3.0

Under Wireless, you will need

Code:
<*>   cfg80211 - wireless configuration API
<*>   Generic IEEE 802.11 Networking Stack (mac80211) 
[*]   Minstrel     
        [*]     Minstrel 802.11n support
[*]   Enable LED triggers


Under Network device support
Code:
[*]   Wireless LAN  --->   
<M>   Ralink driver support  --->
<M>   Ralink rt27xx/rt28xx/rt30xx (PCI/PCIe/PCMCIA) support
  <*>rt2800pci - Include support for rt53xx devices (EXPERIMENTAL)

The use of modules here is important.

You should not need firmware. Thats very rare in PCIe devies.
You may need/want rfkill support. Thats more kernel options and a user space tool.

All of the above should get your wlan0 to appear in
Code:
ifconfig -a
once that happens its all down to configuration.
Rebuild your kernel with the options above, reboot into it - check the timestamp in
Code:
 uname -a
and run
Code:
ifconfig -a


Making it work, after your wireless interface appears is another step.
Don't even think about a GUI tool until it works. They all need the kernel to be right and they all use wpa_supplicant.
You are not at that stage yet.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
athena810
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Jun 2012
Posts: 176

PostPosted: Wed Jun 27, 2012 9:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

For Wireless I have the first two but not Ministrel or Ministrel 802.11n support and I have Enable LED triggers.

There's a
Default rate control algorithm (Ministrel)

I'm rebuilding and rebooting now.

uname -a returns

Code:
Linux localhost 3.3.8-gentoo #1 SMP mon jun 25 16:59:18 EDT 2012 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i3 CPU 370 @ 2.40GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux


i don't think it worked. in ifconfig -a
there's an eth0, gre0,lo,sit0,tun10.

A ping to google.com still returns
ping: unknown host google.com

When typing dhcpcd, i get a
Code:

version 5.2.12 starting
no interfaces have a carrier
forked to background, child pid 1990
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 31373
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Jun 27, 2012 9:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

athena810,

Can you get on a wired network or boot with a CD that does support your wireless.
System Rescue CD probably does.

That will allow your to chroot into your system and use wgetpaste to post accurately without copy typing.

Your uname -a is good
Code:
mon jun 25 16:59:18 EDT 2012
is the build time of the kernel. Adding on 5 hours for me, shows the kernel was built about 30 min ago.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
athena810
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Jun 2012
Posts: 176

PostPosted: Wed Jun 27, 2012 9:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can get a wired network but not a wireless.
I can't get a wireless on the installation CD either (but I can get a wired connection) and the graphics on the rescue CDs typically don't work well for me. My graphic drivers are crap.

links doesn't work for me so I'll use the installation CD.

Wait...I can copy and paste to here? how?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 31373
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Jun 27, 2012 10:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

athena810,

The liveCD has a programe called wgetpaste. When you have a network connection, you can emerge it.

There are two formats to the command.
Code:
wgetpaste /path/to/file
command | wgetpaste


The first puts a file on the web, the latter sends the output of command to the web.
You post the URLs.

Code:
dmesg | wgetpaste
would be good, to see what happens with your wireless on startup.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
athena810
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Jun 2012
Posts: 176

PostPosted: Wed Jun 27, 2012 10:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

for lspci
Code:

00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Core Processor DRAM Controller (rev 02)
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Core Processor Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 02)
00:16.0 Communication controller: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset HECI Controller (rev 06)
00:1a.0 USB controller: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset USB2 Enhanced Host Controller (rev 05)
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset High Definition Audio (rev 05)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset PCI Express Root Port 1 (rev 05)
00:1c.2 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset PCI Express Root Port 3 (rev 05)
00:1c.4 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset PCI Express Root Port 5 (rev 05)
00:1d.0 USB controller: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset USB2 Enhanced Host Controller (rev 05)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge (rev a5)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation Mobile 5 Series Chipset LPC Interface Controller (rev 05)
00:1f.2 SATA controller: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset 4 port SATA AHCI Controller (rev 05)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset SMBus Controller (rev 05)
00:1f.6 Signal processing controller: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset Thermal Subsystem (rev 05)
01:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8101E/RTL8102E PCI Express Fast Ethernet controller (rev 05)
02:00.0 Network controller: Ralink corp. RT5390 Wireless 802.11n 1T/1R PCIe
03:00.0 Unassigned class [ff00]: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTS5209 PCI Express Card Reader (rev 01)
ff:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Core Processor QuickPath Architecture Generic Non-core Registers (rev 05)
ff:00.1 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Core Processor QuickPath Architecture System Address Decoder (rev 05)
ff:02.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Core Processor QPI Link 0 (rev 05)
ff:02.1 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Core Processor QPI Physical 0 (rev 05)
ff:02.2 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Core Processor Reserved (rev 05)
ff:02.3 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Core Processor Reserved (rev 05)


Here's for dmesg, it's really long.
https://gist.github.com/3007344
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BillWho
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 1600
Location: US

PostPosted: Wed Jun 27, 2012 11:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

athena810,

Did you setup the symlink to net.lo and add it to the default runlevel :?:
_________________
Good luck :wink:

Since installing gentoo, my life has become one long emerge :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
athena810
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Jun 2012
Posts: 176

PostPosted: Wed Jun 27, 2012 11:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

no, I don't think so, how do i do that?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BillWho
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 1600
Location: US

PostPosted: Thu Jun 28, 2012 12:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

athena810,

You should go through this http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/handbook-x86.xml?part=4&chap=4 and possibly http://en.gentoo-wiki.com/wiki/Wireless/Configuration
_________________
Good luck :wink:

Since installing gentoo, my life has become one long emerge :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
athena810
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Jun 2012
Posts: 176

PostPosted: Thu Jun 28, 2012 5:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did everything. Still no wlan0 there. So this would mean that my driver is not configured correctly and/or does not support my device.

Nevermind, there's a wlan0 but the fact remains that the wireless still does not work...

When typing iwconfig
Code:

wlan0      IEEE 802.11bgn ESSID:off/any
               Mode:Managed Access Point: Not-Associated Tx-Power=0 dBm
               Retry long limit:7   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
               Encryption key: off
               Power Management: off


Also, I think dhcpcd just crashed. i typed in dhcpcd and it said
Code:
dhcpcd[2801]: version 5.2.12 starting

Then nothing...no prompt or anything.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 1565

PostPosted: Thu Jun 28, 2012 6:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

athena810 wrote:
[...] Nevermind, there's a wlan0 but the fact remains that the wireless still does not work...

OK ... you said your AP uses WEP, correct? Add the following to /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf

Code:
network={
       ssid="YOUR_AP_NAME" <= EDIT
       scan_ssid=1
       key_mgmt=NONE
       wep_key0=YOUR_KEY <= EDIT
       wep_tx_keyidx=0
}

Next, sym (symbolic) link net.lo to net.wlan0

Code:
% ln -s /etc/init.d/net.lo /etc/init.d/net.wlan0


Next, configure how the interface is handled in /etc/conf.d/net (it will probably work without this, but for the sake of providing a complete explanation, I'll at least provide some basic stanzas)

Code:
modules_wlan0="wpa_supplicant dhcpcd"
wpa_timeout_wlan0="15"
config_wlan0="dhcp"

You can now start the interface/network ...
Code:
% /etc/init.d/net.wlan0 start

You may see "WARNING: wlan0 has started, but ..." don't worry, its just letting you know that it isn't hanging arround to see if the connection is successful or not.

It should only take a few seconds (dependent on how long the negociation takes to happen) but you should get connected to the AP and it provide you with an IP address. You can check with the following (and you should see similar output)

Code:
% ip a l wlan0
2: wlan0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc mq state UP qlen 1000
    link/ether a8:a1:a2:93:21:43 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
    inet 192.168.2.153/24 brd 192.168.2.255 scope global wlan0

Now ping your favorite host ...

Code:
ping -c 1 forums.gentoo.org


athena810 wrote:
Also, I think dhcpcd just crashed. i typed in dhcpcd and it said dhcpcd: version 5.2.12 starting. Then nothing...no prompt or anything.

Na, its just backgrounded.

HTH & best ...

khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
athena810
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Jun 2012
Posts: 176

PostPosted: Thu Jun 28, 2012 8:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Khayyam,

Thanks for helping me out but I think the dhcp actually kinda crashed beause I turned my computer off and restarted it and I got endless lines of
Code:

udevd[1223]: timeout: killing '/sbin/modprbe -bv pco:v00001814d00005490sv0000103Csd00001636bc02sc80i00' [1244]


Amd yeah the same lines keep repeating and has been repeating for the past 20 minutes :(

So, uh, what went wrong?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 31373
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Jun 28, 2012 9:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

athena810,

Code:
v00001814d00005490
is the vendor and device ID of your wireless.
It looks like something went wrong with loading the kernel modue and the kernel cannot recvover.

Boor with a liveCD, mount your root at /mnt/gentoo,
Look for your kernel module somewhere in /mnt/gentoo/lib/modules/<kernel-ver>/... and rename it from <whatever>.ko to <whatever>.ko_broken so it can't be loaded.

Reboot normally. Now the hard bit, rename the module back to its real name and try to modprobe it by hand.
If that works, can you start wlan0 by hand?
If that crash on boot is repeatable, try a different kernel version.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
athena810
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Jun 2012
Posts: 176

PostPosted: Thu Jun 28, 2012 9:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Neddy,
hey, I'm in /mnt/gentoo/lib/modules/3.3.8-gentoo and it's filled with files named 'modules.[something]'/ And none of them end in .ko

There's another directory called kernel and there's four directories in there called arch, drivers, fs, lib, net.

Each of them have more directories ending in various files with the ending of .ko

I think r8101 is the kernel driver that we're looking for because when I modprobed it, the entire thing crashed. Strangely, the directory is in localhost because I downloaded it from the net as a tar.bz2 file and had extracted it in localhost.

I found r8101.ko in /mnt/gentoo/r8101-1.022.00/src

EDIT: Well, that didn't work. I still got the same error message.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 31373
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Jun 28, 2012 10:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

athena810,


Put your kernel version into /mnt/gentoo/lib/modules/<your-kernel>/kernel/drivers/net/wireless/

In fact, changing the wireless part of the name there would prevent the module being loaded.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
athena810
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Jun 2012
Posts: 176

PostPosted: Thu Jun 28, 2012 10:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In
/mnt/gentoo/lib/modules/<your-kernel>/kernel/drivers/net/wireless/
there's a directory called rt2x00,
in that directory there's a
rt2800lib.ko, rt2800pci.ko, rt2xoolib.ko, rt2x00pci.ko.

When I lspci -knn, it says that the kernel driver in use is r8169...I think it's because i marked the r8101 kernel as broken so it didn't load but I don't think the r8101 driver was the problem.

So, I copied the entire r8101-1.022.00 directory from the /mnt/gentoo to the /mnt/gentoo/lib/modules/3.3.8-gentoo/kernel/drivers/net/wireless directory. So currently in my wireless directory, there are two directories.

Which am I suppose to mark as broken?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 31373
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Jun 28, 2012 10:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

athena810,

r8169 or r8101 is the driver for your wired interface.

athena810 wrote:
/mnt/gentoo/lib/modules/<your-kernel>/kernel/drivers/net/wireless/
there's a directory called rt2x00,


rename (mv) the directory called rt2x00, that will stop the .ko files inside being found until you name it back.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
athena810
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Jun 2012
Posts: 176

PostPosted: Thu Jun 28, 2012 11:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I rebooted it and now it's stuck on
Code:
Bringing up interface lo


And the same error message is still there except now it has variations and it's not constantly printing it.

It's now printing the message
Code:

[    664.899134] atkbd serio0: Unknown key pressed (translated set 2, code 0xab on isa0060/serio0).
[    664.900732] atkbd serio0: Use ` setkeycodes e02b <keycode>' to make it known.
[    664.911198] atkbd serio0: Unknown key released (translated set 2, code 0xab on isa0060.serio0)


And it kinda repeats but now it's stopped. There's about 12 lines of these.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
athena810
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Jun 2012
Posts: 176

PostPosted: Fri Jun 29, 2012 12:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Should I just re-install gentoo? I don't think I can fix this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BillWho
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 1600
Location: US

PostPosted: Fri Jun 29, 2012 1:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

In menuconfig you should have your wireless set like this - unset anything that's not needed:

<M> Ralink rt27xx/rt28xx/rt30xx (PCI/PCIe/PCMCIA) support │ │
│ │ [ ] rt2800pci - Include support for rt33xx devices │ │
│ │ [ ] rt2800pci - Include support for rt35xx devices (EXPERIMENTAL) │ │
│ │ [*] rt2800pci - Include support for rt53xx devices (EXPERIMENTAL) (NEW) │ │
│ │
Double check it and recompile before you blow it away - make && make modules_install
_________________
Good luck :wink:

Since installing gentoo, my life has become one long emerge :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
athena810
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Jun 2012
Posts: 176

PostPosted: Fri Jun 29, 2012 1:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think I know why renaming rt2x00 didn't work, it was because I wasn't chrooted.

Good news, it works now.

So I realized that the r8101 thing should not be in wireless so i removed it and copied it to /lib/modules/3.3.8-gentoo/kernel/drivers/net/ethernet/realtek.

I realize that r8101 is unlrealted to wireless.


modprobing rt2x00 does not work...and I'm not sure if I was suppose to modprobe it either. The HWaddr for eth0 and wlan0 is different. Is that weird or are they referring to the HWaddr for the router?

dhcpcd now returns

Code:

version 5.2.12 starting
wlan0: up_interface: No such file or directory
no interfaces have a carrier
forked to background child pid 1993


(Something weird, everytime I reboot, the kernel driver goes back to r8169. I found the file and I renamed it but I still have to ./autorun.sh r8101 everytime. But I think it should work now since there is now a r8101.ko. )

Anyways thanks for your help. I really appreciate it.


Last edited by athena810 on Fri Jun 29, 2012 2:08 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Page 1 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum