Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Gnome: no task bar, no contestual menu [solved]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mrl4n
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Apr 2009
Posts: 674

PostPosted: Sat Apr 21, 2012 6:31 pm    Post subject: Gnome: no task bar, no contestual menu [solved] Reply with quote

Hi, today I've signed up on my gentoo whit gnome 2.32 and the task bar appear only in the english language; in italian there're no bar and no contestual menu.
I don't want to remove the .config folder and re-setting all again...
I've a chance? how?

Thanks in advance.


Last edited by mrl4n on Tue May 01, 2012 12:44 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 6347
Location: /usr/lib64/lv2

PostPosted: Sun Apr 22, 2012 3:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I haven't used Gnome for a long time, but what I do remember is that sometimes deleting the .config dir was the only way to solve certain problems. This is true sometimes for programs that have nothing to do with Gnome. :roll:

Obviously, don't delete the entire .config folder, just the .gnome(2) or sometimes even the .gconf stuff.

Instead using rm, cp the dir to something else, such as .gnome_bak, then re-login. That way, you can open .gnome_bak and copy back settings you want to keep.
_________________
Gentoo Studio: A Gentoo-based, professional digital audio workstation OS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mrl4n
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Apr 2009
Posts: 674

PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2012 11:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've deleted all the .config and .gconf folder and reboot...nothing, the gnome panel don't appear again.
I've re-setting the UTF-8 correct for all the system, but nothing changed.
It's very strange: if I launch
Code:
killall gnome-panel
the desktop bar appear and all seems work right. :roll: :?: :roll:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 6347
Location: /usr/lib64/lv2

PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2012 2:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I wonder if you have an extra instance of gnome-panel in Gnome's startup programs. Try deleting it from there...
_________________
Gentoo Studio: A Gentoo-based, professional digital audio workstation OS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mrl4n
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Apr 2009
Posts: 674

PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2012 2:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, but I just check; it's incredible, I know, but I don't have one.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 6347
Location: /usr/lib64/lv2

PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2012 2:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hm, time for creative solutions...

Try syncing and running emerge -vuDN world. Maybe one or more updates might fix something. Gnome's funny that way.
_________________
Gentoo Studio: A Gentoo-based, professional digital audio workstation OS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mrl4n
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Apr 2009
Posts: 674

PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2012 2:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's fantastic...
Code:
# emerge -vuDN world

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies... done!

Total: 0 packages, Size of downloads: 0 kB

>>> Auto-cleaning packages...

>>> No outdated packages were found on your system.
:? :roll: :cry:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Arkhelion
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 Sep 2010
Posts: 151
Location: France

PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2012 2:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can check in .gnomerc_errors if there's anything there.

Also check your logs for gnome-settings-daemon (and try to check if it crashed when the session opened).

If you happen to find any error(s) that could be tracked down to a solution.
_________________
Arkhelion
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mrl4n
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Apr 2009
Posts: 674

PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2012 3:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Unfortunately, I haven't the .gnomerc_errors file and in the log for gnome-setting-daemon aren't present messages.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Arkhelion
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 Sep 2010
Posts: 151
Location: France

PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2012 4:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

err... gnome-settings-daemon should give a little verbosity in your logfiles _if it's launched_, and gnome won't work well without gnome-settings-daemon. Check if it's running, and double check your logfiles (/var/log/messages) for any gnome-settings-daemon output (if you grep, don't forget the 's' in settings).

As for .gnomerc_errors, it should be in your homedir, if there aren't any, that would mean gnome didn't encounter any error, so the issue could be before gnome even tries to launch anything.

I'm sorry I don't give you precise directions, bue that seems such a long time to me since I went for gnome-3 (and I had so many problems since I can't even remember gnome-2.32 issues).
_________________
Arkhelion
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mrl4n
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Apr 2009
Posts: 674

PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2012 4:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Arkhelion wrote:
I'm sorry I don't give you precise directions, bue that seems such a long time to me since I went for gnome-3 (and I had so many problems since I can't even remember gnome-2.32 issues).


No problem, thanks for your help...

In the log I read only this

Code:
Apr 25 18:14:29 web&hardware dbus[17010]: [system] Rejected send message, 2 matched rules; type="method_call", sender=":1.156" (uid=1002 pid=17290 comm="nautilus ") interface="org.freedesktop.DBus.Properties" member="GetAll" error name$
Apr 25 18:20:27 web&hardware dbus[17010]: [system] Activating service name='org.gnome.SettingsDaemon.DateTimeMechanism' (using servicehelper)
Apr 25 18:20:27 web&hardware dbus[17010]: [system] Successfully activated service 'org.gnome.SettingsDaemon.DateTimeMechanism'


but don't help me...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 6347
Location: /usr/lib64/lv2

PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2012 1:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mrl4n wrote:
It's fantastic...
Code:
# emerge -vuDN world

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies... done!

Total: 0 packages, Size of downloads: 0 kB

>>> Auto-cleaning packages...

>>> No outdated packages were found on your system.
:? :roll: :cry:


Did you run emerge --sync first? If you did, there is NO way you will get that output unless there is something seriously wrong with your system.
_________________
Gentoo Studio: A Gentoo-based, professional digital audio workstation OS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mrl4n
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Apr 2009
Posts: 674

PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2012 6:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes....I've launched emerge --sync first...:roll: :roll: :roll:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 6347
Location: /usr/lib64/lv2

PostPosted: Fri Apr 27, 2012 2:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

And you can see the portage packages being updated while it's syncing? If you update and then immediately try to update again, you might get a "nothing to do" condition, but definitely, after waiting 24 hours, 48 at the most, something should say "we have an update for that". If not, that would cause me to rebuild my system from scratch, although I'm sure there are better hackers than I here who would know how to fix it without having to start from zero.
_________________
Gentoo Studio: A Gentoo-based, professional digital audio workstation OS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Arkhelion
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 Sep 2010
Posts: 151
Location: France

PostPosted: Fri Apr 27, 2012 4:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

audiodef wrote:
Did you run emerge --sync first? If you did, there is NO way you will get that output unless there is something seriously wrong with your system.


I don't get it, it's the standard portage output when there's nothing to do.
_________________
Arkhelion
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mrl4n
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Apr 2009
Posts: 674

PostPosted: Fri Apr 27, 2012 6:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

audiodef wrote:
And you can see the portage packages being updated while it's syncing? If you update and then immediately try to update again, you might get a "nothing to do" condition, but definitely, after waiting 24 hours, 48 at the most, something should say "we have an update for that".


Normally, I launch
Code:
eix-sync && emerge -NDuav world
one time a day; the last update is finished about 20 minutes ago.

audiodef wrote:
If not, that would cause me to rebuild my system from scratch, although I'm sure there are better hackers than I here who would know how to fix it without having to start from zero.


I hope this, because I'm don't know what I must do again...

...I'm trying to create another user...

With a new user all seems works fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum