Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] Xorg problem
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
TryStar
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Feb 2012
Posts: 23
Location: Paris , France

PostPosted: Mon Feb 06, 2012 8:47 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED] Xorg problem Reply with quote

Hello guys ,

This is my first install of Gentoo , so please forgive my noobness :D

Informations:

    In my xorg.conf.d directory , only one config file is generated , and it is 10-evdev.conf
    I have some problem with Xorg , when i do startx , it starts then stop , but thats when i dont have xterm or twm , when those are installed it goes into a black screen.
    The GPU is an Nvidia fermi one (more info on the bottom of my post)
    The computer uses a gpu switching technology called LucidLogix Virtu
    I use the nouveau drivers
    I , in my bios choosed to load the dedicated GPU
    The monitor is connected to the Nvidia GPU , not the Integrated one
    The integrated gpu uses an HDMI cable , and i dont have one , beside i use windows for games , the only reason I dual boot... so please do not advice me to use the integrated gpu


Data:

Here are my :


When i booted in ubuntu live , i retrieved :


Computer config :

    MB : Asus maximus IV Gene-Z/GEN3
    CPU : Intel 2500K
    GPU : Nvidia 570 (Fermi / NVC0)
    SSD : Vertex 3 120gb MIOPS
    HDD : Hitachi desktar 7k3000 3to

TryStar

Solution :
Installing the Nvidia drivers.

PS:I am just curious , how do we do spoilers? please send a private message if you know :D .
[edit]I posted pastebins on the first page to make an easy and beautiful index instead of going through the posts

Other files which probably will not be useful :


Last edited by TryStar on Sat Mar 17, 2012 11:21 pm; edited 14 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gusar
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 09 Apr 2005
Posts: 2665
Location: Slovenia

PostPosted: Mon Feb 06, 2012 9:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The log shows that the nouveau driver can't find any displays:
Code:
[  2070.727] (II) NOUVEAU(0): Output DVI-I-1 disconnected
[  2070.727] (II) NOUVEAU(0): Output DVI-I-2 disconnected
[  2070.727] (II) NOUVEAU(0): Output HDMI-1 disconnected
[  2070.727] (II) NOUVEAU(0): Output DP-1 disconnected
[  2070.727] (WW) NOUVEAU(0): No outputs definitely connected, trying again...
[  2070.727] (II) NOUVEAU(0): Output DVI-I-1 disconnected
[  2070.727] (II) NOUVEAU(0): Output DVI-I-2 disconnected
[  2070.727] (II) NOUVEAU(0): Output HDMI-1 disconnected
[  2070.727] (II) NOUVEAU(0): Output DP-1 disconnected
[  2070.727] (WW) NOUVEAU(0): Unable to find connected outputs - setting 1024x768 initial framebuffer

I haven't seen this one before, so don't how to help. Do you have some other display you could test with? Or a different cable? Does SystemRescueCD or some other live distro work?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TryStar
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Feb 2012
Posts: 23
Location: Paris , France

PostPosted: Mon Feb 06, 2012 9:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gusar wrote:
The log shows that the nouveau driver can't find any displays:
Code:
[  2070.727] (II) NOUVEAU(0): Output DVI-I-1 disconnected
[  2070.727] (II) NOUVEAU(0): Output DVI-I-2 disconnected
[  2070.727] (II) NOUVEAU(0): Output HDMI-1 disconnected
[  2070.727] (II) NOUVEAU(0): Output DP-1 disconnected
[  2070.727] (WW) NOUVEAU(0): No outputs definitely connected, trying again...
[  2070.727] (II) NOUVEAU(0): Output DVI-I-1 disconnected
[  2070.727] (II) NOUVEAU(0): Output DVI-I-2 disconnected
[  2070.727] (II) NOUVEAU(0): Output HDMI-1 disconnected
[  2070.727] (II) NOUVEAU(0): Output DP-1 disconnected
[  2070.727] (WW) NOUVEAU(0): Unable to find connected outputs - setting 1024x768 initial framebuffer

I haven't seen this one before, so don't how to help. Do you have some other display you could test with? Or a different cable? Does SystemRescueCD or some other live distro work?


Every other live distros work , and my display is on when I do startx , I tried to change dvi-i connector port , its the same thing ...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gusar
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 09 Apr 2005
Posts: 2665
Location: Slovenia

PostPosted: Mon Feb 06, 2012 9:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Post your kernel config (not directly here, use pastebin please). Also, you could try nvidia-drivers. But if other live distros work with nouveau, Gentoo should too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TryStar
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Feb 2012
Posts: 23
Location: Paris , France

PostPosted: Mon Feb 06, 2012 9:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gusar wrote:
Post your kernel config (not directly here, use pastebin please). Also, you could try nvidia-drivers. But if other live distros work with nouveau, Gentoo should too.

Here it is : http://pastebin.com/gp4CJkPJ
PS: Ill get nvidia proprietary if there is no other alternatives but I prefer using free software.
Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chithanh
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 2152
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2012 12:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It appears that your computer has both Intel and NVidia graphics. If it is an Optimus laptop, chances are that only the Intel part is connected to the displays. So see if enabling I915_KMS in your kernel and installing xf86-video-intel makes a difference.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gusar
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 09 Apr 2005
Posts: 2665
Location: Slovenia

PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2012 12:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

chithanh wrote:
It appears that your computer has both Intel and NVidia graphics. If it is an Optimus laptop, chances are that only the Intel part is connected to the displays. So see if enabling I915_KMS in your kernel and installing xf86-video-intel makes a difference.

Why didn't I think of that? It makes perfect sense.

TryStar, post the output of lspci -nn. I'm curious what kind of hardware you have.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TryStar
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Feb 2012
Posts: 23
Location: Paris , France

PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I dont have a laptop , i have a 1155 z68 based desktop , with hdmi output on the igpu, but my screen is connected to the nvidia gtx 570.And here is the output of lspci-nnhttp://pastebin.com/JVU6WmMK
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gusar
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 09 Apr 2005
Posts: 2665
Location: Slovenia

PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2012 5:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wow, that's an old pci-id database. Run update-pciids to get a newer one. Not really important though, it'll just give you more descriptive names than "Intel Corporation Device", but that's it.

Anyway, no idea what the issue is. Only one graphic card is there, the Nvidia one. Just one thing still remains, but I kinda doubt it'll give more insight - the output of dmesg.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bigbangnet
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Jun 2007
Posts: 174

PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2012 7:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can always use
Code:
Xorg -configure
to write a config file. It should write it in your root folder. In my case, I cp'd it to /etc/X11 and changed a line to user nvidia instead of vesa or whatever it was and it worked in my case.
_________________
I'm a noob, be gentle with me. TEACH ME
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TryStar
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Feb 2012
Posts: 23
Location: Paris , France

PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2012 7:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bigbangnet wrote:
You can always use
Code:
Xorg -configure
to write a config file. It should write it in your root folder. In my case, I cp'd it to /etc/X11 and changed a line to user nvidia instead of vesa or whatever it was and it worked in my case.


When i use Xorg -configure , it creates a configuration files with all variables not set , having to write it all down myself , if i could find a guide maybe i could do it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gusar
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 09 Apr 2005
Posts: 2665
Location: Slovenia

PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2012 7:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Xorg -configure is completely outdated. Don't use it. You don't need any X configuration, unless you want to use nvidia-drivers. But even then, Xorg -configure or nvidia-xconfig should not be used.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TryStar
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Feb 2012
Posts: 23
Location: Paris , France

PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2012 8:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gusar wrote:
Xorg -configure is completely outdated. Don't use it. You don't need any X configuration, unless you want to use nvidia-drivers. But even then, Xorg -configure or nvidia-xconfig should not be used.

The problem is that configuration files are not being writed , only 10-evdev exist
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gusar
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 09 Apr 2005
Posts: 2665
Location: Slovenia

PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2012 8:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

TryStar wrote:
The problem is that configuration files are not being writed , only 10-evdev exist

You don't need anything else.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TryStar
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Feb 2012
Posts: 23
Location: Paris , France

PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2012 9:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gusar wrote:
TryStar wrote:
The problem is that configuration files are not being writed , only 10-evdev exist

You don't need anything else.

So where is the source of my problem?
Here is my dmesg : http://pastebin.com/qFbEu07V and my Xorg.0 when twm , Xterm and Xclock are installed : http://pastebin.com/5FMzFUP1
chithanh wrote:
It appears that your computer has both Intel and NVidia graphics. If it is an Optimus laptop, chances are that only the Intel part is connected to the displays. So see if enabling I915_KMS in your kernel and installing xf86-video-intel makes a difference.

I checked to doc on I915_KMS , it is for intel igpus/gpus , but my display is connected to the gtx 570.

Thanks


Last edited by TryStar on Tue Feb 07, 2012 9:22 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gusar
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 09 Apr 2005
Posts: 2665
Location: Slovenia

PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2012 9:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

TryStar wrote:
So where is the source of my problem?

No idea. Post dmesg output like I asked. Beyond that... no idea what's wrong.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TryStar
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Feb 2012
Posts: 23
Location: Paris , France

PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2012 9:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gusar wrote:
TryStar wrote:
So where is the source of my problem?

No idea. Post dmesg output like I asked. Beyond that... no idea what's wrong.

I posted the dmesg output , http://pastebin.com/qFbEu07V
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gusar
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 09 Apr 2005
Posts: 2665
Location: Slovenia

PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2012 9:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

TryStar wrote:
I posted the dmesg output , http://pastebin.com/qFbEu07V

Sorry, missed that. Let's have a look...

Unfortunately it doesn't tell much, as it's spammed by usb stuff. However that by itself could be indicative of a problem on your machine. Not necessarily graphics related, but that dmesg definitely doesn't look fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TryStar
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Feb 2012
Posts: 23
Location: Paris , France

PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2012 10:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gusar wrote:
TryStar wrote:
I posted the dmesg output , http://pastebin.com/qFbEu07V

Sorry, missed that. Let's have a look...

Unfortunately it doesn't tell much, as it's spammed by usb stuff. However that by itself could be indicative of a problem on your machine. Not necessarily graphics related, but that dmesg definitely doesn't look fine.


Im gonna do it again with my iphone unplugged
[EDIT]Dmesg with iphone unplugged : http://pastebin.com/uf3eJ8gc
Dmesg with mouse and iphone unplugged : http://pastebin.com/GAUciGJS
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gusar
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 09 Apr 2005
Posts: 2665
Location: Slovenia

PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2012 10:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
[    2.822587] No connectors reported connected with modes
[    2.822588] [drm] Cannot find any crtc or sizes - going 1024x768

The above speaks for itself really, nouveau can't find any connected displays.

There's also these:
Code:
[    2.732620] [drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: unknown i2c port 48
[    2.732621] [drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: unknown i2c port 48
[    2.777587] [drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: unknown i2c port 56
[    2.777591] [drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: unknown i2c port 56
[    2.822556] [drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: unknown i2c port 54
[    2.822585] [drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: unknown i2c port 55
But I don't know what they mean, or if they're in any way relevant.

The only thing I can think of is to boot a live distro you know is working and have a look at the dmesg output there. That, and try nvidia-drivers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wcg
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Jan 2009
Posts: 588

PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2012 11:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try disabling CONFIG_FIRMWARE_EDID in your kernel .config. If running
make menuconfig, it is in the section where framebuffer stuff for video
is set.

Recompile, install the new kernel in /boot, include it in grub.conf, reboot
into it, and see what happens. Not all monitor firmwares get EDID right,
not all box firmwares make it available to the gpu driver without mangling
it, etc.

( What is EDID? http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/EDID )
_________________
TIA
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TryStar
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Feb 2012
Posts: 23
Location: Paris , France

PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2012 10:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

wcg wrote:
Try disabling CONFIG_FIRMWARE_EDID in your kernel .config. If running
make menuconfig, it is in the section where framebuffer stuff for video
is set.

Recompile, install the new kernel in /boot, include it in grub.conf, reboot
into it, and see what happens. Not all monitor firmwares get EDID right,
not all box firmwares make it available to the gpu driver without mangling
it, etc.

( What is EDID? http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/EDID )


When i disable EDID , the boot stop at
Code:
md : scanned 0 devices and added 0 devices.


[EDIT] I tried debian live , it do not work , but im sure another live distro worked before : gparted live , gonna try it.
I dont know if it helps but here is the DMESG of debian live in shell : http://pastebin.com/vcg87A4F

[EDIT2] Tried gparted live , doesn't work , but last thing i see is about I915 , loading intel drivers ...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FrankRizz0
l33t
l33t


Joined: 29 Nov 2006
Posts: 617

PostPosted: Thu Feb 09, 2012 9:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What got my Xorg working properly was changing nouveau to nvidia, and then using nvidia-xconfig. Make sure you also follow the handbook when you change your VIDEO_CARDS="nvidia" ( http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/nvidia-guide.xml ).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TryStar
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Feb 2012
Posts: 23
Location: Paris , France

PostPosted: Sat Feb 11, 2012 7:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think the problem is that my motherboard is using LucidLogix Virtu Technology , a gpu switching technology.Before , x worked on live distrib, i reseted the mos , but nothing changes , im trying to investigate but i'm still clueless.
I'll try nvidia , but i dont think it is the problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
das bletch
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Feb 2009
Posts: 44
Location: oakland

PostPosted: Mon Feb 13, 2012 3:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You may not have a problem at all. When I first installed Gentoo, the Xorg guide had you test the X server by itself and you would get some sort of confirmation that it was working.

This last year or so, whenever I do a fresh install of gentoo, I get the black screen whenever I test X after compiling, just out of habit. If I'm having a good day, I remember to just go ahead and emerge a window manager (blackbox or fluxbox, or lxde even) and once thats done and Ive editing .xinitrc, X server starts up by running the window manager.

Fwiw, my experiences installing gentoo taught me that when something doesn't work, try 3 things and if its still broken, walk away and do something else until you realize what you missed. otherwise you will just break a whole lot trying to fix something really simple.

Try to avoid the gentoo configuration dream loops too. THose can be a nightmare. blex.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Page 1 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum