Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[Solved] Problem installing Adobe Flash
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mark2
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 May 2012
Posts: 205
Location: South Carolina

PostPosted: Sun Jun 24, 2012 8:53 pm    Post subject: [Solved] Problem installing Adobe Flash Reply with quote

I know somewhere this must have been answered, but I haven't found it, so I apologize if I'm duplicating a similar problem.

I get emails from a blues guitar instructor with links to lessons he provides through video. He must use a different player on some of them because I can view them. But in others I get a message to install Adobe Flash Player or use a browser that provides native H.264 support. I use Firefox version 10.0.5. I know that version 13 exists also, but this version is what portage installed. I'll try to figure that one out later.

Anyway, here is the message I get trying to emerge adobe-flash:
Code:
Calculating dependencies... done!

!!! All ebuilds that could satisfy "adobe-flash" have been masked.
!!! One of the following masked packages is required to complete your request:
- www-plugins/adobe-flash-11.2.202.236::gentoo (masked by: AdobeFlash-10.3 license(s))
A copy of the 'AdobeFlash-10.3' license is located at '/usr/portage/licenses/AdobeFlash-10.3'.

- www-plugins/adobe-flash-10.3.183.18::gentoo (masked by: AdobeFlash-10.3 license(s), ~amd64 keyword)


I tried to find info on how to unmask, but when I did:
Code:
echo "www-plugins/adobe-flash" >> /etc/portage/package.unmask

I got the same error. I'm just not sure how to use the commands that I read in the emerge manual on the Masked Packages section.

Any advice? :?

~Mark
_________________
"Flying is learning how to throw yourself at the ground and miss." - Douglas Adams


Last edited by mark2 on Tue May 07, 2013 1:00 pm; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Thistled
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Jan 2011
Posts: 488
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Sun Jun 24, 2012 9:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey Mark

It's masked by "Licence" that is what portage is telling you.
So you have to make sure the following is in /etc/make.conf

Code:
ACCEPT_LICENSE="AdobeFlash-10.3"

_________________
Whatever you do, do it properly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mark2
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 May 2012
Posts: 205
Location: South Carolina

PostPosted: Sun Jun 24, 2012 9:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thistle,

Thanks! :D That worked; it installed www-plugins/adobe-flash-11.2.202.136. Now I'm guessing I have to exit the browser and then go back in for the change to take effect. It still gave the same error message, but I'm hoping restarting the browser will help.

Regards,
~Mark
_________________
"Flying is learning how to throw yourself at the ground and miss." - Douglas Adams
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mark2
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 May 2012
Posts: 205
Location: South Carolina

PostPosted: Sun Jun 24, 2012 9:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes. That worked perfectly. Thanks again, Thistle.

~Mark
_________________
"Flying is learning how to throw yourself at the ground and miss." - Douglas Adams
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Thistled
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Jan 2011
Posts: 488
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Mon Jun 25, 2012 9:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No worries man.

Pleasure. :D
_________________
Whatever you do, do it properly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mark2
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 May 2012
Posts: 205
Location: South Carolina

PostPosted: Mon May 06, 2013 5:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Coming back to a slightly newer situation. A while back my system crashed and the hard drive was unrecoverable. So now I've started anew, gotten back to a gui and have run into actually 2 problems. The first of which is being unable to install Adobe Flash 11.2.202.280. The second is that when I installed Firefox I ended up with Aurora (which is not so bad - I may be able to live with it). I have tried the License thing with Flash, but that did not work. I tried to add
Code:
www-plugins/adobe-flash-11.2.202.280

but that gave back an error about an invalid atom.

Any ideas?

~Mark
_________________
"Flying is learning how to throw yourself at the ground and miss." - Douglas Adams
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GFCCAE6xF
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 Aug 2012
Posts: 238

PostPosted: Mon May 06, 2013 5:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You don't need to version the line, just;
www-plugins/adobe-flash AdobeFlash-11.x

Edit: Just to clarify, add that line to /etc/portage/package.license

As for the name you probably have the branding flag disabled, judging from eix output I see... you need to have bindist disabled - which seems to be the default.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mark2
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 May 2012
Posts: 205
Location: South Carolina

PostPosted: Tue May 07, 2013 1:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Rorgoroth,

Thanks, That seems to have worked.

Regards,
~Mark
_________________
"Flying is learning how to throw yourself at the ground and miss." - Douglas Adams
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum