[SOLVED] AltGr key not working
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
ultraslinky
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Thu Oct 13, 2011 9:20 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED] AltGr key not working Reply with quote

Hello people of Gentoo;

I'm kind of a Gentoo noob, I've been using Gentoo for just about 3 months now. I love it, the system is much, much faster than Ubuntu, and it only takes 8 seconds to get to the login screen on my Samsung NC10 netbook (Ubuntu 10.10 takes 30 seconds and Win7 26 seconds).

I am now running an XFCE 4.8 desktop and i have configured everything i need and really, everything works like a charm. The only thing i can't get to work is a quite crucial feauture, which is the use of additional characters with the AltGr key (on the italian keymap). Simply put, standard on italian keymaps is for example AltGr + è = square bracket, Shift + AltGr + è = curly bracket. They are quite essential for programming and stuff like that! Also the "at" symbol is AltGr + ò and that doesn't work either! It seems like the AltGr key isn't seen at all, it makes no effect whatsoever. However, xev sees it, this is what it says when i press that AltGr key:

Code:
KeyPress event, serial 34, synthetic NO, window 0x1c00001,
    root 0xaa, subw 0x0, time 64535057, (-196,-66), root:(227,138),
    state 0x0, keycode 108 (keysym 0xff7e, Mode_switch), same_screen YES,
    XLookupString gives 0 bytes:
    XmbLookupString gives 0 bytes:
    XFilterEvent returns: False

I tried changing my locale into UTF8, but this has made no difference, other than make all my XFCE desktop into italian (which i don't really want)

Code:

james@Netbukkolo ~ $ locale
LANG=it_IT.UTF-8
LC_CTYPE="it_IT.UTF-8"
LC_NUMERIC="it_IT.UTF-8"
LC_TIME="it_IT.UTF-8"
LC_COLLATE="it_IT.UTF-8"
LC_MONETARY="it_IT.UTF-8"
LC_MESSAGES="it_IT.UTF-8"
LC_PAPER="it_IT.UTF-8"