X Memory Leak
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
IQgryn
l33t
l33t

PostPosted: Sun Oct 16, 2011 1:22 pm    Post subject: X Memory Leak Reply with quote

It seems like X has a memory leak -- it was using around 600 megs of ram, but xrestop only showed about 50 megs of stuff being used. This is on a session that has been around for about a month. Note that I'm by no means an expert in X and its memory usage, so I may be misunderstanding what xrestop covers.

Unfortunately while investigating this, I triggered the oom killer, so I don't have exact numbers.

Relevant packages (feel free to ask for other info if I've missed something):
kde 4.6.5
nvidia-drivers 275.09.07
xorg-server 1.10.4

I run KDE with compositing enabled, and my video card is an old GeForce 8600 GT, if that matters.

My questions are:
  • Has anyone else seen this?
  • How can I investigate it further in a week or two when the memory usage starts to creep up again?
I'm a developer by trade, so I'm not afraid of the command line or debuggers or even new tools; I've just not worked with X before, so I'm not sure where to start.
i92guboj
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva

PostPosted: Sun Oct 16, 2011 1:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What did the OOM killer kill?

If it was X, then the issue is probably related to nvidia drivers (you can check that by using nouveau or vesa in place of nvidia-drivers, and seeing if the problem can be reproduced.

If it was some other program which was killed it should be relatively easy to isolate and find the guilty.
IQgryn
l33t
l33t

PostPosted: Sun Oct 16, 2011 7:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It killed plasma-desktop, which is another high-memory process, but it only showed up as about 20 megs in xrestop. I don't recall what its total memory usage was, but it was well below X.