Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
The Razor-Qt Thread
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Anon-E-moose
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 2578
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Tue Mar 25, 2014 12:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

MarcoMarin wrote:
so, anon-e-mous (hey, clever.. :P ) you think it wold make a difference to rm the whole tmp folder? I'm noob, so the hammer I know would really wipe the thing (rm -r tmp/). should I be more subtle? and would that make a difference to emerge at all?


No it won't affect the emerge, as it simply overwrites something if its there. (it's just cleanup to remove stuff left there)


How are you emerging razor-qt (by way of meta)?

If so then add
Code:
razorqt-base/razorqt-meta -lightdm

to /etc/portage/package.use

That will tell it not to emerge lightdm or the greeter.

Edit to add: If the above doesn't clear things up post the output of "grep razor /etc/portage/package*"
and post the output of "emerge --info"
_________________
Asus m5a99fx, FX 8320 - amd64-multilib, 3.15.9-zen, glibc-2.17, gcc-4.7.3-r1, eudev
xorg-server-1.16, openbox w/lxpanel, nouveau, oss4(2011)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MarcoMarin
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 12 Mar 2014
Posts: 135

PostPosted: Tue Mar 25, 2014 12:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i think I've tried that before.. in fact, one of my emerges had -lightdm in the system-wide USE variable, in make.conf. (also, the other thread suggestion had something similar with a <= for the version)


ok, added the line, but how do I proceed before I retry? Is emerge --changed-use --deep @world enough to make it notice the change in the packages.use?

or should I emerge --unmerge razorqt-base/* again?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 2578
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Tue Mar 25, 2014 12:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What does "emerge -pvuDN --with-bdeps y @world" show?

Don't unmerge/depclean anything yet.
Let's see where you are.

Note: the "-p" above won't do anything but just show what it would do.
If it looks ok, then you can do the emerge command without the "p" or change it to "a" and it will ask you instead.

Edit to add: what does "revdep-rebuild -ip" show, as it might be that some things need to be rebuilt that it would take care of.

Edit to add 2: I'm not sure what state things are in. It's never wise to stop something like depclean in the middle of it's working.
Better to re-emerge.
_________________
Asus m5a99fx, FX 8320 - amd64-multilib, 3.15.9-zen, glibc-2.17, gcc-4.7.3-r1, eudev
xorg-server-1.16, openbox w/lxpanel, nouveau, oss4(2011)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MarcoMarin
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 12 Mar 2014
Posts: 135

PostPosted: Tue Mar 25, 2014 12:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

it lists only 3 packages.. app-admin/eselect; sys-apps/ {grep and man pages} (omitting versions, should be the latest, as it says they are for upgrades)..

this is a pretty fresh install... just got internet working there (2 weeks labor trying to wake up my wireless, and still didnt work), after fresh install from minimal cd... first thing after that was openbox, razor and xorg (I believe in that order, if it makes any difference.. maybe the orderly way woould be to get xorg first, lol)

anyway, seems pretty inocuous to me! I'm committing...


PS.: btw, it's getting late in my timezone, I may have to abandon the endeavor for a few hours to recharge batteries. :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MarcoMarin
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 12 Mar 2014
Posts: 135

PostPosted: Tue Mar 25, 2014 1:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

reply to edit2: yep, I regretted that already, but to be frank, I dont think it messed much anymore.. it was in the third package removing, and both the removed ones, and the third it was on, were razorqt stuff, which were re-emerged normally afterwards... my only worry was if emerge accounting was somehow messed up, but I believe my removals accounted for that, emerge developers probably took outages into consideration... doing something like data-base transactions? (listing what step they are in and repeating/reverting in case of outage)

re-emerge is a good idea, but what? I already re-emerged razor-qt many times...

reply to edit1: command not found, should I emerge something for this, or is this an option to emerge?

here is an idea, why don't I try to emerge the DE you are using (lxde, right?), and see if it works (also test my openbox with it, to check everything is alright), then we can analyse better razor, and I'll be able to copy stuff into a browser for you to see more clearly. But let's do it tomorrow (maybe type there what I need to do?), I must pause for a few hours...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 2578
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Tue Mar 25, 2014 9:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can run openbox by itself. It will provide it's own windows, etc.

A simple .xinitrc script, save it as .xinitrc in your home directory
Code:
#!/bin/sh

xrdb -merge ~/.Xresources     # update x resources db

exec xterm &                          # replace with whatever type xterm you have emerged

exec openbox-session             # starts the window manager


I don't know what kind of xterms you have emerged, if you use xterm then what is above will work well enough to start with.
If you use rxvt, or something else, then replace xterm above with that.

Right click on the root window to get to openbox's menu.
_________________
Asus m5a99fx, FX 8320 - amd64-multilib, 3.15.9-zen, glibc-2.17, gcc-4.7.3-r1, eudev
xorg-server-1.16, openbox w/lxpanel, nouveau, oss4(2011)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MarcoMarin
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 12 Mar 2014
Posts: 135

PostPosted: Tue Mar 25, 2014 10:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Worked flawlessly! :D

Thanks! Anon-e-Moose.

If only I could do the same to razor... I really liked the philosophy of starting bare and adding only the stuff one needs, quite gentoo like, right? :-) How is lxde in that regard?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 2578
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Tue Mar 25, 2014 10:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

lxde is kind of like razor except using gtk+2 for it's toolkit.

But they are in the process of porting their stuff to qt and merging with razor-qt,
rather than try and port to gtk+3.

Now you need to find out why razor isn't working.

What does the qlist command I mentioned before show?

Edit to add: both razor-qt and lxde use openbox by default.
_________________
Asus m5a99fx, FX 8320 - amd64-multilib, 3.15.9-zen, glibc-2.17, gcc-4.7.3-r1, eudev
xorg-server-1.16, openbox w/lxpanel, nouveau, oss4(2011)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MarcoMarin
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 12 Mar 2014
Posts: 135

PostPosted: Tue Mar 25, 2014 10:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It shows 15 packages. It would be nice if I could just copy and paste for you, maybe I'll emerge lxde next... so they're really merging, heh? Didn't read the blog you posted yet...

all packages are in razorqt-base/ and all except libqtxdg has a razorqt- prefix, they are in order:

appswitcher, autosuspend*, config, data, desktop, kbshortcuts, libs, notifications, openssh-askpass, panel, policykit*, power, runner, session.

marked with * are the ones removed by depclean, which were re-emerged many times later.

brb...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 2578
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Tue Mar 25, 2014 10:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What happens when you try and depclean those packages, that are marked with "*" ?

and what does "ls /var/db/pkg/razorqt-base" show.

Is the list of directories there the same as the pkgs that qlist shows

Edit to add: How did you emerge razorqt, with "emerge -v razorqt-meta" ?
If so, what does "emerge -pv razorqt-meta" show?
_________________
Asus m5a99fx, FX 8320 - amd64-multilib, 3.15.9-zen, glibc-2.17, gcc-4.7.3-r1, eudev
xorg-server-1.16, openbox w/lxpanel, nouveau, oss4(2011)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MarcoMarin
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 12 Mar 2014
Posts: 135

PostPosted: Tue Mar 25, 2014 11:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes, they are the same.

-pv shows the meta package, but funny (dunno, am new to this) it says 'N' (1 new).. wasn't this supposed to mean it was not installed? it also shows the USE variables = policykit (in red) and -doc -lighdm (both in blue)

gonna try depclean now...
edit to add results: it cleans normally, and then it both vanishes from the ls command, and are added to the emerge -v command on the meta package... as expected.

I dont remember if those 2 were the ones removed or one of them was the one interrupted, nor the 3rd one, im not certain... but I think when I unmerged the whole razorqt-base it vanished with everything, and re-emerged everything normally later...

WHAT DA... 8O
just tried startrazor.. and it responded! :o maybe they are listening to this thread 8)

now, are we ever going to be able to figure out what was wrong? lol were these last commands of depclean that fixed it? :roll:


Last edited by MarcoMarin on Tue Mar 25, 2014 12:14 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MarcoMarin
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 12 Mar 2014
Posts: 135

PostPosted: Tue Mar 25, 2014 11:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

should I try re-emerging the depcleaned packs, just to see if it breaks again? :twisted:

edit2 to add: just did it, re-emerged both, (one at a time, while testing startx), and all worked! Maybe it just needed a good night sleep (now, I know what you thinking, and no, I was doing env-update and source /etc/profile quite often.. but granted, I may have forgotten a couple times, but I believe the most important times I did them).

...Curious, it is complaining about a polkit (policykit* hmm...) of gnome (hey, I made sure my USE had -gnome, get this thing out of my system! :evil: :lol: )... something about Error Getting authority... when I leave X. (both before and after emerging policykit)

edit to add: btw, Xresource command is apparently useless here, it complains it can't find it... i just commented it out now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 2578
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Tue Mar 25, 2014 12:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The meta package has policykit as a use flag which installs polkit.

As long as it's working, you can tinker with it.

If you don't have ~/.Xresources, then you don't need that line.
_________________
Asus m5a99fx, FX 8320 - amd64-multilib, 3.15.9-zen, glibc-2.17, gcc-4.7.3-r1, eudev
xorg-server-1.16, openbox w/lxpanel, nouveau, oss4(2011)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MarcoMarin
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 12 Mar 2014
Posts: 135

PostPosted: Thu Mar 27, 2014 12:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
As long as it's working, you can tinker with it.


Thanks, Anon-e-Moose. Really appreciate it. : )

Dunno what fixed it, but it certainly is working. \o/

Cheers!
MM
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MarcoMarin
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 12 Mar 2014
Posts: 135

PostPosted: Thu Mar 27, 2014 12:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh.. if the people here still want to discuss QT apps though.. or razor specific problems..

I tried to "lock screen" (native option on razor's menu) and it complained about not finding xscreensaver.. tried to emerge it, and it requires a whole lot of "Pearl" stuff! :x

The nomacs app, which some suggested as a good image viewer, doesn't seem to support png? is there a compile option to enable it, or is it under dev or something?

Cheers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TomWij
Developer
Developer


Joined: 04 Jul 2012
Posts: 1551

PostPosted: Thu Mar 27, 2014 7:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

MarcoMarin wrote:
I tried to "lock screen" (native option on razor's menu) and it complained about not finding xscreensaver.. tried to emerge it, and it requires a whole lot of "Pearl" stuff! :x


That USE flag is optional and brings in only dev-lang/perl, dev-perl/libwww-perl and virtual/perl-Digest-MD5, but highly recommended as it appears to be enabled by default for one or another reason; the reason you see "a whole lot" of them is because Perl has recently had an upgrade, and in order for that upgrade to happen appropriately a lot of reverse dependencies get rebuild against it (due to subslots) but not everything (not everything has those subslots yet). After the upgrade of Perl is done, run `perl-cleaner --all` to ensure that the Perl modules and reverse dependencies have been rebuild; otherwise, this Perl upgrade might cause unexpected breakage. In the future, this extra `perl-cleaner --all` step will become less necessary; given more and more packages will use these sub slot rebuilds, which will mean there will be a lot more "a whole lot"; to ensure the upgrade doesn't break anything, it would rebuild everything involved with Perl.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MarcoMarin
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 12 Mar 2014
Posts: 135

PostPosted: Thu Mar 27, 2014 8:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'd rather not have any :lol: but I guess that'd be wishful thinking...

check it out:
Code:
# emerge -pa xscreensaver

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild  N     ] dev-perl/LWP-MediaTypes-6.20.0
[ebuild  N     ] virtual/perl-MIME-Base64-3.130.0-r2
[ebuild  N     ] dev-perl/Encode-Locale-1.30.0
[ebuild  N     ] dev-perl/Net-SSLeay-1.550
[ebuild  N     ] dev-perl/HTML-Tagset-3.200.0
[ebuild  N     ] perl-core/Time-Local-1.230.0
[ebuild  N     ] perl-core/Encode-2.470.0
[ebuild  N     ] virtual/perl-libnet-1.230.0
[ebuild  N     ] dev-perl/URI-1.600.0
[ebuild  N     ] x11-proto/xf86miscproto-0.9.3
[ebuild  N     ] dev-perl/Net-HTTP-6.60.0
[ebuild  N     ] dev-perl/HTML-Parser-3.710.0  USE="{-test}"
[ebuild  N     ] virtual/perl-Time-Local-1.230.0
[ebuild  N     ] x11-apps/appres-1.0.4
[ebuild  N     ] x11-apps/xwininfo-1.1.3
[ebuild  N     ] gnome-base/libglade-2.6.4  USE="-doc -static-libs {-test}"
[ebuild  N     ] media-libs/netpbm-10.51.00-r2  USE="X jpeg png tiff xml zlib -jbig -jpeg2k -rle (-svga)"                                                                   
[ebuild  N     ] dev-perl/IO-Socket-SSL-1.953.0  USE="-idn"
[ebuild  N     ] virtual/perl-Encode-2.470.0
[ebuild  N     ] perl-core/Digest-MD5-2.520.0
[ebuild  N     ] dev-perl/HTTP-Date-6.20.0
[ebuild  N     ] virtual/perl-Digest-MD5-2.520.0
[ebuild  N     ] x11-libs/libXxf86misc-1.0.3  USE="-static-libs"
[ebuild  N     ] dev-perl/WWW-RobotRules-6.10.0-r1
[ebuild  N     ] dev-perl/HTTP-Message-6.30.0
[ebuild  N     ] dev-perl/File-Listing-6.40.0
[ebuild  N     ] dev-perl/HTTP-Cookies-6.0.1-r1
[ebuild  N     ] dev-perl/HTTP-Daemon-6.10.0
[ebuild  N     ] dev-perl/HTTP-Negotiate-6.0.1-r1
[ebuild  N     ] dev-perl/libwww-perl-6.30.0  USE="ssl"
[ebuild  N     ] dev-perl/LWP-Protocol-https-6.30.0
[ebuild  N     ] x11-misc/xscreensaver-5.26  USE="jpeg opengl pam perl -gdm -new-login


There is also a whole bunch of mixed x11 stuff there (and others as well)... how am I supposed to perl-cleaner --all "safely"? Should I emerge Perl before that? (Please say no :( thx)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 2578
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Thu Mar 27, 2014 8:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can turn off the perl use flag
Code:
x11-misc/xscreensaver-5.26  USE="jpeg opengl pam perl -gdm -new-login


add "x11-misc/xscreensaver -perl" to /etc/portage/package.use

then run "emerge -pv xscreensaver" again to see what it wants to pull in

Note: -p and -a shouldn't be used together.
-p says "pretend"
-a says "ask to continue"

They will both show what will be emerged, but -a will emerge if you agree.
_________________
Asus m5a99fx, FX 8320 - amd64-multilib, 3.15.9-zen, glibc-2.17, gcc-4.7.3-r1, eudev
xorg-server-1.16, openbox w/lxpanel, nouveau, oss4(2011)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TomWij
Developer
Developer


Joined: 04 Jul 2012
Posts: 1551

PostPosted: Thu Mar 27, 2014 9:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

MarcoMarin wrote:
[ebuild N ]


Hmm, they are all new, nevermind what I said then (it's just that the Perl upgrade happens around these days, just so you are aware when you do a world upgrade of what is needed to be done); I'm surprised by the amount of new packages, it appears that the dev-perl/libwww-perl dependency brings in a lot of other Perl dependencies.

MarcoMarin wrote:
Should I emerge Perl before that?


You already have Perl on your system; because it is listed as a dependency, and not listed in the list you gave, means it is already present.

Anon-E-moose wrote:
You can turn off the perl use flag


Yes, seeing it brings in only WWW and MD5 I think it only is there for internet (like, screensavers that show information from the internet; is it needed?) and checksum (a screensaver that breaks isn't the end of the; is it?) purposes; that is, if the Perl dependency itself carries no extra meaning. However, given Perl is already present; it only adds the above two features, so, yes, its "recommended default" might thus be unnecessary here...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MarcoMarin
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 12 Mar 2014
Posts: 135

PostPosted: Thu Mar 27, 2014 11:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anon-E-moose wrote:
You can turn off the perl use flag
add "x11-misc/xscreensaver -perl" to /etc/portage/package.use

then run "emerge -pv xscreensaver" again to see what it wants to pull in

Cool! I'll do that.. I thought it needed all this stuff somehow, I was like "wow, all this for a screensaver I wont even use? why they had to use perl to throw stuff at the screen?".. Thanks to TomWij too, for helping clarify this as well.
Quote:
Note: -p and -a shouldn't be used together.


I can be extremely paranoid. 8O

Quote:
-p says "pretend"
-a says "ask to continue"


Yes, it is pretending to ask as well. :lol:

Quote:
They will both show what will be emerged, but -a will emerge if you agree.

I also enjoy the extra politeness before it shows stuff.. "what would be merged, if you also (didn't) pretended to answer y". :P

edit to add correction: Both options say "would" :oops: ... :)


Last edited by MarcoMarin on Fri Mar 28, 2014 12:35 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MarcoMarin
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 12 Mar 2014
Posts: 135

PostPosted: Fri Mar 28, 2014 12:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

TomWij wrote:

Hmm, they are all new, nevermind what I said then (it's just that the Perl upgrade happens around these days, just so you are aware when you do a world upgrade of what is needed to be done);

Thanks! :D
Quote:

I'm surprised by the amount of new packages, it appears that the dev-perl/libwww-perl dependency brings in a lot of other Perl dependencies.

Me too! And it was just a simple screensaver I wouldn't even really use. :evil: monitor power saving is better.
Quote:

You already have Perl on your system; because it is listed as a dependency, and not listed in the list you gave, means it is already present.

Darn! I knew it was wishful thinking to want a linux system without perl :? But yeah, I meant to address your concern about perl-cleaner --all, and not have stuff that use perl (i.e. screensavers apparently) be built with broken stuff? I meant to separate the xscreen merging from the perl fixing, so the cleaner could act in between.
Quote:
(like, screensavers that show information from the internet; is it needed?)

Most definitely not! I just wanted to fix the odd thing of shipping RazorQt with a explicit option which doesnt work, namely lock screen. If it was like everything else that need to be emerged before showing up (which I find awesome somehow,lol) maybe I wouldn't even notice it, but now I did had a need for it today. :)
Quote:

(a screensaver that breaks isn't the end of the;

Sentence? :lol: no way.. although, if it breaks during the unlocking and allows the NSA in, then it might, lol.. maybe...
Quote:
is it?) purposes; that is, if the Perl dependency itself carries no extra meaning.

... maybe, all the perl stuff is for this locking/unlocking business as well?
Quote:
However, given Perl is already present; it only adds the above two features, so, yes, its "recommended default" might thus be unnecessary here...

Thanks! ^_^ I'll do that!

But then, with my 8) advanced Perl screensaving capabilities (tm) 8) I may -- finally -- discover if someone has ever implemented a Matrix code that actually looks like the movie animation... any recommendations on that? : )


edit to put on: Sunglasses. 8)


Last edited by MarcoMarin on Fri Mar 28, 2014 1:32 am; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TomWij
Developer
Developer


Joined: 04 Jul 2012
Posts: 1551

PostPosted: Fri Mar 28, 2014 12:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

(The missing word was "world"; dunno, I think I starting writing another sentence while writing that.)

MarcoMarin wrote:
I knew it was wishful thinking to want a linux system without perl

We can start a new topic about minimizing and/or even removing Perl, to avoid noise in this topic; but as a summary: Afaik it is also used in some build systems for some programs, which means you would need to patch, convince their upstream or look for an alternative.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MarcoMarin
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 12 Mar 2014
Posts: 135

PostPosted: Fri Mar 28, 2014 12:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Btw, a little more serious problem crept up today. I can't run an app which required QT stuff that should be there (I suppose, since I'm going for a qt only DE et al).. :?

I'll confirm these details tomorrow, with the data in hand, but basically it complains it can't find a shared library... 2 actually. libboost.so and libqencode.so (or was it qrencode? i'll confirm tomorrow, also the versions numbers if needed, but maybe you've seen that before?)...

It isn't in portage yet, though I seem to have stumbled upon a 9999 version (which I suppose is dev? or something to bypass the versioning scheme?), but I'm still too ignorant to know what I'm looking at and be able to try it, much less contribute to... So i had to download a .deb and use ar to unpack it into a tar.gz

Needless to say I have to resolve the dependencies myself, as the problem above make obvious :).
The readme says it only requires a "libqtgui4", but portage doesnt have that (and the readme also specifies this is under ubuntu and debian (iirc), so gentoo may be different)... so I may be forced to compile it myself, but, I'd prefer to see it run before I do.

Any clues of where I might find those libboost.so and libqencode.so?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TomWij
Developer
Developer


Joined: 04 Jul 2012
Posts: 1551

PostPosted: Fri Mar 28, 2014 1:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

MarcoMarin wrote:
I'll confirm these details tomorrow, with the data in hand, but basically it complains it can't find a shared library... 2 actually. libboost.so and libqencode.so (or was it qrencode? i'll confirm tomorrow, also the versions numbers if needed, but maybe you've seen that before?) [...] Any clues of where I might find those libboost.so and libqencode.so?


Sounds like the ebuild misses some dependencies; consider to file a bug with its maintainer, such that it can be updated to include those dependencies. Those are available as dev-libs/boost (dunno which version it needs though) and media-gfx/qrencode.

MarcoMarin wrote:
It isn't in portage yet, though I seem to have stumbled upon a 9999 version (which I suppose is dev? or something to bypass the versioning scheme?), but I'm still too ignorant to know what I'm looking at and be able to try it, much less contribute to... So i had to download a .deb and use ar to unpack it into a tar.gz


9999 is a live VCS version; this usually pulls source code from the source repository from upstream, such that you get the latest development code.

MarcoMarin wrote:
Needless to say I have to resolve the dependencies myself, as the problem above make obvious :).
The readme says it only requires a "libqtgui4", but portage doesnt have that (and the readme also specifies this is under ubuntu and debian (iirc), so gentoo may be different)... so I may be forced to compile it myself, but, I'd prefer to see it run before I do.


Available as dev-qt/qtgui:4 in the Portage tree which sounds like another missing dependency.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MarcoMarin
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 12 Mar 2014
Posts: 135

PostPosted: Fri Mar 28, 2014 1:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

TomWij wrote:
(The missing word was "world"; dunno, I think I starting writing another sentence while writing that.)

Sure sure, I was just trying to make you laugh ^_^ although... perhaps "sentence" is a bit more level to the importance of "screensavers"? :wink:
Quote:

We can start a new topic about minimizing and/or even removing Perl, to avoid noise in this topic; but as a summary: Afaik it is also used in some build systems for some programs, which means you would need to patch, convince their upstream or look for an alternative.

Cool, that would be nice... though maybe I should first finish the part 2 of the Gentoo handbook, so I won't drag you guys down so much anymore : ) I just wanted to set that app above up, which was in fact the whole purpose of me setting up this box and finding Gentoo the best option to do it, in the last month or so. (my wireless card was throwing a tantrum :cry: )


If I can add just a bit of noise though... I have a dream.. that one day, all my little programs will live in a box judged only by the content of their parenthesis! Yes, not pearl, not java, not even python.. heck, I would even ditch C itself and make the whole system in, yes, Lisp!

But hey, python is almost there and have a whole lot of stuff and people already. That'd be a heck of a start. :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Page 4 of 6

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum