Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
No Longer Able to mount removable devices in KDE as a user
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
elvis_
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Feb 2004
Posts: 23
Location: dogonfire.com

PostPosted: Sat Jan 07, 2012 10:18 am    Post subject: No Longer Able to mount removable devices in KDE as a user Reply with quote

Hi,

When I go to plug in a usb stick or my gf's ipod they are no longer recognised in KDE as able to be user mounted.

OLD BEHAVIOR: Plugged in usb gadget, a notification popped up, selected action wanted (open, download pics etc) the system automounted the device and done.

NEW BEHAVIOR: notification pops up but no mounting. error message "an unspecified error has occurred.: not authorized" at the bottom of the device notifier


i know this could be just about anything but I am hoping someone has had the problem and found why this has happened. I have had trouble finding anything on here/net, the keywords are just so generic.


I have worked around the problem a couple of ways, one using autofs and the other adding the media to fstab. But I never had to before and I am wondering what has changed. And with the old way the device notifier unmounted the gadgets easily, now any open files hold things up.

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
solpeth
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Jan 2012
Posts: 12
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Wed Jan 18, 2012 11:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is your user in the usb group?

Type this in your terminal:
Code:

$ groups


It should output the groups that your user is in. If you aren't in the usb group, you should add your user to the group by running as root:
Code:
 # usermod -a -G usb username


username should be the name of your user.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VoidMage
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Oct 2006
Posts: 6194

PostPosted: Wed Jan 18, 2012 11:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

groups should not matter here.
This seems to be a pollkit/consolekit problem, though not even close to enough info to say anything conclusive.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
elvis_
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Feb 2004
Posts: 23
Location: dogonfire.com

PostPosted: Sat Jan 28, 2012 3:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i just gave up on this one, it could have been one of too many things. And considering how many things have randomly broken in KDE over the last few years I'm not even going to try. I didn't change any configs, it just stopped working. Do the KDE devs realise they just spent years writing KDE 4 and they got the EXACT SAME THING! What a waste of time. It reminds me of Zoolander when all the looks are the same and no one notices.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
regaleali
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Jan 2005
Posts: 32
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Sat Jan 28, 2012 5:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had a similar problem some time ago. Did this:

rc-update del consolekit default
rc-update add consolekit boot

Do you have anything in syslog or ~/.xsession-errors?

Are you still using HAL?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
regaleali
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Jan 2005
Posts: 32
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Sat Jan 28, 2012 5:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Afaik group membership does also matter for polkit.
User should be in disk group (and mabe also plugdev group)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VoidMage
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Oct 2006
Posts: 6194

PostPosted: Sat Jan 28, 2012 6:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

regaleali wrote:
Afaik group membership does also matter for polkit.
User should be in disk group (and mabe also plugdev group)

:roll:
Once again, it should not matter, unless you're doing something odd.
Did you read this thread ?
It was sticky awhile ago, but if you note the dates, most people, that had that problem, have long fixed it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
elvis_
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Feb 2004
Posts: 23
Location: dogonfire.com

PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2012 9:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

May well have been polkit, it's been working for some devices and not for others.

A couple of points about the problem.

The polkit docs are crap.

The configs are in /usr/share/polkit-1 , did I miss the memo moving configuration files out of /etc ?

They are in xml with no comments, I mean seriously?

The refugee windows developers should go and screw up some other OS, I want unix, not a bad copy of windows.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum