View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
sterlingm
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2012 3:24 pm    Post subject: "Could not find the root block device in ." Reply with quote

Hi, I am trying to install Gentoo and am stuck. First of all, I should say that this is the first time I have ever manually installed an OS. Its taken me about 4 attempts of starting over to get to this point. I hope my questions are not redundant or too "noob". I am very new to this so please be explicit as possible when answering.

I have gotten to the reboot part, but when I boot into Gentoo, it tells me

"!!Block device 801 is not a valid root device...
!!Could not find the root block device in .
Please specify another value or: Press Enter for the same, type "shell" for a shell, or q to skip..."

And then it prompts me with "root block device() ::"

What does this mean? Do I have to start over or is there a way I can just fix it? I could never get grub installed (another issue in itself because I've used grub when I had ubuntu and debian so why wouldn't it work? :( ), so I just used lilo. Could that be the issue?

I felt very uncertain when I was messing around all of the conf files, so my guess is the problem is in there - but where? What do I check for? How do I know I am using the correct values?

Any help is much appreciated.
avx
Advocate
Advocate

PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2012 5:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If it can't find a root device, that usually means of these things:
a) you did not built support for your mainboard controller into the kernel, ie. it must be built in, not as a module
b) same as a), except for the filesystem you are using for /
c) specified a wrong device in the boot loader

As for GRUB, it seems to be working, at least I wouldn't know what else would offer to drop to a shell this early in the boot process.