Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Linux 3.1 -> 3.2 upgrade breaks networling out of LAN
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
runem
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Sep 2006
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Tue Jan 31, 2012 7:59 pm    Post subject: Linux 3.1 -> 3.2 upgrade breaks networling out of LAN Reply with quote

Hi

I have a machine with 3 NICs (2 used) and after the upgrade of gentoo-sources from 3.1.x to 3.2.x networking out of the LAN stopped working. Since it seemed like a kernel-issue I sent a bug-report to netdev [1]. Even though a patch was made the problem was dismissed as a userspace problem.

The following used to work: Different services like ntpd and a webserver listen on different IP addresses to and different NICs to spread the load.

With Linux 3.2 I can still ssh into the box but connections from the WAN does not work and ping to www.gentoo.org from the machine does not work.

i tried generating new netdevice rules for udev (using linux 3.2) but that did not make any difference. Running my firewall-script again did not work either (still 3.2).

I have not found anything suspicious in dmesg. Where should I look next?
Should I migrate the system to iproute2 to solve the problem ?
Bonding sounds cool but I am not sure my router supports it.

Greetings Rune

[1] http://www.spinics.net/lists/netdev/msg186670.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 15978

PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2012 4:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

On principle, I would use sys-apps-iproute2 over sys-apps/net-tools. However, that may not fix your problem. Do I understand correctly that you have connected both NICs to the same subnet and performed manual load balancing between them? This may work, but is fragile. You would be better off with at most one logical NIC in the subnet. You can achieve that by bonding the NICs or by taking one of them offline. It should be easy to tell whether bonding causes side effects.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
runem
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Sep 2006
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2012 8:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hu wrote:
On principle, I would use sys-apps-iproute2 over sys-apps/net-tools. However, that may not fix your problem. Do I understand correctly that you have connected both NICs to the same subnet and performed manual load balancing between them? This may work, but is fragile.


Yes.

Quote:
You would be better off with at most one logical NIC in the subnet. You can achieve that by bonding the NICs or by taking one of them offline. It should be easy to tell whether bonding causes side effects.


Does bonding require special support in the router or switch?

EDIT:

Chamging and removing references to eth1and its address and disconnecting the NIC solved the problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum