Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
QT over VNC display dithers ugly
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
spynacker
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Dec 2010
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Wed Dec 22, 2010 10:50 pm    Post subject: QT over VNC display dithers ugly Reply with quote

Hey guys,
I am trying to log into my Gentoo machine via vnc.
After some difficulties I managed to set everyting up, so that I would be able to login in kde.
The problem is the quality of the image: http://img443.imageshack.us/img443/1224/bildschirmfoto2x.png
The whole menu is messed up like this whereas other programs display just fine.
I have searched google for hours but did not find someone with the same problem(although many had weird pictures from kde over vnc).
Does anyone here recognize the problem or have any idea how to solve it?
Thanks in advance,
spynacker

PS:
Some data that might be interesting:
The resolution is 1024x768x24 but it is the same with every other depth.
I am using the radeon driver and everything is working fine on the physical display.
KDE is in Version 4.x


Last edited by spynacker on Sun Sep 18, 2011 9:25 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
spynacker
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Dec 2010
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Tue Dec 28, 2010 9:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried and used startx to see wether there are some errors and this is what it said:
Code:

xauth:  creating new authority file /home/ich/.serverauth.4134


X.Org X Server 1.9.2
Release Date: 2010-10-30
X Protocol Version 11, Revision 0
Build Operating System: Linux 2.6.34-gentoo-r12 i686 Gentoo
Current Operating System: Linux horst 2.6.34-gentoo-r12 #6 SMP Thu Oct 28 18:44:37 CEST 2010 i686
Kernel command line: root=/dev/hda3
Build Date: 27 December 2010  05:14:57PM

Current version of pixman: 0.18.2
        Before reporting problems, check http://wiki.x.org
        to make sure that you have the latest version.
Markers: (--) probed, (**) from config file, (==) default setting,
        (++) from command line, (!!) notice, (II) informational,
        (WW) warning, (EE) error, (NI) not implemented, (??) unknown.
(==) Log file: "/var/log/Xorg.0.log", Time: Tue Dec 28 21:38:34 2010
(==) Using system config directory "/usr/share/X11/xorg.conf.d"
(II) [KMS] drm report modesetting isn't supported.
(EE) open /dev/fb0: No such file or directory
FATAL: Module radeon not found.
(EE) RADEON(0): [dri] RADEONDRIGetVersion failed to open the DRM
[dri] Disabling DRI.
NTSC PAL
  XRANDR name: VGA-0
  Connector: VGA
  CRT1: INTERNAL_DAC1
  DDC reg: 0x60
  XRANDR name: LVDS
  Connector: LVDS
  LCD1: INTERNAL_LVDS
  DDC reg: 0x0
  XRANDR name: S-video
  Connector: S-video
  TV1: INTERNAL_DAC2
  DDC reg: 0x0
finished output detect: 0
finished output detect: 1
finished output detect: 2
finished all detect
error setting MTRR (base = 0xd0000000, size = 0x04000000, type = 1) Inappropriate ioctl for device (25)
Entering TV Save
Save TV timing tables
saveTimingTables: reading timing tables
TV Save done
disable primary dac
disable TV
init memmap
init common
init crtc1
init pll1
restore memmap
restore common
restore crtc1
restore pll1
set RMX
set LVDS
enable LVDS
disable primary dac
disable TV
(EE) SynPS/2 Synaptics TouchPad no synaptics event device found
(EE) Query no Synaptics: 6003C8
(EE) SynPS/2 Synaptics TouchPad Unable to query/initialize Synaptics hardware.
(EE) PreInit failed for input device "SynPS/2 Synaptics TouchPad"
/etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc: line 62: exec: xterm: not found
xinit: connection to X server lost

waiting for X server to shut down finished PLL2
finished PLL1
Entering Restore TV
Restore TV PLL
Restore TVHV
Restore TV Restarts
Restore Timing Tables
Restore TV standard
Leaving Restore TV
error setting MTRR (base = 0xd0000000, size = 0x04000000, type = 1) Inappropriate ioctl for device (25)

There are several errors but the ones at the beginning are the most suspicios to me.
Does someone know how to fix these?

I already rebuilt my kernel and some modules like x11-drivers/xf86-video-ati
because startx was complaining that kernel and module versions were not fitting.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
spynacker
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Dec 2010
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sun Sep 18, 2011 2:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Today I set up my new PC and again the same problem.
Image
Again it is ATI graphics (onboard HD 4230).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
spynacker
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Dec 2010
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sun Sep 18, 2011 8:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I found something out here http://superuser.com/questions/25611/how-to-avoid-ugly-dithering-when-running-kde-over-vnc.
It seems that vnc has a problem with the rendering of alpha-blended widgets which introduces ugly dithering effects and makes the
windows/fonts unreadable.

Can anyone tell if this is only a tightvnc issue or also on other vnc servers.
Also: Is realvnc available? I cannot find it as written here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
baaann
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Jan 2006
Posts: 552
Location: uk

PostPosted: Sun Sep 18, 2011 9:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Personally I use FreeNX for remote connections, but for VNC you could try tigervnc. Also it would be worth checking that you have libjpeg-turbo installed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
spynacker
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Dec 2010
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon Sep 19, 2011 1:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@baaann: To me tigervnc looks like it is only a client, but I only need a server.
I will give libjpeg-turbo a try but I don't think it will do much to this as it seems to be a general
problem of KDE over VNC (QT uses Porter-Duff which is not supported by VNC as it seems).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gusar
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 09 Apr 2005
Posts: 2665
Location: Slovenia

PostPosted: Mon Sep 19, 2011 3:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tigervnc has both a client and a server. And even an X module to turn your existing X into a vnc server.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
spynacker
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Dec 2010
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon Sep 19, 2011 6:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hm the description does not say that^^
Anyway I uninstalled KDE and use XFCE4 now which is better for my needs anyway.
Unfortunately I cannot get my VNC server started by xinetd with XFCE.
I tried the start-command in bash and this is what it gave me:
Code:

localhost ~ # Xvnc -query localhost -once -geometry 1680x1050 -depth 32 :49
19/09/11 20:30:47 Xvnc version TightVNC-1.3.10
19/09/11 20:30:47 Copyright (C) 2000-2009 TightVNC Group
19/09/11 20:30:47 Copyright (C) 1999 AT&T Laboratories Cambridge
19/09/11 20:30:47 All Rights Reserved.
19/09/11 20:30:47 See http://www.tightvnc.com/ for information on TightVNC
19/09/11 20:30:47 Desktop name 'x11' (localhost:49)
19/09/11 20:30:47 Protocol versions supported: 3.3, 3.7, 3.8, 3.7t, 3.8t
19/09/11 20:30:47 Listening for VNC connections on TCP port 5949

Fatal server error:
Couldn't add screen


Anyone knows how to solve this?
I already searched google a bit but they seem to have other problems then me.[/code]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gusar
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 09 Apr 2005
Posts: 2665
Location: Slovenia

PostPosted: Mon Sep 19, 2011 7:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

spynacker wrote:
Hm the description does not say that^^
tigervnc.org wrote:
TigerVNC is a suite of VNC servers and clients ...
Yeah... :)

Try tigervnc. It's in portage. Tightvnc is oooooooold. I have no experience with xinetd though, so maybe the problem is not in vnc but there, but I can't help with that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
spynacker
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Dec 2010
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon Sep 19, 2011 8:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@Gusar: I was talking about the description in portage, which says
Code:

*  net-misc/tigervnc
      Latest version available: 1.0.1_p20110618-r1
      Latest version installed: 1.0.1_p20110618-r1
      Size of files: 14,354 kB
      Homepage:      http://www.tigervnc.org
      Description:   Remote desktop viewer display system
      License:       GPL-2

for me. So it does not sound like there is a server.

Anyway I switched over to tigervnc but it gave me no luck.
Code:

Sep 20 06:48:03 localhost xinetd[19805]: START: vnc-1024x768x8 pid=19808 from=192.168.0.6
Sep 20 06:48:03 localhost xinetd[19808]: FAIL: vnc-1024x768x8 address from=192.168.0.6
Sep 20 06:48:03 localhost xinetd[19805]: EXIT: vnc-1024x768x8 status=0 pid=19808 duration=0(sec)


How do I get the error that vnc puts out?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum