Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] KDE 4.8.3 broken
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
AgBr
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 Nov 2010
Posts: 195

PostPosted: Sat Jun 09, 2012 4:21 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED] KDE 4.8.3 broken Reply with quote

Synced today, emerge world and revdep-rebuild. All went fine except when I try to log into my desktop I get a blank desktop without any icons and lots of defunct plasmoids. Several important tools in the taskbar like the device manager are defunct. The battery monitor complains about some service not started. Starting it is not possible as the system settings are defunct too. Anyone else experiencing this. How can I deinstall kde completely to start with with a clean system?

Last edited by AgBr on Sun Jun 10, 2012 1:32 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 7965
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Sat Jun 09, 2012 6:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

what version of polkit do you have installed? in case of 0.106, downgrade to 0.105 again until it is fixed
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AgBr
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 Nov 2010
Posts: 195

PostPosted: Sat Jun 09, 2012 7:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

genstorm wrote:
what version of polkit do you have installed? in case of 0.106, downgrade to 0.105 again until it is fixed


It's 0.104.
I found out how to deinstall KDE completely myself (it's in a wiki about installing kde). I's running right now. I want to make a clean install.
Seems to take some time, so meanwhile I have time to think about installing Xfce as my T43 isn't optimal for KDE anyway. There are some applications I would miss like kile. Does anyone know how to install such things without pulling in the whole other stuff again? If I install KDE again I would at least like to omit the semantic desktop as this nepomuk, akonadi, soprano whatever bunch had been troublemakers in the past without me really appreciating the benefits it might have.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Doctor
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Jul 2010
Posts: 2630

PostPosted: Sat Jun 09, 2012 8:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
If I install KDE again I would at least like to omit the semantic desktop as this nepomuk, akonadi,...

Thats as simple as USE=-semantic-desktop
_________________
First things first, but not necessarily in that order.

Apologies if I take a while to respond. I'm currently working on the dematerialization circuit for my blue box.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AgBr
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 Nov 2010
Posts: 195

PostPosted: Sat Jun 09, 2012 8:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

penguin swordmaster wrote:
Quote:
If I install KDE again I would at least like to omit the semantic desktop as this nepomuk, akonadi,...

Thats as simple as USE=-semantic-desktop

Is kdelibs the only place where this is needed?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 7965
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Sat Jun 09, 2012 8:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Put it into make.conf
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AgBr
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 Nov 2010
Posts: 195

PostPosted: Sat Jun 09, 2012 11:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

genstorm wrote:
Put it into make.conf


done that.
Besides demanding the unmasking of several 4.8.80 ebuilds, at least one of the meta ebuilds pulls kdepimlibs which is demanding semantic-desktop
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Doctor
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Jul 2010
Posts: 2630

PostPosted: Sun Jun 10, 2012 12:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

if you don't use kmail then you should be safe in the short term to emerge -C the offending packages and then use emerge -uND world to fix any damage latter. Don't forget to use emerge -c to clean up the outdated packages or they will throw a fit. I did the transition a while ago and some bumps are expected.

If you use kmail (and some others I don't know) you can't unset the flag.
_________________
First things first, but not necessarily in that order.

Apologies if I take a while to respond. I'm currently working on the dematerialization circuit for my blue box.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
baaann
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Jan 2006
Posts: 552
Location: uk

PostPosted: Sun Jun 10, 2012 7:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

AgBr wrote:
genstorm wrote:
Put it into make.conf


done that.
Besides demanding the unmasking of several 4.8.80 ebuilds, at least one of the meta ebuilds pulls kdepimlibs which is demanding semantic-desktop


Are you using overlays?

AgBr wrote:
Seems to take some time, so meanwhile I have time to think about installing Xfce as my T43 isn't optimal for KDE anyway.


maybe it is worth looking at Razor-QT?

https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-913958-highlight-razor.html

Haven't tried it myself as yet, but sounds interesting for light installs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AgBr
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 Nov 2010
Posts: 195

PostPosted: Sun Jun 10, 2012 9:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

baaann wrote:
AgBr wrote:
genstorm wrote:
Put it into make.conf


done that.
Besides demanding the unmasking of several 4.8.80 ebuilds, at least one of the meta ebuilds pulls kdepimlibs which is demanding semantic-desktop


Are you using overlays?
As you ask, I have the kde overlay installed. My system is derived from another one so I never thought about that. Is plain vanilla kde in the base system? Maybe I should deinstall it.
Quote:


AgBr wrote:
Seems to take some time, so meanwhile I have time to think about installing Xfce as my T43 isn't optimal for KDE anyway.


maybe it is worth looking at Razor-QT?

https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-913958-highlight-razor.html

Haven't tried it myself as yet, but sounds interesting for light installs.


Looks interesting, but I think it's too much of a bleeding edge kind of thing for my needs
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
baaann
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Jan 2006
Posts: 552
Location: uk

PostPosted: Sun Jun 10, 2012 12:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The 4.8.80 ebuilds will be from the overlay and since you don't need bleeding edge then I would remove the overlay and
Code:
emerge --depclean -p

to ensure that related dependencies are removed and
Code:
revdep-rebuild -p

to see if any reverse dependencies need rebuilding

If you don't already use it I would recommend using eix
http://eix.berlios.de/
for reviewing available/installed packages, as it will also display packages from installed overlays and advise which they are from
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AgBr
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 Nov 2010
Posts: 195

PostPosted: Sun Jun 10, 2012 1:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

baaann wrote:
The 4.8.80 ebuilds will be from the overlay and since you don't need bleeding edge then I would remove the overlay and
Code:
emerge --depclean -p

to ensure that related dependencies are removed and
Code:
revdep-rebuild -p

to see if any reverse dependencies need rebuilding

If you don't already use it I would recommend using eix
http://eix.berlios.de/
for reviewing available/installed packages, as it will also display packages from installed overlays and advise which they are from

It was sufficient to just deinstall the overlay. There were some other minor glitches but now the install is running so far. I just have to wait and see now.
The kdewebdev-meta had a need for semantic-desktop for some reason. I have omitted it and will deal with that later. Meanwhile I will mark this thread solved. Thank you all.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum