Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Gentoo Package Repository now using Git
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
a3li
Developer
Developer


Joined: 02 Sep 2008
Posts: 122
Location: 독일

PostPosted: Wed Aug 12, 2015 6:28 am    Post subject: Gentoo Package Repository now using Git Reply with quote

This thread is for the discussion of the Git migration as announced. Post your comments here.
_________________
I am Confuism. Do not bother me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
steveL
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 13 Sep 2006
Posts: 4520
Location: The Peanut Gallery

PostPosted: Wed Aug 12, 2015 7:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yay! Finally! :-)

Well done to all involved, especially robbat for the manifest-signing work, patrick for pushing it forward, and ofc infra (sine qua non;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Perfect Gentleman
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 May 2014
Posts: 471

PostPosted: Wed Aug 12, 2015 8:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

what is the right url,
Code:
sync-uri = git://anongit.gentoo.org/repo/gentoo.git
?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Yamakuzure
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Jun 2006
Posts: 1900
Location: Bardowick, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Aug 12, 2015 8:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Perfect Gentleman wrote:
what is the right url,
Code:
sync-uri = git://anongit.gentoo.org/repo/gentoo.git
?
You should read the link provided above:
https://www.gentoo.org/news/2015/08/12/git-migration.html wrote:
For users of our package repository, nothing changes: Updates continue to be available via the established mechanisms (rsync, webrsync, snapshots). Options to fetch the package tree via Git are to be announced later.

_________________
systemd - The biggest fallacies
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Perfect Gentleman
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 May 2014
Posts: 471

PostPosted: Wed Aug 12, 2015 8:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yamakuzure,
I've been using the url mentioned above for 2 two on 2 PCs, and everything is alright.
I just wanna know if it is right url or not.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
trippels
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 24 Nov 2010
Posts: 105
Location: Berlin

PostPosted: Wed Aug 12, 2015 11:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

sync-uri = git://git.gentoo.org/repo/gentoo.git
also works for me.

What is the recommended /etc/eixrc/eixrc setting for git?
CACHE_METHOD="/portage/ parse|ebuild*#metadata-md5#metadata-assign#assign" ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xaviermiller
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 23 Jul 2004
Posts: 6655
Location: ~Brussels - Belgique

PostPosted: Wed Aug 12, 2015 6:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
# emerge --sync
>>> Syncing repository 'gentoo' into '/usr/portage'...
/usr/bin/git clone --depth 1 git://anongit.gentoo.org/repo/gentoo.git .
fatal: destination path '.' already exists and is not an empty directory.
!!! git clone error in /usr/portage
q: Updating ebuild cache ...
q: Finished 37171 entries in 0.113616 seconds


What did I wrong?

/etc/portage/repos.conf/gentoo.conf:
[DEFAULT]
main-repo = gentoo

[gentoo]
location = /usr/portage
sync-type = git
sync-uri = git://anongit.gentoo.org/repo/gentoo.git
auto-sync = yes
sync-depth = 1


EDIT: fixed : I didn't cleaned up that repository, which was in "rsync" mode.
_________________
Kind regards,
Xavier Miller


Last edited by xaviermiller on Wed Aug 12, 2015 7:18 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
genoobish
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Feb 2015
Posts: 70

PostPosted: Wed Aug 12, 2015 7:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

amazing!
very thanks


edit:
I'm also getting that error described above after syncing once. I don't know how to use git so idk but it must be some parameter that's preventing it to sync to a non empty directory...? :?

edit2:
from their man page
Code:

 git-clone(1)
           Clone a repository into a new directory.
git-pull(1)
           Fetch from and integrate with another repository or a local branch.

so it seems it's executing `git clone` when it should be `git pull`or something else?


Last edited by genoobish on Wed Aug 12, 2015 7:33 pm; edited 4 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 3783
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed Aug 12, 2015 7:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for that.

How will we switch over from webrsync-gpg? I'm already using a few git overlays with properly signed commits, so even if the main tree isn't ready for that I could still benefit from knowing how to secure those.
_________________
Quantity is not quality.
overlay | runit-scripts
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xaviermiller
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 23 Jul 2004
Posts: 6655
Location: ~Brussels - Belgique

PostPosted: Wed Aug 12, 2015 8:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

genoobish,

To migrate from a rsync'ed repository to git, just remove it before the sync :
Code:
cd /usr/portage && rm -rf * .gitignore
cd
emerge --sync

_________________
Kind regards,
Xavier Miller
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
genoobish
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Feb 2015
Posts: 70

PostPosted: Wed Aug 12, 2015 8:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

xaviermiller wrote:
genoobish,

To migrate from a rsync'ed repository to git, just remove it before the sync :
Code:
cd /usr/portage && rm -rf * .gitignore
cd
emerge --sync

edit: the .gitignore is what I missed the first time it seems. works fine now.

edit2: but now there's this:

Code:

$ eix-update
Reading Portage settings ..
Building database (/var/cache/eix/portage.eix) ..
[0] 'gentoo' /usr/portage/ (cache: metadata-md5-or-flat)
     Reading category 161|161 (100%) EMPTY!

it syncs ok, but the database turns out empty. too early maybe?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ak47wj
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Oct 2010
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu Aug 13, 2015 1:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

genoobish wrote:


edit2: but now there's this:

Code:

$ eix-update
Reading Portage settings ..
Building database (/var/cache/eix/portage.eix) ..
[0] 'gentoo' /usr/portage/ (cache: metadata-md5-or-flat)
     Reading category 161|161 (100%) EMPTY!

it syncs ok, but the database turns out empty. too early maybe?


CACHE_METHOD="/usr/portage/ parse|ebuild*" eix-update
works for me, but it's extremely slow.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ct85711
l33t
l33t


Joined: 27 Sep 2005
Posts: 964

PostPosted: Thu Aug 13, 2015 1:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

if I recall correctly, when I originally setup my system to pull from git, I had to remove the old rsync repository (delete everything out of /usr/portage) and while in the /usr/portage, I did git-clone to establish a copy of the git version of the tree; afterwards, it works fine doing regular syncing.

Note: When I set my system up to sync via git, it was before gentoo did this transition, so I was syncing through their testing tree. That in mind, what I needed to do may not be necessary. I also remember, I did need to make a .gitignore file in /usr/portage, to have it exclude the distfiles folder.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
genoobish
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Feb 2015
Posts: 70

PostPosted: Thu Aug 13, 2015 1:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ak47wj wrote:



CACHE_METHOD="/usr/portage/ parse|ebuild*" eix-update
works for me, but it's extremely slow.

works now, and it seems faster than eupdatedb, so it`s fine for me. thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
trippels
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 24 Nov 2010
Posts: 105
Location: Berlin

PostPosted: Thu Aug 13, 2015 2:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
emerge --jobs 4 --regen

speeds up eix-update.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
x17324
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Oct 2013
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Thu Aug 13, 2015 2:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

sync-uri = git://anongit.gentoo.org/repo/gentoo.git also works for me :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
x17324
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Oct 2013
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Thu Aug 13, 2015 6:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

trippels wrote:
Code:
emerge --jobs 4 --regen

speeds up eix-update.



I have ran this command ,and my eix can not include /usr/portage into it's database, so please tell me how to resume this operating?


and this is my error

eix-update
Reading Portage settings ..
Building database (/var/cache/eix/portage.eix) ..
[0] 'gentoo' /usr/portage/ (cache: metadata-md5-or-flat)
Reading category 170|170 (100%) EMPTY!

it says EMPTY! ,and I cant use eix anymore;
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
trippels
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 24 Nov 2010
Posts: 105
Location: Berlin

PostPosted: Thu Aug 13, 2015 7:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

x17324 wrote:
trippels wrote:
Code:
emerge --jobs 4 --regen

speeds up eix-update.



I have ran this command ,and my eix can not include /usr/portage into it's database, so please tell me how to resume this operating?


and this is my error

eix-update
Reading Portage settings ..
Building database (/var/cache/eix/portage.eix) ..
[0] 'gentoo' /usr/portage/ (cache: metadata-md5-or-flat)
Reading category 170|170 (100%) EMPTY!

it says EMPTY! ,and I cant use eix anymore;


Like I wrote above you need to add something like:
Code:
CACHE_METHOD="/usr/portage/ parse|ebuild*"

in your /etc/eixrc/eixrc .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Perfect Gentleman
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 May 2014
Posts: 471

PostPosted: Thu Aug 13, 2015 7:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

FEATURES="metadata-transfer" is much better
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
steveL
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 13 Sep 2006
Posts: 4520
Location: The Peanut Gallery

PostPosted: Thu Aug 13, 2015 11:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Perfect Gentleman wrote:
FEATURES="metadata-transfer" is much better

*groan* it took years to get that turned off by default.

You're right though, it's better in the main, but I think at some point soon the rsync metadata cache should be sorted out.
Just bear in mind to switch back when that happens if you're a standard rsync user.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hasufell
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 29 Oct 2011
Posts: 429

PostPosted: Thu Aug 13, 2015 11:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm cross-posting this here, because it is relevant to the git migration for users: https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-p-7797610.html#7797610
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Logicien
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 16 Sep 2005
Posts: 1225
Location: Montréal

PostPosted: Thu Aug 13, 2015 7:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

One more step to the identity with Funtoo. I don't need the precompiled kernels and the 'super bootloader' of Funtoo. The network configuration way of Funtoo is interesting, but I can compose as well with the Gentoo way.
_________________
Paul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Yamakuzure
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Jun 2006
Posts: 1900
Location: Bardowick, Germany

PostPosted: Fri Aug 14, 2015 9:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hasufell wrote:
I'm cross-posting this here, because it is relevant to the git migration for users: https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-p-7797610.html#7797610
Unfortunately the usage of github you advise there does not work? I always get
Code:
Permission denied (publickey).
fatal: Could not read from remote repository.

Please make sure you have the correct access rights
and the repository exists.

_________________
systemd - The biggest fallacies
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
freke
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Jan 2003
Posts: 278

PostPosted: Fri Aug 14, 2015 10:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yamakuzure wrote:
hasufell wrote:
I'm cross-posting this here, because it is relevant to the git migration for users: https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-p-7797610.html#7797610
Unfortunately the usage of github you advise there does not work? I always get
Code:
Permission denied (publickey).
fatal: Could not read from remote repository.

Please make sure you have the correct access rights
and the repository exists.


using
Code:
sync-uri = https://anongit.gentoo.org/git/repo/gentoo.git
seems to work for me.

Another thing though; GLSAs?

They're in/should be in metadata/glsa - right? but metadata is not synced via git?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hasufell
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 29 Oct 2011
Posts: 429

PostPosted: Fri Aug 14, 2015 11:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

freke wrote:
Another thing though; GLSAs?

you can clone them directly into metadata, see https://gitweb.gentoo.org/data/glsa.git/

I wonder if we should make that a real submodule for the gentoo git repo.

same goes for news:
https://gitweb.gentoo.org/proj/gentoo-news.git/tree/
but the news repo currently has a broken format (you have to move the contents out of every subdir)... but there is already a GLSA update prepared to change that
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Page 1 of 5

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum