Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
KDE Use values?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
newbie3781
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Oct 2011
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Thu Oct 06, 2011 5:39 am    Post subject: KDE Use values? Reply with quote

I am trying to emerge kde-meta and i get "the following use changes are nessacary to proceed?
Theres like 30 of them? is there any way to bypass this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
newbie3781
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Oct 2011
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Thu Oct 06, 2011 6:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i have tried everything even manually typing them in? they are all jumbled?

Heres what im looking at?

Quote:
http://tinypic.com/r/2lcu13k/7[/
quote]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 5573

PostPosted: Thu Oct 06, 2011 6:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

newbie3781 wrote:
i have tried everything even manually typing them in? they are all jumbled?

Heres what im looking at?

Quote:
http://tinypic.com/r/2lcu13k/7[/
quote]


because of your image I cannot help you specifically, but read this: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/handbook-x86.xml?part=2&chap=1

there are two types of situations here optional use flags and mandatory.

the optional can be solved by setting the right flag of for the right package.
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cach0rr0
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 13 Nov 2008
Posts: 4123
Location: Houston, Republic of Texas

PostPosted: Thu Oct 06, 2011 6:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

most of the use flags for kde will be set automatically simply by selecting the correct profile

do an

Code:

eselect profile list


you should see a 'desktop/kde' one in there

take note of it's number, then

Code:

eselect profile set <number>


For me the number is 4, so e.g. eselect profile set 4

then run env-update && source /etc/profile
and try to emerge kde-meta again; most of the blockers and USE will now be taken care of for you. For any that arent, see the USE documentation (which, will more often than not, mean simply adding a flag to make.conf)
_________________
Lost configuring your system?
dump lspci -n here | see Pappy's guide | Link Stash
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum