Wireless usb adapter Dlink (aka ralink) wont connect
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
theamazingplant2
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Thu Apr 12, 2012 11:10 am    Post subject: Wireless usb adapter Dlink (aka ralink) wont connect Reply with quote

I have an Dlink wireless adapter, and it will not connect to the my local network. it is a dlink DWA 140, and i am new to gentoo, so i may not be quite as good as you guys with some of the things that i may have to do.
well, here is my story:
I started using gentoo about 3 days ago. i have had quite a few mess ups on the compiling of it since then. however, this time, i am quite sure that i compiled the kernel with the support for ALL of the Ralink wireless usb adapters.
anyway, if i run iwconfig it now sees it as wlan0. if i do iwlist wlan0 scan, it will show networks. the problem(s) are that i am not able to connect to any of these from the command line, and that the gui (wpa_supplicant, as i use wpa ) does not even see wlan0 as being there. so, what am i doing wrong, and what do i need to install? i have lubuntu on a different partition, and i can install some things as needed by chrooting into gentoo. so, any suggestions? i love gentoo so far and it is definitely a distro that i am sticking with, so long as i can get my internet.
Arkhelion
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Thu Apr 12, 2012 12:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

First of all, welcome to Gentoo Linux!

Then about your issue.

Did you check on that page?

According to this page, you need these kernel options (don't forget the last one)
Code:
Device Drivers --->
    [*] Network device support --->
         [*] Wireless LAN  --->
             <*> Ralink driver support  --->
                <*> Ralink rt27xx/rt28xx/rt30xx (USB) support
                [*] rt2800usb - Include support for unknown (USB) devices

And you need to: