Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
WLAN on dell 1525, where to begin?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ALF__
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 30 Nov 2003
Posts: 163

PostPosted: Sat Nov 19, 2011 9:05 pm    Post subject: WLAN on dell 1525, where to begin? Reply with quote

Hello guys!


Just made a fresh stage3 install on my laptop, a dell 1525. Installed X and Gnome.

And now its time to conquer the wlan!


Its a BCM4312..

And it shows up in both iwconfig and ifconfig with its macadress and such.

But i have no idea were to go from here!

How do i connect? do i need todo anything more before this?


Have searched on the forums about this, but there is usually just questions about more advanced problems. Im not there yet! ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ALF__
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 30 Nov 2003
Posts: 163

PostPosted: Sat Nov 19, 2011 9:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh also,

i have done this configure from the manual:

iwconfig wlan0 essid nameofessid

iwconfig wlan0 key s:somekey


it takes that, but when i run dhcpcd wlan0 i get:

dhcpcd[25334]: version 5.2.12 starting
dhcpcd[25334]: wlan0: up_interface: No such file or directory
dhcpcd[25334]: wlan0: waiting for carrier
dhcpcd[25334]: timed out
dhcpcd[25334]: allowing 8 seconds for IPv4LL timeout
dhcpcd[25334]: timed out


Also, the wlan LED on the computer is not lit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gusar
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 09 Apr 2005
Posts: 2665
Location: Slovenia

PostPosted: Sat Nov 19, 2011 9:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, here goes:

Did you install firmware (net-wireless/b43-firmware)?
Is the radio on? Check with "rfkill list", it should say "no" regarding both blocks.
Before doing anything wireless-y, you need to bring the interface up with "ifconfig wlan0 up"
And finally, what is the security of the network you're connecting to, is it WEP or WPA?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ALF__
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 30 Nov 2003
Posts: 163

PostPosted: Sat Nov 19, 2011 10:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gusar wrote:
Ok, here goes:

Did you install firmware (net-wireless/b43-firmware)?
Is the radio on? Check with "rfkill list", it should say "no" regarding both blocks.
Before doing anything wireless-y, you need to bring the interface up with "ifconfig wlan0 up"
And finally, what is the security of the network you're connecting to, is it WEP or WPA?



No i did not install that firmware, (portage dont find anything like that you mentioned?)

rfkill : command not found


ifconfig wlan0 up gives me: SIOCSIFFLAGS: No such file or directory.

Its a WEP network.


Thanks for your help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gusar
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 09 Apr 2005
Posts: 2665
Location: Slovenia

PostPosted: Sat Nov 19, 2011 11:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ALF__ wrote:
No i did not install that firmware, (portage dont find anything like that you mentioned?)

It's there. For sure. And you need it. No wireless without that firmware.

ALF__ wrote:
rfkill : command not found
Install it then.

ALF__ wrote:
ifconfig wlan0 up gives me: SIOCSIFFLAGS: No such file or directory.

Ok, that one's weird. Didn't you say it shows up with ifconfig? Maybe it's because of the missing firmware.

ALF__ wrote:
Its a WEP network.

You really shouldn't be using WEP. Can be cracked in like a minute. Your commands are correct for a WEP network though, after you'll have the firmware installed and the interface up.

Hmm, which driver are you actually using? You should be using b43.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ALF__
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 30 Nov 2003
Posts: 163

PostPosted: Sun Nov 20, 2011 12:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gusar wrote:
ALF__ wrote:
No i did not install that firmware, (portage dont find anything like that you mentioned?)

It's there. For sure. And you need it. No wireless without that firmware.

ALF__ wrote:
rfkill : command not found
Install it then.

ALF__ wrote:
ifconfig wlan0 up gives me: SIOCSIFFLAGS: No such file or directory.

Ok, that one's weird. Didn't you say it shows up with ifconfig? Maybe it's because of the missing firmware.

ALF__ wrote:
Its a WEP network.

You really shouldn't be using WEP. Can be cracked in like a minute. Your commands are correct for a WEP network though, after you'll have the firmware installed and the interface up.

Hmm, which driver are you actually using? You should be using b43.


Thanks again!

Now i see why it dont show up. Its masked, what to do about that? :o


rfkill: no on both soft and hard.


And also, i have actually no idea what driver im using. I enabled broadcom in the kernel, and thats it. I have not done anything to the system besides, stage3 install, x-install and gnome.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gusar
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 09 Apr 2005
Posts: 2665
Location: Slovenia

PostPosted: Sun Nov 20, 2011 12:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ALF__ wrote:
Now i see why it dont show up. Its masked, what to do about that? :o

Ah, I see it. It's not masked, it's keyworded unstable. So we'll be dealing with package.keywords. To be exact, do this:
Code:
echo "net-wireless/b43-fwcutter ~amd64" >> /etc/portage/package.keywords
echo "net-wireless/b43-firmware ~amd64" >> /etc/portage/package.keywords

That's assuming you have a 64bit install. If you have a 32bit install, use ~x86 instead of ~amd64. After doing those commands, you'll be able to install the package.

ALF__ wrote:
And also, i have actually no idea what driver im using. I enabled broadcom in the kernel, and thats it. I have not done anything to the system besides, stage3 install, x-install and gnome.

Post the output of this, it'll tell me if you have the right stuff:
Code:
grep -i b43 /usr/src/linux/.config
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ALF__
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 30 Nov 2003
Posts: 163

PostPosted: Sun Nov 20, 2011 12:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gusar wrote:
ALF__ wrote:
Now i see why it dont show up. Its masked, what to do about that? :o

Ah, I see it. It's not masked, it's keyworded unstable. So we'll be dealing with package.keywords. To be exact, do this:
Code:
echo "net-wireless/b43-fwcutter ~amd64" >> /etc/portage/package.keywords
echo "net-wireless/b43-firmware ~amd64" >> /etc/portage/package.keywords

That's assuming you have a 64bit install. If you have a 32bit install, use ~x86 instead of ~amd64. After doing those commands, you'll be able to install the package.

ALF__ wrote:
And also, i have actually no idea what driver im using. I enabled broadcom in the kernel, and thats it. I have not done anything to the system besides, stage3 install, x-install and gnome.

Post the output of this, it'll tell me if you have the right stuff:
Code:
zgrep -i b43 /proc/config.gz



Wow thank you gusar!

Now we getting somewhere, will try this tomorrow, im in bed now!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ALF__
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 30 Nov 2003
Posts: 163

PostPosted: Sun Nov 20, 2011 12:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gusar!! Thank you very much!

I echoed the x86-line to package keywords then just standard procedure:

ifconfig wlan0 up
dhcpcd wlan0


And there ya go! :)

Again! thank you!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum