Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
xf86-video-ati no longer recognizes X300 Radeon GPU [SOLVED]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
dufeu
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Aug 2002
Posts: 734
Location: US-FL-EST

PostPosted: Thu Apr 05, 2012 10:46 pm    Post subject: xf86-video-ati no longer recognizes X300 Radeon GPU [SOLVED] Reply with quote

I'm tentatively assuming that the problem lies with the xf86-video-ati driver but, as I'm not a programmer, I don't know that for a fact.

The problem is that the Radeon X300 (RV370) chip which used to have no problem at all is now no longer being properly recognized. Is there anything I can modify/update on my system or should I be filing a bug with XOrg? I've been very happy with recent graphic performance improvements as my other systems are also Radeon GPU based. I'm reluctant to regress back xorg-server and related just for this one system.

This is the relevant section of the X log trace:
Code:
[   963.177] (II) Loading sub module "vgahw"
[   963.177] (II) LoadModule: "vgahw"
[   963.177] (II) Loading /usr/lib64/xorg/modules/libvgahw.so
[   963.178] (II) Module vgahw: vendor="X.Org Foundation"
[   963.178]    compiled for 1.12.0, module version = 0.1.0
[   963.178]    ABI class: X.Org Video Driver, version 12.0
[   963.178] (II) RADEON(0): vgaHWGetIOBase: hwp->IOBase is 0x03d0
[   963.178] (==) RADEON(0): RGB weight 888
[   963.178] (II) RADEON(0): Using 8 bits per RGB (8 bit DAC)
[   963.178] (--) RADEON(0): Chipset: "ATI Radeon X300 (RV370) 5B60 (PCIE)" (ChipID = 0x5b60)
[   963.178] (--) RADEON(0): Linear framebuffer at 0x00000000d8000000
[   963.178] (II) RADEON(0): PCIE card detected
[   963.178] (II) Loading sub module "int10"
[   963.178] (II) LoadModule: "int10"
[   963.178] (II) Loading /usr/lib64/xorg/modules/libint10.so
[   963.178] (II) Module int10: vendor="X.Org Foundation"
[   963.178]    compiled for 1.12.0, module version = 1.0.0
[   963.178]    ABI class: X.Org Video Driver, version 12.0
[   963.178] (II) RADEON(0): initializing int10
[   963.181] (II) RADEON(0): Primary V_BIOS segment is: 0xc000
[   963.182] (II) RADEON(0): Legacy BIOS detected
[   963.182] drmOpenDevice: node name is /dev/dri/card0
[   963.182] drmOpenDevice: open result is 11, (OK)
[   963.182] drmOpenByBusid: Searching for BusID pci:0000:04:00.0
[   963.182] drmOpenDevice: node name is /dev/dri/card0
[   963.182] drmOpenDevice: open result is 11, (OK)
[   963.182] drmOpenByBusid: drmOpenMinor returns 11
[   963.182] drmOpenByBusid: drmGetBusid reports pci:0000:04:00.0
[   963.182] (EE) RADEON(0): [dri] RADEONDRIGetVersion failed because of a version mismatch.
[dri] This chipset requires a kernel module version of 1.17.0,
[dri] but the kernel reports a version of 2.13.0.[dri] Make sure your module is loaded prior to starting X, and
[dri] that this driver was built with support for KMS.
[dri] Aborting.
[   963.183] (II) UnloadModule: "radeon"
[   963.183] (II) UnloadSubModule: "int10"
[   963.183] (II) Unloading int10
[   963.183] (II) UnloadSubModule: "vgahw"
[   963.183] (II) Unloading vgahw
[   963.183] (EE) Screen(s) found, but none have a usable configuration.

Earlier in the log where the chipsets recognized by the XOrg ATI driver are listed, the RV370 GPU chip _is_ listed:
Code:
[   963.163] (II) Module radeon: vendor="X.Org Foundation"
[   963.163]    compiled for 1.12.0, module version = 6.14.4
[   963.163]    Module class: X.Org Video Driver
[   963.163]    ABI class: X.Org Video Driver, version 12.0
[   963.163] (II) RADEON: Driver for ATI Radeon chipsets:
...
        ATI Radeon XPRESS 200M 5A62 (PCIE),
        ATI Radeon X300 (RV370) 5B60 (PCIE),     <== my chip
        ATI Radeon X600 (RV370) 5B62 (PCIE),
        ATI Radeon X550 (RV370) 5B63 (PCIE),
...

Also, I don't understand the advice given in the 'dri' error message. If someone could explain that, I would appreciate it.

Any guidance on how I should handle this would be appreciated. Thanks!

This isn't personally critical because it's the house server. I don't have any issue using it in CLI mode for basic admin as I usually 'ssh' in anyway. However, my mother doesn't deal well with CLI so I'd like to get this resolved if/before I need to travel.
_________________
People whom think M$ is mediocre, don't know the half of it.


Last edited by dufeu on Thu Apr 05, 2012 11:15 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gorkypl
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Oct 2010
Posts: 442
Location: Kraków, PL

PostPosted: Thu Apr 05, 2012 11:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dufeu wrote:
I'm tentatively assuming that the problem lies with the xf86-video-ati driver but, as I'm not a programmer, I don't know that for a fact.

The problem lies somehwere else, in the kernel specifically :) Just recompile the kernel with CONFIG_DRM_RADEON_KMS=y
_________________
BTW, TWM FTW!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dufeu
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Aug 2002
Posts: 734
Location: US-FL-EST

PostPosted: Thu Apr 05, 2012 11:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gorkypl wrote:
dufeu wrote:
I'm tentatively assuming that the problem lies with the xf86-video-ati driver but, as I'm not a programmer, I don't know that for a fact.

The problem lies somehwere else, in the kernel specifically :) Just recompile the kernel with CONFIG_DRM_RADEON_KMS=y

Actually - I've located the problem and am preparing the fix now. The problem is libdrm_radeon.so was compiled out of order with radeon.drv.so due to an incorrect upgrade procedure. This resulted in losing the KMS support.

I'll write this up further later tonight with relevant links and examples. I have to wait until I can reboot the server.
_________________
People whom think M$ is mediocre, don't know the half of it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 4560
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Thu Apr 05, 2012 11:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If your kernel is OK why reboot?
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Predatux
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Aug 2012
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Tue Aug 14, 2012 7:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dufeu wrote:
gorkypl wrote:
dufeu wrote:
I'm tentatively assuming that the problem lies with the xf86-video-ati driver but, as I'm not a programmer, I don't know that for a fact.

The problem lies somehwere else, in the kernel specifically :) Just recompile the kernel with CONFIG_DRM_RADEON_KMS=y

Actually - I've located the problem and am preparing the fix now. The problem is libdrm_radeon.so was compiled out of order with radeon.drv.so due to an incorrect upgrade procedure. This resulted in losing the KMS support.

I'll write this up further later tonight with relevant links and examples. I have to wait until I can reboot the server.



Hello, I have the ATI RV370 (Radeon X550) and after updating the system, the X does not start.
Right now I'm using the 3.5.0 kernel in Sabayon 64 bit.
You say you know how to solve the problem ... Could you tell me the steps to fix it?
Thanks in advance
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chithanh
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 1562
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Aug 15, 2012 12:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The problem was (in Xorg.0.log)
Code:
[dri] This chipset requires a kernel module version of 1.17.0,
[dri] but the kernel reports a version of 2.13.0.
And the solution was to recompile xf86-video-ati with dri2 support.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Predatux
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Aug 2012
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Wed Aug 15, 2012 11:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, i found another one solution, thats works for me.

Step 1: Get rid of ATI drivers
equo remove ati-drivers

Step 2: Let the kernel load the radeon module
Edit /etc/conf.d/modules and add modules=”radeon” at the end of the file

Step 3: Remove some kernel parameters from the grub menu
Edit /etc/default/sabayon-grub and remove the console=tty1 quiet splash= and vga= completely.

Step 4: Add a custom parameter that enables KMS (Kernel Mode Setting)
Edit /etc/default/grub and add radeon.modeset=1 to the GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT variable

Step 5: Regenerate your grub.cfg file:
grub-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg

Step 6: Use “ati” in /etc/X11/xorg.conf
Edit /etc/X11/xorg.conf and change “fglrx” to “ati” in the Driver section of the file
Now reboot.

Optionally you can also play around with the new Gallium3d implementations. To change things to use gallium3d instead of the older mesa you can use the command: eselect mesa list to show how things are currently set.

Found here:
http://joostruis.wordpress.com/2011/01/24/getting-rid-catalyst/

Thanks again.
Regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum