Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[Solved] IPv6 routing poblems
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Bullet Dodger
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 Jul 2005
Posts: 230

PostPosted: Tue Jan 17, 2012 11:53 pm    Post subject: [Solved] IPv6 routing poblems Reply with quote

I have a home built IPv6 router which can ping IPv6 addresses, but a host connecting to the router can not.

I have a router with the following set up:
Code:

    |192.0.43.10 (public ipv4)
+-------- Router ---------------------+
|   |                                 |
|  eth0                               |
|  192.0.43.10                        |
|   |                                 |
| +-----------------------------+     |
| | br0                         |     |
| | 192.168.0.1                 |     |
| | (eth1, wlan0)               |     |
| +-----------------------------+     |
|     |      |                        |
|     |      +---------+              |
|     |                |              |
+-------------------------------------+
      |192.168.0.1     |192.168.0.1

My public IP address has been replace by the IP address for example.com (because, admit it, if I'd given you my real address you'd be tempted to have a look).

As my ISP doesn't yet support IPv6, I set up a 6to4 tunnel.
I now have the following:
Code:

                                       192.88.99.1  +--- 6to4 relay --+
   Internet(IPv4) ----------------------------------|-----------------|--- Internet IPV6
    |                             2002:c058:6301::  +-----------------+
    |192.0.43.10 (public ipv4)
+-------- Router ---------------------+
|   |                                 |
|  eth0 -------- 6to4 (sit0)          |
|  192.0.43.10   2002:C000:2B0A::1/48 |
|   |            (public ipv6)        |
| +-----------------------------+     |
| | br0                         |     |
| | 192.168.0.1                 |     |
| | fe80::20e:c6ff:fe88:9ae9/64 |     |
| | (eth1, wlan0)               |     |
| +-----------------------------+     |
|     |      |                        |
|     |      +---------+              |
|     |                |              |
+-------------------------------------+
      |192.168.0.1     |192.168.0.1
      |                |
                       |
                    +-------- Computer 1 ---------------------+
                    | 192.168.0.19                            |
                    | 2002:C000:2B0A:f101:6233:4bff:fe2c:3650 |
                    |                ----                     |
                    | Router: fe80::20e:c6ff:fe88:9ae9        |
                    +-----------------------------------------+


The public IPv4 address is 192.0.43.10 (example.com)
Public IPv6 address 2002:C000:2B0A::1/48 (6to4 conversion of 192.0.43.10 to IPv6).
The bridge (br0) shouldn't been needed for IPv6 connectivity, but as it works on the ethernet layer, should have no effect on the IPv6 layer.
The bridge has an link local fe80:... address. I don't know if this is correct or not.
Computer 1 has the network prefix of the router (which is in this case is replaced by example.com - 2002:C000:2B0A. I don't know where the subnet f101 has come from though).
The router is using the anycast 6to4 ip address 192.88.99.1 (IPv4) 2002:c058:6301:: (IPv6)

The router can ping6 ipv6.google.com
The router can ping 192.88.99.1
The router can ping6 2002:c058:6301::

Computer 1 can ping6 the routers bridge link-local ipv6 address
Code:

$ ping6 -n ff02::1%en0
PING6(56=40+8+8 bytes) fe80::6233:4bff:fe2c:3650%en0 --> ff02::1%en0
16 bytes from fe80::6233:4bff:fe2c:3650%en0, icmp_seq=0 hlim=64 time=0.265 ms
16 bytes from fe80::20e:c6ff:fe88:9ae9%en0, icmp_seq=0 hlim=64 time=3.355 ms

(For anyone that noticed, computer 1 is a mac, which is why the interface is %en0)

Computer1 can not ping6 ipv6.google.com or 2002:c058:6301:: (6to4 relay)

What am I missing?


Last edited by Bullet Dodger on Tue Jan 24, 2012 3:44 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bullet Dodger
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 Jul 2005
Posts: 230

PostPosted: Wed Jan 18, 2012 9:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Something I forgot to mention, is I tried to add the route:
Code:

# ip -6 route add 2000::/3 via 2002:c058:6301::


Computer1 still can not ping6 any IPv6 address
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gerdesj
l33t
l33t


Joined: 29 Sep 2005
Posts: 621
Location: Yeovil, Somerset, UK

PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2012 3:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you enabled forwarding? See http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/ipv6.xml section 5.

Cheers
Jon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bullet Dodger
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 Jul 2005
Posts: 230

PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2012 3:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I solved this by making sure the 6to4 interface had an ip 2002:C000:2B0A::/48 and the bridge had 2002:C000:2B0A:1::1/64, then I didn't need to create any additional routes. Still not entirely sure why this worked. I did find that setting the bridge to 2002:C000:2B0A::1/64 would not work
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum