Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Isn't GTK+ 3 for GNOME 3?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ONEEYEMAN
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Mar 2005
Posts: 2789

PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2011 9:59 pm    Post subject: Isn't GTK+ 3 for GNOME 3? Reply with quote

Hi, ALL,

Code:

IgorReinCloud igor # emerge -pv gnome

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild  NS    ] x11-libs/gtk+-3.0.12-r1 [2.24.5-r1] USE="introspection (-aqua) -cups -debug -doc -examples -test -vim-syntax -xinerama" 12,810 kB
[ebuild  N     ] x11-themes/gnome-themes-standard-3.0.2  1,178 kB
[ebuild  N     ] gnome-base/dconf-0.8.0  USE="X -bash-completion -doc -vala" 164 kB
[ebuild     U  ] gnome-base/gnome-2.32.1-r1 [2.32.1] USE="cdr dvdr ldap policykit -accessibility -cups -mono" 0 kB

Total: 4 packages (1 upgrade, 2 new, 1 in new slot), Size of downloads: 14,150 kB


I thought GNOME 2.x will link to GTK+ 2 and GNOME 3 to GTK+ 3.

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VoidMage
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Oct 2006
Posts: 6194

PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2011 11:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, the slotting was done in such way, that utils shared between gtk versions are from gtk:2.

Most likely that gets changed at some point.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ONEEYEMAN
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Mar 2005
Posts: 2789

PostPosted: Sat Nov 05, 2011 4:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, I understand that.
The $100 question is: why pull GTK+ 3.x if it's supposed to be for GNOME 3 only?

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VoidMage
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Oct 2006
Posts: 6194

PostPosted: Sat Nov 05, 2011 4:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

...likely cause dconf[X] needs gtk3.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
neocrust
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Sep 2010
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sat Nov 05, 2011 6:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

GTK3 needed by dconf.
Just:
Code:
USE="-X" emerge dconf

:wink:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kimmie
Guru
Guru


Joined: 08 Sep 2004
Posts: 531
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sat Nov 05, 2011 1:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm running stable (gnome-light) and currently masking GTK+3 / Gnome 3:

Code:
# /etc/portage/package.mask
>gnome-base/gnome-light-2.32.1
=x11-libs/gtk+-3*
=gnome-base/dconf-0.8*
=x11-themes/gnome-themes-standard-3*
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum