Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Is there a way to install both GNOME and KDE?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ONEEYEMAN
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Mar 2005
Posts: 2789

PostPosted: Fri Dec 30, 2011 9:17 am    Post subject: Is there a way to install both GNOME and KDE? Reply with quote

Hi, ALL,
Is there a way to install both GNOME and KDE and run either one by somehow selecting the option after "startx"?

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Veldrin
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Jul 2004
Posts: 1945
Location: Zurich, Switzerland

PostPosted: Fri Dec 30, 2011 2:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You either need a little scripting (startx/xinit is pretty static) or you can just install a desktop manager (kde provides kdm, gnome gdm, or somthing entirely different). The latter solution implies that you are running X most/all the time.

as often, may a ton of other solutions:
Why don't you tell us, how you normally work - or is startx *the way*?

just my .02$
V.
_________________
read the portage output!
If my answer is too concise, ask for an explanation.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mahdi1234
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2005
Posts: 539
Location: far from new world orderia

PostPosted: Fri Dec 30, 2011 2:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is no problem to have KDE and Gnome or whatever else you want alongside.

I'm not sure what you mean after startx - afaik you can use two different approaches, either run some graphical login manager as kdm/gdm/slim or use startx directly and change appropriate configs, in my case I change manually .xinitrc to whatever I want to run, but surely you can create script to run either kde or gnome. My .xinitrc looks like this
Code:
cat ~/.xinitrc
setxkbmap -option grp:alt_shift_toggle,grp_led:scroll us,ru,cz
exec ck-launch-session dbus-launch startlxde
#exec ck-launch-session dbus-launch razor-session
#exec ck-launch-session dbus-launch startkde

If I want KDE instead of LXDE, just comment/uncomment appropriate lines. You can also run different WM/DE at the same time using different screens just type
Code:
startx -- :1

Then CTRL+ALT+F7 switches to the first WM/DE and CTRL+ALT+F8 to the other one. Hope this helps somehow.

cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
keenblade
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2004
Posts: 1087

PostPosted: Fri Dec 30, 2011 5:45 pm    Post subject: Re: Is there a way to install both GNOME and KDE? Reply with quote

ONEEYEMAN wrote:

Is there a way to install both GNOME and KDE and run either one by somehow selecting the option after "startx"?

You can use CDM which is a minimalistic, yet full-featured replacement for login-manager written in bash. I had created an ebuild at b.g.o, long before. Unfortunately, it seems it is not maintained lately. Homepage is down. But the sources are in github. I don't know if it still works, but you may try. If you want, I can post an updated an ebuild.
Usage is simple; you login with startx and then cdm welcomes you with a console, letting you to select a DE from the list.
_________________
Anyway it's all the same at the end...
Need help to get it working: "x-fi surround 5.1"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ONEEYEMAN
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Mar 2005
Posts: 2789

PostPosted: Fri Dec 30, 2011 6:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you for the reply guys.
I am booting up to the console and then startx to GNOME. I want to run KDE to test some stuff. The problem is that I am not very familiar with bash scripting.
Also, the problem comes from the point that GNOME and KDE uses 2 different sets of USE-flags. So how do I install both at the same machine? The reason being I am not interested in the login manager, I need full blown GNOME or KDE.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
keenblade
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2004
Posts: 1087

PostPosted: Sat Dec 31, 2011 2:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I use desktop profile, not gnome and kde ones. Then I set the specific flags for kde and gnome in my make.conf:
Code:

USE="apache2 bluetooth -branding dri eds evo fam ffmpeg flac glitz gnome gstreamer -hal jack java kde ladspa lash lm_sensors midi mysql mysqli mng ncurses nls nvidia -qt3 readline sqlite3 ssl theora xcomposite xinerama xorg xvid xvmc zlib"

And some useflags in the package.use. For DE specific uselags, take a look at the files:
Code:

/usr/portage/profiles/targets/desktop/gnome/make.defaults
/usr/portage/profiles/targets/desktop/kde/make.defaults

Also I use kdm (or gdm), just to avoid troubles. All other login managers I tried gives headache at some point.
_________________
Anyway it's all the same at the end...
Need help to get it working: "x-fi surround 5.1"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum