View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
GSnake
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Mon Sep 10, 2012 7:21 pm    Post subject: X can't start Reply with quote

Hello guys! This is my first time trying to install Gentoo and I totally fell in love with the distro. BUT there are a lot of things that I don't understand since I'm kinda new in the Linux environment.
I've installed Gentoo, configured the bootloader and so on... SUCCESS! I started downloading XFCE and X but I cannot make them start. I think that I configured my Kernel in the right way but the log says that X can't find the i915 module and that there are no screens.
I tried to mod the conf files but I can't find them in the standard paths.
I've got the HP Probook 4530s with hybrid graphics.

Thank you guys!
avx
Advocate
Advocate

PostPosted: Mon Sep 10, 2012 8:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi & welcome to the forums :)

You did setup/emerge the correct drivers? For the Intel part, that would be x11-drivers/xf86-video-intel, for the other part of the hybrid, nvidia-drivers/xf86-video-nouveau or the ati-drivers/xf86-video-ati would be needed, depending on your hardware.

Can you tell, which graphicscard is active by default? Are all needed modules built and loaded?
GSnake
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Mon Sep 10, 2012 9:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks! I've built all the modules but I haven't emerged the Intel ones (i followed the default tutorial) and I've emerged radeon-ucode.
Since I'm a little bit confuse, could you tell me what radeon-ucode is? What's the difference between modules, drivers and firmware?
Thanks again!
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator

PostPosted: Mon Sep 10, 2012 9:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

GSnake,