Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Dual-head config with ATI RV370? [SOLVED]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 6347
Location: /usr/lib64/lv2

PostPosted: Wed Nov 16, 2011 5:12 pm    Post subject: Dual-head config with ATI RV370? [SOLVED] Reply with quote

I just plugged a second monitor into one of my Gentoo boxes. I'm trying to figure out how to have a good dual-head config with my hardware and would appreciate advice on how to do it.

lspci:
Code:

01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc RV370 5B60 [Radeon X300 (PCIE)]


xrandr:
Code:

Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 1280 x 1024, maximum 1280 x 1280
VGA-0 connected 1024x768+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 304mm x 228mm
   1024x768       60.0*+   75.0     72.0     70.1 
   832x624        74.6 
   800x600        72.2     75.0     60.3     56.2 
   640x480        75.0     72.8     66.7     59.9 
   720x400        70.1 
DVI-0 connected 1280x1024+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 338mm x 270mm
   1280x1024      60.0*+
   1152x864       75.0 
   1024x768       75.0     70.1     60.0 
   832x624        74.6 
   800x600        72.2     75.0     60.3     56.2 
   640x480        75.0     72.8     66.7     59.9 
   720x400        70.1 
S-video disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)

_________________
Gentoo Studio: A Gentoo-based, professional digital audio workstation OS.


Last edited by audiodef on Fri Nov 18, 2011 3:55 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 6347
Location: /usr/lib64/lv2

PostPosted: Wed Nov 16, 2011 7:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tried a couple of things:

1. Messing around with xrandr

2. Messing around with xorg.conf

xrandr tells me that my card's max res is 1280x1280. Is that right? I'm not sure I believe that.

I want each screen to use its max res and to be two desktops - not one extended desktop.

My xorg.conf thus far:
Code:

Section "ServerLayout"
   Identifier     "X.org Configured"
   Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
   InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
   InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "Files"
   ModulePath   "/usr/lib64/xorg/modules"
   FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/misc/"
   FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/TTF/"
   FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/OTF/"
   FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/Type1/"
   FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/100dpi/"
   FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/75dpi/"
EndSection

Section "Module"
   Load  "extmod"
   Load  "dri"
   Load  "glx"
   Load  "record"
   Load  "dri2"
   Load  "dbe"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
   Identifier  "Keyboard0"
   Driver      "kbd"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
   Identifier  "Mouse0"
   Driver      "mouse"
   Option       "Protocol" "auto"
   Option       "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
   Option       "ZAxisMapping" "4 5 6 7"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
   #DisplaySize     300   230   # mm
   Identifier   "Monitor0"
   VendorName   "AMT"
   ModelName    "PL150"
   HorizSync    30.0 - 62.0
   VertRefresh  50.0 - 75.0
   Option        "DPMS"
   Option        "Primary"   "True"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
        #DisplaySize      300   230     # mm
        Identifier   "Monitor1"
        HorizSync    30.0 - 62.0
        VertRefresh  50.0 - 75.0
        Option       "DPMS"
   Option         "Below"    "Monitor0"
EndSection


Section "Device"
        ### Available Driver options are:-
        ### Values: <i>: integer, <f>: float, <bool>: "True"/"False",
        ### <string>: "String", <freq>: "<f> Hz/kHz/MHz",
        ### <percent>: "<f>%"
        ### [arg]: arg optional
        #Option     "NoAccel"               # [<bool>]
        #Option     "SWcursor"              # [<bool>]
        #Option     "Dac6Bit"               # [<bool>]
        #Option     "Dac8Bit"               # [<bool>]
        #Option     "BusType"               # [<str>]
        #Option     "CPPIOMode"             # [<bool>]
        #Option     "CPusecTimeout"         # <i>
        #Option     "AGPMode"               # <i>
        #Option     "AGPFastWrite"          # [<bool>]
        #Option     "AGPSize"               # <i>
        #Option     "GARTSize"              # <i>
        #Option     "RingSize"              # <i>
        #Option     "BufferSize"            # <i>
        #Option     "EnableDepthMoves"      # [<bool>]
        #Option     "EnablePageFlip"        # [<bool>]
        #Option     "NoBackBuffer"          # [<bool>]
        #Option     "DMAForXv"              # [<bool>]
        #Option     "FBTexPercent"          # <i>
        #Option     "DepthBits"             # <i>
        #Option     "PCIAPERSize"           # <i>
        #Option     "AccelDFS"              # [<bool>]
        #Option     "IgnoreEDID"            # [<bool>]
        #Option     "CustomEDID"            # [<str>]
        #Option     "DisplayPriority"       # [<str>]
        #Option     "PanelSize"             # [<str>]
        #Option     "ForceMinDotClock"      # <freq>
        #Option     "ColorTiling"           # [<bool>]
        #Option     "VideoKey"              # <i>
        #Option     "RageTheatreCrystal"    # <i>
        #Option     "RageTheatreTunerPort"    # <i>
        #Option     "RageTheatreCompositePort"    # <i>
        #Option     "RageTheatreSVideoPort"    # <i>
        #Option     "TunerType"             # <i>
        #Option     "RageTheatreMicrocPath"    # <str>
        #Option     "RageTheatreMicrocType"    # <str>
        #Option     "ScalerWidth"           # <i>
        #Option     "RenderAccel"           # [<bool>]
        #Option     "SubPixelOrder"         # [<str>]
        #Option     "ClockGating"           # [<bool>]
        #Option     "VGAAccess"             # [<bool>]
        #Option     "ReverseDDC"            # [<bool>]
        #Option     "LVDSProbePLL"          # [<bool>]
        #Option     "AccelMethod"           # <str>
        #Option     "DRI"                   # [<bool>]
        #Option     "ConnectorTable"        # <str>
        #Option     "DefaultConnectorTable"    # [<bool>]
        #Option     "DefaultTMDSPLL"        # [<bool>]
        #Option     "TVDACLoadDetect"       # [<bool>]
        #Option     "ForceTVOut"            # [<bool>]
        #Option     "TVStandard"            # <str>
        #Option     "IgnoreLidStatus"       # [<bool>]
        #Option     "DefaultTVDACAdj"       # [<bool>]
        #Option     "Int10"                 # [<bool>]
        #Option     "EXAVSync"              # [<bool>]
        #Option     "ATOMTVOut"             # [<bool>]
        #Option     "R4xxATOM"              # [<bool>]
        #Option     "ForceLowPowerMode"     # [<bool>]
        #Option     "DynamicPM"             # [<bool>]
        #Option     "NewPLL"                # [<bool>]
        #Option     "ZaphodHeads"           # <str>
   Identifier  "Card0"
   Driver      "radeon"
   BusID       "PCI:1:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
   Identifier "Screen0"
   Device     "Card0"
   Monitor    "Monitor0"
   SubSection "Display"
      Viewport   0 0
      Depth     1
   EndSubSection
   SubSection "Display"
      Viewport   0 0
      Depth     4
   EndSubSection
   SubSection "Display"
      Viewport   0 0
      Depth     8
   EndSubSection
   SubSection "Display"
      Viewport   0 0
      Depth     15
   EndSubSection
   SubSection "Display"
      Viewport   0 0
      Depth     16
   EndSubSection
   SubSection "Display"
      Viewport   0 0
      Depth     24
   EndSubSection
   SubSection "Display"
      Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768"
      Virtual 1280 1792
   EndSubSection
EndSection

_________________
Gentoo Studio: A Gentoo-based, professional digital audio workstation OS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 6347
Location: /usr/lib64/lv2

PostPosted: Thu Nov 17, 2011 2:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I read this and tried

Code:

xrandr --auto --output VGA-0 --mode 1024x768 --below DVI-0


Only to get

Code:

xrandr: screen cannot be larger than 1280x1280 (desired size 1024x1536)


I am simply not believing this card is that limited.
_________________
Gentoo Studio: A Gentoo-based, professional digital audio workstation OS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 6347
Location: /usr/lib64/lv2

PostPosted: Thu Nov 17, 2011 2:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I also find it difficult to believe I can't at least clone monitors, albeit at different resolutions. If I set the larger monitor to it's max resolution via arandr, the smaller one gets set to that resolution and since it doesn't have that resolution, displays only part of the desktop.
_________________
Gentoo Studio: A Gentoo-based, professional digital audio workstation OS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chithanh
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 2152
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Thu Nov 17, 2011 11:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Your xorg.conf contains way too much cruft. You need only one device and two monitor sections.

The limited resolution is because you still use UMS. You need to specify a large enough virtual size in xorg.conf before starting X when you use UMS.

http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/xorg-config.xml describes how to set up a static multi-monitor setup, and also how to configure your kernel for KMS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gorkypl
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Oct 2010
Posts: 444
Location: Kraków, PL

PostPosted: Fri Nov 18, 2011 1:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

As said above, migrate to KMS and remove this overloaded xorg.conf. I guess you may find my xorg.conf helpful (it's about 3 monitors, you should delete unnecessary lines).
Code:

Section "Monitor"
   Identifier   "NEC P221W"
   Option      "PreferredMode"   "1680x1050"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
   Identifier   "Eizo L568-1"
   Option      "PreferredMode"   "1280x1024"
   Option      "LeftOf"   "NEC P221W"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
   Identifier   "Eizo L568-2"
   Option      "PreferredMode"   "1280x1024"
    Option      "RightOf"   "NEC P221W"
EndSection

Section "Device"
   Identifier   "ATI 5750"
   Driver      "radeon"
   Option      "Monitor-DVI-1"       "NEC P221W"
   Option      "Monitor-HDMI-0"   "Eizo L568-1"
   Option      "Monitor-DisplayPort-0"   "Eizo L568-2"
   Option      "ColorTiling"       "on"
EndSection
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 6347
Location: /usr/lib64/lv2

PostPosted: Fri Nov 18, 2011 2:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, gorkypl. This is getting me somewhere, but I'm still missing something.

I checked my kernel config, and I already have KMS compiled in for my ATI card.

With your pared-down xorg.conf, modified for my specific system, this is what is now happening:

* X starts with the larger monitor at its full resolution.

* The smaller monitor starts with a virtual desktop larger than its physical size.

* The monitors are cloned (while I wondered that I should be able to do this, it's not actually my goal). What's on one is on the other, which is, well, pointless.

* This is where it gets interesting and makes me say I'm at least getting somewhere. If I move a window around on the smaller monitor and maximize it there, it maximizes to the smaller monitor, despite the rest of the desktop on that monitor being larger than the monitor's physical resolution. On the larger monitor, the window I just maximized on the smaller monitor isn't maximized until I move it away from the upper-left corner of the larger monitor, at which point it maximizes itself to the larger monitor. But, the window on the smaller monitor is then larger than the smaller monitor's physical resolution.

So I think I'm only a step or two away from making this work, as I can now see that my system recognizes two independently functioning monitors with different resolutions.

Here's my modified xorg.conf:
Code:

Section "Monitor"
        Identifier   "Westinghouse"
        option  "PreferredMode" "1280x1024"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
        Identifier   "Planar"
        Option  "PreferredMode" "1024x768"
EndSection


Section "Device"
        Identifier  "ATI RV370"
        Driver      "radeon"
        Option  "Monitor-DVI-0" "Westinghouse"
        Option  "Monitor-VGA-0" "Planar"
        Option  "ColorTiling"   "on"
EndSection


I just need to find whatever I'm missing to get these two monitors working as two monitors on one screen, not cloned, so I can open different programs on each monitor.

I assume that "Monitor-DVI-0" and "Monitor-VGA-0" are labeled that way because xrandr identifies my monitors as "DVI-0" and "VGA-0". Is this an incorrect assumption? Should I change "Monitor-DVI-0" to "DVI-0" and "Monitor-VGA-0" to "VGA-0"?
_________________
Gentoo Studio: A Gentoo-based, professional digital audio workstation OS.


Last edited by audiodef on Fri Nov 18, 2011 2:33 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chithanh
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 2152
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Fri Nov 18, 2011 2:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you don't want the monitors cloned, you need to specify "RightOf" or "LeftOf" in the monitor section of one monitor.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 6347
Location: /usr/lib64/lv2

PostPosted: Fri Nov 18, 2011 2:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

D'oh! After rambling on and on, I feel silly for having missed that. I added a "Below" option to my smaller monitor and now it works! :D

Now I have two things to iron out:

* Each monitor allows windows to maximize to that monitor, but the Fluxbox taskbar, which is now on the smaller, bottom monitor, stretches to the right past the end of the monitor. I think I have to do something to ~/.fluxbox/init, but not sure what.

* On the larger monitor, maximized windows leave a taskbar-sized space at the bottom of the monitor. I'm inclined to suspect this will be cleared up when I fix the problem above.
_________________
Gentoo Studio: A Gentoo-based, professional digital audio workstation OS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 6347
Location: /usr/lib64/lv2

PostPosted: Fri Nov 18, 2011 3:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Solved it. First I tried creating a copy of the session.screen0 section and naming it session.screen1, but that didn't do anything.

Then, while poking around in the taskbar menu, I noticed there was an "on head" option. Viola. Select the head you want the taskbar on. It was behaving the way I described above because it was on both. Set it to head 1 and problem solved.

chithanh and gorkypl, thanks! 8)
_________________
Gentoo Studio: A Gentoo-based, professional digital audio workstation OS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum