Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[Solved] No gui
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mark2
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 May 2012
Posts: 293
Location: South Carolina

PostPosted: Tue Jun 19, 2012 5:08 pm    Post subject: [Solved] No gui Reply with quote

I am completely new to Gentoo and have hit a brick wall trying to get a gui working. I have 3 xterm windows that come up when I startx. I cannot emerge kde-meta it fails with this:
Code:
 emerge: there are no ebuilds built with USE flags to satisfy ">=sys-libs/zlib-1.2.5.1-r2:0[minizip]".
!!! One of the following packages is required to complete your request:
- sys-libs/zlib-1.2.5.1-r2::gentoo (Change USE: +minizip)
(dependency required by "dev-db/virtuoso-server-6.1.4-r1" [ebuild])
(dependency required by "dev-libs/soprano-2.7.6[virtuoso]" [ebuild])
(dependency required by "kde-base/kdelibs-4.8.3[semantic-desktop]" [ebuild])
(dependency required by "sys-auth/polkit-kde-agent-0.99.0" [ebuild])
(dependency required by "kde-misc/polkit-kde-kcmodules-0.98_pre20101127" [ebuild])

I hope I am doing this right because I am not used to using this Links browser. More info: I am using Nvidia on a GeForce 7300 GS card and can run nvidia-settings and detect my dual monitors with the resolution correctly detected.

Can anyone help? I will monitor as I go back to my office and be back on this machine after work. I am on the US East Coast, so my clock is off right now.

Thanks in advance.
_________________
Thanks,
Mark
__________________________________________________________________
"Flying is learning how to throw yourself at the ground and miss." - Douglas Adams


Last edited by mark2 on Fri Jun 22, 2012 1:47 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John R. Graham
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2005
Posts: 10459
Location: Somewhere over Atlanta, Georgia

PostPosted: Tue Jun 19, 2012 5:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, @mark2. Welcome to Gentoo! :D

You're closer than you think. :wink: It's possible you haven't chosen the best profile for a desktop install. Can you post the output of
Code:
eselect profile show
please?

Profiles (among other things) set USE flags to default values that are tuned for a particular usage pattern. So, although you could correct this particular issue by simply adding the minizip USE flag to your /etc/make.conf, it's better to get your profile right.

- John
_________________
I can confirm that I have received between 0 and 499 National Security Letters.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mark2
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 May 2012
Posts: 293
Location: South Carolina

PostPosted: Tue Jun 19, 2012 5:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi John, thanks for the quick reply. I have just gotten back to my office and have an appointment in 30 minutes, so I can't give you the exact wording of
Code:
eselect profile show
. I do remember, however, that I chose the kde desktop one. I am using an AMD64 dual core +3800 and I know that dmesg showed that it detected my hardware correctly. The only error I see at boot up is where it couldn't set the system clock, but it flew by so quickly I barely had time to recognize it (not from lack of trying, though).

I should be back home in a couple of hours and will post back any information requested.

Oh yes, the kernel is linux-3.2.12-gentoo.
_________________
Thanks,
Mark
__________________________________________________________________
"Flying is learning how to throw yourself at the ground and miss." - Douglas Adams
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Etal
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jul 2005
Posts: 1783

PostPosted: Tue Jun 19, 2012 5:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
- sys-libs/zlib-1.2.5.1-r2::gentoo (Change USE: +minizip)


You need to set the "minizip" USE flag, and then re-emerge zlib.
_________________
“And even in authoritarian countries, information networks are helping people discover new facts and making governments more accountable.”– Hillary Clinton, Jan. 21, 2010
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mark2
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 May 2012
Posts: 293
Location: South Carolina

PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2012 3:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

@Etal Thanks, I tried that and it did not work.
@John eselect profile show gave me
Code:
marktux ~ # eselect profile show
Current /etc/make.profile symlink:
  default/linux/amd64/10.0/desktop/kde

I am still in the 3 xterm console.:-)
_________________
Thanks,
Mark
__________________________________________________________________
"Flying is learning how to throw yourself at the ground and miss." - Douglas Adams
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wcg
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Jan 2009
Posts: 588

PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2012 6:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

In the process of checking out the dependencies of
a variety of audio players recently, I ran across one
that required the minizip feature of zlib.

The Gentoo-standard way of enabling it is to put
it in the USE= variable in /etc/make.conf, thus
enabling it system-wide, or to put in /etc/portage/package.use,
which sets USE flags for specific packages. package.use
can either be a single file or directory. If you run the
command
Code:

ls /usr/portage | less

you will see a list of directories. These correspond to
what portage calls "categories". When /etc/portage/package.use
is a directory rather than a single file, there are files in
that directory per-category that contain specifications for
packages and their package-specific USE flags.

For example, I like to have package.use as a directory
and separate per-category files within it that have
per-package USE flags that I want individual packages
emerged with. I also like to have the glibc info files
installed whenever I upgrade glibc. So in
/etc/portage/packag.use/, I have a file called "sys-libs",
which is a file where I put USE flags for packages
in /usr/portage/sys-libs/. The first line in that file:
Code:

sys-libs/glibc doc


That tells emerge to pass the "doc" USE flag to the
ebuild for glibc whenever I emerge a new glibc version.
The ebuild picks up the "doc" USE flag and installs the
glibc info files, something that glibc's ebuild does not do
by default. (It also compiles a new glibc, installs it, prints
any messages to the user in that ebuild, etc, etc.)

Adding the "doc" USE flag to /etc/make.conf would cause
that USE flag to be passed to every package that emerge
installs, which would get the glibc info files installed, but
it would also cause a lot of other documentation to be
installed that I do not necessarily need installed on my
system. So putting that USE flag in /etc/portage/package.use
or /etc/portage/package.use/sys-libs and associating it
specifically with glibc saves me some disk space, while
still activating it when I specifically want it to be active.
(I could do this on the command line, too, but putting
it in /etc/portage/package.use/sys-libs saves me typing it
out everytime that I emerge glibc.)

Since zlib is in the sys-libs category, we can pass the
minizip USE flag to the zlib ebuild the same way.
I added this USE flag for zlib just recently to that file,
so /etc/portage/package.use/sys-libs now contains:
Code:

sys-libs/glibc doc
sys-libs/zlib minizip


Everytime zlib is emerged, it's ebuild will get that USE
flag from emerge, and the zlib ebuild will build and install the
minizip program (as well as zlib itself, man pages,
include files, and so on).

If you have added minizip to the system-wide USE
flags in /etc/make.conf, emerge will make this USE
flag available to every package that you emerge.
As far as I know only zlib makes use of that USE
flag (other packages may require that zlib has been
installed with that USE flag enabled, not quite the
same thing), so it would be less overhead when
emerging many packages to put it in /etc/portage/package.use
or /etc/portage/package.use/sys-libs. But it will still
work as a system-wide USE flag. So the one thing
that you have left to do is re-emerge zlib, so that
the zlib ebuild will pick up the minizip USE flag and
actually compile and install minizip.

emerge will see that zlib has been emerged with
the minizip USE flag enabled, and it will unblock
the other packages in your list. (Things may be still be
blocked for other reasons unrelated to zlib and minizip,
of course.)

PS: Take a look at /usr/portage/profiles/use.desc.
Not every USE flag in use is described, but a lot
of common ones are described in that file.
_________________
TIA


Last edited by wcg on Wed Jun 20, 2012 5:00 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mark2
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 May 2012
Posts: 293
Location: South Carolina

PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2012 10:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

@wcg: That was interesting reading. Not sure what I'll be able to do there. I do have the minizip USE flag in make.conf and re-emerging zlib, unfortunately, did not help. I see the directories in /usr/portage also. I do not, however, have a package.use directory or file in /etc/portage. The only thing in there is another directory savedconfig.

Today I have to be out of town for a meeting, so it will be this afternoon before I can do anything more than read this forum. I appreciate the information and I will do my best to digest it.

Thanks,
Mark
_________________
Thanks,
Mark
__________________________________________________________________
"Flying is learning how to throw yourself at the ground and miss." - Douglas Adams
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John R. Graham
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2005
Posts: 10459
Location: Somewhere over Atlanta, Georgia

PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2012 11:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just to be sure that you did succeed in changing the USE flag, could you post the output of
Code:
emerge -1vp zlib
please?

Also, unless you're absolutely certain that the second emerge failure was exactly the same as the first, without even a small nuanced difference, please post the results here.

- John
_________________
I can confirm that I have received between 0 and 499 National Security Letters.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mark2
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 May 2012
Posts: 293
Location: South Carolina

PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2012 1:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

These are the results:

Code:
marktux ~ # emerge -1vp zlib

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild   R    ] sys-libs/zlib-1.2.5.1-r2  USE="-minizip -static-libs" 0 kB

Total: 1 package (1 reinstall), Size of downloads: 0 kB

 * IMPORTANT: 1 news items need reading for repository 'gentoo'.
 * Use eselect news to read news items


Is this telling me to put -minizip and -static-libs in my make.conf? Here is what I have currently:
Code:

# These settings were set by the catalyst build script that automatically
# built this stage.
# Please consult /usr/share/portage/config/make.conf.example for a more
# detailed example.
CFLAGS="-march=athlon64 -O2 -pipe"
CXXFLAGS="${CFLAGS}"
# WARNING: Changing your CHOST is not something that should be done lightly.
# Please consult http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/change-chost.xml before changing.
CHOST="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"
# These are the USE flags that were used in addition to what is provided by the
# profile used for building.
USE="minizip qt3support zlib gtk qt4 kde dvd dvdr alsa cdr firefox ffmpeg gimp
imagemagick ipod lame mpeg nvidia xvmc pdf png truetype win32codecs x264 xine xinerama xml mmx sse sse2 opengl"

ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="x86"

MAKEOPTS="-j3"

GENTOO_MIRRORS="http://www.gtlib.gatech.edu/pub/gentoo"

SYNC="rsync://rsync.us.gentoo.org/gentoo-portage"

VIDEO_CARDS="nvidia"
INPUT_DEVICES="evdev"
USE="-dri -dr2 -nouveau consolekit dbus policykit udev"

EMERGE_DEFAULT_OPTS="--autounmask=n "

_________________
Thanks,
Mark
__________________________________________________________________
"Flying is learning how to throw yourself at the ground and miss." - Douglas Adams
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John R. Graham
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2005
Posts: 10459
Location: Somewhere over Atlanta, Georgia

PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2012 2:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nope. It's telling me that you didn't successfully set the minizip USE flag. The command I had you execute showed us what USE flags that zlib would be built with and if any had changed since it was last built. You'll learn more details from `man emerge` but the "-" next to the USE flags indicate that they're not set for this package and the absence of a "*" next to 'em indicates that the package is currently also built with the same settings.

Thanks for providing the make.conf file; it elicited the eureka moment. Note that the second occurrence of "USE=" in your make.conf file supersedes the first, erasing the contents of the first completely. Many people like to separate out USE flag settings for different purposes on different lines, but you need to explicitly add the contents of the prior lines, using valid Bash syntax. The second (and any potential subsequent) "USE=" lines should be structured like this:
Code:
USE="${USE} -dri -dr2 -nouveau consolekit dbus policykit udev"
That way, all of your USE flag settings will be preserved. :wink:

- John
_________________
I can confirm that I have received between 0 and 499 National Security Letters.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mark2
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 May 2012
Posts: 293
Location: South Carolina

PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2012 2:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

As a glimmer of understanding begins, *smacks forehead with palm*, wish I had caught that. I was reading through USE and didn't see a mention of ${USE} in there, but I vaguely remember seeing it somewhere else. It just didn't sink in and I had no clue I was superseding the first USE statement. I come from a few years of using openSUSE before I decided to take a serious look at Gentoo. So, very little cli experience, but am most willing to learn.

I will jump on this when I get back home this afternoon and tonight. :D Thanks.

Mark
_________________
Thanks,
Mark
__________________________________________________________________
"Flying is learning how to throw yourself at the ground and miss." - Douglas Adams
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wcg
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Jan 2009
Posts: 588

PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2012 5:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
I do not, however, have a package.use directory or file in /etc/portage.


You can create it yourself. I would guess that it is not created when portage
is installed because some systems do not use it, and for those that do use
it, portage does not know beforehand whether the user/administrator
wants package.use to be one file (not many entries for the whole system) or
a directory containing per-category files (find what you are looking for quickly
when searching it).

(As the root user: )
Code:

mkdir /etc/portage/package.use
echo "sys-libs/zlib minizip" >> /etc/portage/package.use/sys-libs


The directory will be created, the sys-libs file within it will be created,
and that file will contain the line telling emerge to use the minizip USE
flag when emerging zlib.
_________________
TIA
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mark2
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 May 2012
Posts: 293
Location: South Carolina

PostPosted: Thu Jun 21, 2012 4:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i have incorporated the ${USE} feature and created the package.use directory, re-emerged zlib accordingly. Now I started emerging kde-meta, which has been running for hours. I will post back with results when it completes. This may very well be a "go".

Thanks,
Mark
_________________
Thanks,
Mark
__________________________________________________________________
"Flying is learning how to throw yourself at the ground and miss." - Douglas Adams
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mark2
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 May 2012
Posts: 293
Location: South Carolina

PostPosted: Thu Jun 21, 2012 10:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

:D Success! I now have a gui! I rebooted and logged in as a normal user, but it came up to a bash prompt and I had to issue startx which then loaded the kde desktop. Major progress for me! Now I guess I'll need to move into another topic to learn how to make it do this automatically. As well as begin the process of installing my favorite applications, but that should be fairly easy.

Thanks to everyone who has patiently helped me along the way. I know I'll have more questions, but for now I can go to work a lot happier. This part can be considered solved, I guess, unless someone has a question or needs any information from me.

~Mark

PS. One amendment: what would I need to do to get the KDE login screen?
_________________
Thanks,
Mark
__________________________________________________________________
"Flying is learning how to throw yourself at the ground and miss." - Douglas Adams
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wcg
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Jan 2009
Posts: 588

PostPosted: Thu Jun 21, 2012 4:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
what would I need to do to get the KDE login screen?


Not a KDE user, so I cannot answer that specifically. Someone may
see the question that is a KDE user, but I suggest making that a
new thread, with a title like "KDE Login Screen?".

Explain that you have KDE installed on a new system, that you can
start it with startx, and you would like to know how to start it
automatically at boot and have the KDE login screen come up.
(There is a good chance that this is straightforward, since many
users run their systems this way.)
_________________
TIA
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ppurka
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 26 Dec 2004
Posts: 3256

PostPosted: Thu Jun 21, 2012 5:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mark2 wrote:

PS. One amendment: what would I need to do to get the KDE login screen?
1. make sure kdm is emerged: emerge --noreplace kdm
2. Set DISPLAYMANAGER="kdm" in /etc/conf.d/xdm
3. Add xdm to default runlevel: rc-update add xdm default
_________________
emerge --quiet redefined | E17 vids: I, II | Now using kde5 | e is unstable :-/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John R. Graham
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2005
Posts: 10459
Location: Somewhere over Atlanta, Georgia

PostPosted: Thu Jun 21, 2012 5:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mark2 wrote:
PS. One amendment: what would I need to do to get the KDE login screen?
It's in the Gentoo KDE Guide. See Make KDE start on boot in that guide. :)

- John
_________________
I can confirm that I have received between 0 and 499 National Security Letters.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mark2
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 May 2012
Posts: 293
Location: South Carolina

PostPosted: Thu Jun 21, 2012 8:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@John & @ ppurka:

That worked, even though I did have the DISPLAYMANAGER set in /etc/conf.d/xdm! Just needed the rc-update part, I guess.

Thank you. Now on to other stuff like installing favorite applications and my home printer.

I tried to find if I could mark this topic Solved, but apparently I do not have the rights? So perhaps someone else can':?:'

~Mark :)
_________________
Thanks,
Mark
__________________________________________________________________
"Flying is learning how to throw yourself at the ground and miss." - Douglas Adams
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John R. Graham
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2005
Posts: 10459
Location: Somewhere over Atlanta, Georgia

PostPosted: Thu Jun 21, 2012 9:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The way you do it is to edit your original post and change the title. You've got rights to do that. :)

- John
_________________
I can confirm that I have received between 0 and 499 National Security Letters.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krinn
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 7447

PostPosted: Thu Jun 21, 2012 10:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

John R. Graham wrote:
The way you do it is to edit your original post and change the title. You've got rights to do that. :)

- John


What the hell ! When i asked you that, you've asked me 15$ to edit my title ! And i'm not counting the extra bucks for the [] surrounding the "solve" word !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John R. Graham
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2005
Posts: 10459
Location: Somewhere over Atlanta, Georgia

PostPosted: Thu Jun 21, 2012 11:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Some people are just special. :wink:

- John
_________________
I can confirm that I have received between 0 and 499 National Security Letters.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7711
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Thu Jun 21, 2012 11:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

$15 !!? Wasn't it just $4.99 a few years ago and no extra fee for brackets? What is it, quantitative easing is finally triggering the inflation or we are just ahead of times? :P
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ppurka
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 26 Dec 2004
Posts: 3256

PostPosted: Fri Jun 22, 2012 2:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jaglover wrote:
$15 !!? Wasn't it just $4.99 a few years ago and no extra fee for brackets? What is it, quantitative easing is finally triggering the inflation or we are just ahead of times? :P
The bandwidth caps are making it prohibitively expensive to run the forums 8O :wink:
_________________
emerge --quiet redefined | E17 vids: I, II | Now using kde5 | e is unstable :-/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mark2
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 May 2012
Posts: 293
Location: South Carolina

PostPosted: Fri Jun 22, 2012 1:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

:) Super. Well that's one out of the way. On to bigger and better things! Wahoo!
_________________
Thanks,
Mark
__________________________________________________________________
"Flying is learning how to throw yourself at the ground and miss." - Douglas Adams
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wcg
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Jan 2009
Posts: 588

PostPosted: Sat Jun 23, 2012 5:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

rc-update is super useful.

Just to get an idea, type (in a text-mode terminal or terminal window)
Code:

rc-update show | less
rc-update show boot


These are init scripts found in /etc/init.d/, configured in /etc/conf.d/.

man rc-update
_________________
TIA
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum