Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Help installing my Wireless Nic? (rtl8192su)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Arthorn
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Nov 2011
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sun Dec 04, 2011 8:10 pm    Post subject: Help installing my Wireless Nic? (rtl8192su) Reply with quote

Hello, I'm trying to install/configure my wireless NIC. This is my first time running a linux system, so I'm greatly confused on most everything.

So far I've emerged the firmware package from with portage (rtl8192su-firmware-2.6.0001.0320.2009), and set the driver to install (RealTek RTL8712U (RTL8192SU) WIRELESS LAN NIC driver) into my kernel.

At this point, I've read through the gentoo documentation and found that using the wireless-tools package should be sufficient, but am still left baffled at what to do next.
I've edited the "net" file in /etc/conf.d to look like:


modules="iwconfig"
key_ESSID1="[1] s:f3b39da9a5 [1] enc open"
preferred_aps="'ESSID1'"



The network I'm trying to connect to is a pretty generic setup, WEP secured. As I stated above, this is my first install. Can anyone offer me advice on where to go next with this setup?

Thanks in advance,

Arthorn.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chithanh
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 2152
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Sun Dec 04, 2011 8:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can use wpa_supplicant for connecting to all kinds of networks, unencrypted or WEP or WPA.

After you configured /etc/conf.d/net and /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf as in the handbook, create a symlink /etc/init.d/net.wlan0 -> net.lo and start that init script.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 42857
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Dec 04, 2011 8:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Arthorn,

Lets see how far you have got.

Do you have a wlan0 or other wireless interface in
Code:
ifconfig -a

If not your firmware isn't being loaded or the kernel module isn't loaded. The kernel module must be configured as <M> or it will try to load the firmware before root is mounted, which will fail as /lib/fimware will not exist.
dmesg can shed some light on this.

If you have a wlan0 then its time to play with wireless-tools, which is fine for WEP.
Note WEP is equal to no security at all. Don't get a false sense of security by using it.

Before you can get an IP address for a wireless NIC, the wireless bit of the link has to work.
What does iwconfig show ?
It should list all your interfaces, including the wireless NIC and show the wireless extensions. If iwconfig shows your wlan0 and claims that it has ho wireless extensions do
Code:
ifconfig wlan0 up
and try again.

Your key looks like its in hex in which case
Code:
key_ESSID1="[1] s:f3b39da9a5 [1] enc open"
is not correct. The s: means a text string follows. Of course, your key is a legal text string too but the two will be treated differently.
/usr/share/doc/openrc-0.9.4/net.example.bz2 is well worth a read. If you don't have openrc-0.9.4, just change the version in the filename.

The good thing about WEP and wireless-tools is that you can give all the commands at the console.

One last complication, when you get an IP address, you will need to stop eth0 to test if both wlan0 and eth0 are in the same subnet.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Arthorn
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Nov 2011
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sun Dec 04, 2011 9:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks a bunch to both of you for your replies!

Here's what I'm getting in response to you Neddy:

ifconfig -a:
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:0b:db:b1:ae:10
inet addr:192.168.1.21 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::20b:dbff:feb1:ae10/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:504 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:334 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:50213 (49.0 KiB) TX bytes:43058 (42.0 KiB)
Interrupt:17

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

sit0 Link encap:IPv6-in-IPv4
NOARP MTU:1480 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 94:44:52:dc:2c:5a
BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)



I went and reinstalled the staging driver as a module.

iwconfig:
lo no wireless extensions.

eth0 no wireless extensions.

sit0 no wireless extensions.

wlan0 unassociated Nickname:"rtl_wifi"
Mode:Auto Access Point: Not-Associated Sensitivity:0/0
Retry:off RTS thr:off Fragment thr:off
Encryption key:off
Power Management:off
Link Quality:0 Signal level:0 Noise level:0
Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0

when I try ifconfig wlan0 up I get:


SIOCSIFFLAGS: Operation not permitted


Again I thank ya, and am currently taking a look at the net.examples.bz2 file.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Arthorn
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Nov 2011
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sun Dec 04, 2011 9:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

demsg | tail provides me with the following:

[ 104.533205] r8712u: Loading firmware from "rtlwifi/rtl8712u.bin"
[ 104.577413] r8712u: Unable to load firmware
[ 104.577420] r8712u: Install latest linux-firmware

Is there something I need to do besides emerge the firmware?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chithanh
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 2152
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Sun Dec 04, 2011 9:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The missing firmware file comes with the sys-kernel/linux-firmware package. I think the rtl8192su-firmware package is for some older driver only.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Arthorn
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Nov 2011
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sun Dec 04, 2011 10:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Awesome thanks. Another quick question, when I install stuff such as firmware, is a reboot required in order for it to start working? Or does it install and start automatically?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Arthorn
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Nov 2011
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sun Dec 04, 2011 10:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ifconfig -a gives me:

wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 94:44:52:dc:2c:5a
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

iwconfig:

wlan0 unassociated Nickname:"rtl_wifi"
Mode:Auto Access Point: Not-Associated Sensitivity:0/0
Retry:off RTS thr:off Fragment thr:off
Power Management:off
Link Quality:0 Signal level:0 Noise level:0
Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0


iwlist wlan0 scan:

wlan0 Scan completed :
Cell 01 - Address: 00:23:97:BB:45:D6
ESSID:"09FX10091067"
Protocol:IEEE 802.11bg
Mode:Master
Frequency:2.437 GHz (Channel 6)
Encryption key:on
Bit Rates:1 Mb/s; 2 Mb/s; 5.5 Mb/s; 11 Mb/s; 18 Mb/s
24 Mb/s; 36 Mb/s; 54 Mb/s; 6 Mb/s; 9 Mb/s
12 Mb/s; 48 Mb/s
Signal level=76/100



At this point do I want to create my symlink? Or are there more steps I must take?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 42857
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Dec 05, 2011 7:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Arthorn,

Your post shows that your wireless is associated with an AP.
making the symlink and doing
Code:
/etc/init.d/net.wlan0 start
should get you an IP.

If that works,
Code:
/etc/inid.d/net.eth0 stop
will make you wireless only for testing.

Odd things will happen if wlan0 and eth0 get an IP in the same subnet and you leave them both working.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Arthorn
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Nov 2011
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Tue Dec 06, 2011 2:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wow. I'm getting ridiculously close here. Thanks again for your reply. I've got it to accept my key and appear to connect to the network, but it isn't showing up on my router's page, and if I killed eth0 I lose my connection. It's showing up as:

wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 94:44:52:dc:2c:5a
inet addr:169.254.44.11 Bcast:169.254.255.255 Mask:255.255.0.0
inet6 addr: fe80::9644:52ff:fedc:2c5a/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:5792 errors:0 dropped:60 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:140 errors:0 dropped:1 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:586134 (572.3 KiB) TX bytes:34146 (33.3 KiB)

here's my conf.d/net

modules="iwconfig"
config_eth0="dhcp"
config_wlan0="dhcp"
essid_wlan0="09FQ111191067"
key_ESSID1="[1] f3ad09da9a5 [1] enc open"
preferred_aps="'ESSID1'"




The subnet appears to be wrong, and the 169 inet addr also seems to be wrong. I gotta figure I need one more thing to fix it and it should be done!

Thanks again for the help, this has been a learning experience for sure!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 42857
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Dec 06, 2011 5:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Arthorn,

169.254.x.x is a link local IP address, its only useful in ad-hoc networks where there is no dhcp serer. When dhcp times out, it can be set up to self assign a link local address like this. It tells that dhcp failed.

A few things to check:-
In your AP is MAC address filtering off or is 94:44:52:dc:2c:5a a permitted MAC addess?

In iwconfig, or your wireless transmitter on ?
Something may have turned it off for power savinging.

Does dmesg caontain anything useful ?
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Arthorn
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Nov 2011
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sat Dec 17, 2011 8:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Howdy Neddy, or anyone else.

Sorry It's been so long since I could reply, I've been busy with finals and work and whatnot. I ended up going with wpa_supplicant to get it setup and running. The good news is that it I have been able to get the wireless nic to obtain an IP address and connect and everything. The bad news is that it doesn't like to do anything unless eth0 is up and running. I can turn the PC on and connect with my wireless adapter, then disconnect the wire and wlan0 continues to work fine. However, if I disconnect the wire before starting the system it won't connect to the wireless at all.

dmesg gives me this:

[ 11.177731] r8712u: module is from the staging directory, the quality is unknown, you have been warned.
[ 11.233302] r8712u 1-6:1.0: usb_probe_interface
[ 11.233312] r8712u 1-6:1.0: usb_probe_interface - got id
[ 11.233317] r8712u: DriverVersion: v7_0.20100831
[ 11.233362] r8712u: register rtl8712_netdev_ops to netdev_ops
[ 11.233369] r8712u: USB_SPEED_HIGH with 4 endpoints
[ 11.240123] r8712u: Boot from EFUSE: Autoload OK
[ 12.084753] r8712u: CustomerID = 0x0000
[ 12.084762] r8712u: MAC Address from efuse = 94:44:52:dc:2c:5a
[ 12.101621] usbcore: registered new interface driver r8712u
[ 26.075794] r8712u: Loading firmware from "rtlwifi/rtl8712u.bin"
[ 26.785430] r8712u: 1 RCR=0x153f00e
[ 26.786175] r8712u: 2 RCR=0x553f00e
[ 32.492511] r8712u: wpa_set_encryption, crypt.alg = WEP
[10020.003310] r8712u: wpa_set_encryption, crypt.alg = WEP

when I grep for the wireless driver.

and when I grep for the wired module I get:

dmesg | grep b44
[ 0.859466] b44 0000:01:09.0: PCI INT A -> GSI 17 (level, low) -> IRQ 17
[ 0.886470] b44: b44.c:v2.0
[ 0.894908] b44 ssb0:0: eth0: Broadcom 44xx/47xx 10/100BaseT Ethernet 00:0b:db:b1:ae:10
[ 16.706192] b44 ssb0:0: eth0: Link is up at 100 Mbps, full duplex
[ 16.706200] b44 ssb0:0: eth0: Flow control is off for TX and off for RX


eth0:

[ 0.894908] b44 ssb0:0: eth0: Broadcom 44xx/47xx 10/100BaseT Ethernet 00:0b:db:b1:ae:10
[ 13.648751] ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): eth0: link is not ready
[ 16.706192] b44 ssb0:0: eth0: Link is up at 100 Mbps, full duplex
[ 16.706200] b44 ssb0:0: eth0: Flow control is off for TX and off for RX
[ 16.706330] ADDRCONF(NETDEV_CHANGE): eth0: link becomes ready
[ 27.602013] eth0: no IPv6 routers present

wlan0:

[ 26.891381] ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): wlan0: link is not ready
[ 32.946738] ADDRCONF(NETDEV_CHANGE): wlan0: link becomes ready
[ 43.050013] wlan0: no IPv6 routers present


Not sure if any of this provides any useful information to anyone.

As always thank you for your help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 42857
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Dec 17, 2011 9:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Arthorn,

Check your /etc/rc.conf file - its well commented.

You probaly need
Code:
rc_depend_strict="NO"
in there so that networking is deemed to be up if only a single interface starts.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Arthorn
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Nov 2011
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sat Dec 17, 2011 10:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Neddy, you are incredible.

Thanks a bunch, it appears that this install can be considered SOLVED!

Time to move on and figure out all sorts of fun things to do with my functional linux box!

Thanks again!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum