Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Firefox 6 on Gentoo?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
oneup
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Sep 2011
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Thu Sep 15, 2011 5:10 pm    Post subject: Firefox 6 on Gentoo? Reply with quote

Hi all,

How can I get Firefox 6 to run on Gentoo? The ebuild for firefox is of an ancient version (3.6) and when I try to run the binary from firefox.com I get this error:
Code:

./firefox-bin: error while loading shared libraries: libasound.so.2: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory


I also tried compiling it from source but when I try to run /browser/app/firefox I get this error:
Code:

Cannot find Aurora runtime directory. Exiting.

When I run /browser/app/firefox-bin I get this:
Code:

./firefox-bin: error while loading shared libraries: libmozalloc.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory


Can anyone help me to get it working?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dirkfanick
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Jan 2011
Posts: 201
Location: germany - hamburg

PostPosted: Thu Sep 15, 2011 5:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ls /usr/portage/www-client/firefox/
ChangeLog firefox-3.6.17.ebuild firefox-6.0.ebuild
files firefox-3.6.18.ebuild Manifest
firefox-3.6.12.ebuild firefox-3.6.20.ebuild metadata.xml



Unmask it and try to install it.

Or use the bin-file:

emerge /usr/portage/www-client/firefox-bin/firefox-bin-6.0.ebuild
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
barul
Guru
Guru


Joined: 28 May 2010
Posts: 434

PostPosted: Thu Sep 15, 2011 7:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

firefox-6 is avaiable from portage, so you've to do as for other packages.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
oneup
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Sep 2011
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Thu Sep 15, 2011 7:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dirkfanick wrote:
ls /usr/portage/www-client/firefox/
ChangeLog firefox-3.6.17.ebuild firefox-6.0.ebuild
files firefox-3.6.18.ebuild Manifest
firefox-3.6.12.ebuild firefox-3.6.20.ebuild metadata.xml



Unmask it and try to install it.

Or use the bin-file:

emerge /usr/portage/www-client/firefox-bin/firefox-bin-6.0.ebuild


What do you mean by unmasking?

firefox-bin-6.0.ebuild does not exist in /usr/portage/www-client/firefox-bin.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
neonl
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 15 Jul 2007
Posts: 100
Location: Portugal

PostPosted: Thu Sep 15, 2011 8:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

oneup, when was the time you last ran 'emerge --sync'?

On my system, synced a coupple of hours ago:
Code:
$ ls /usr/portage/www-client/firefox-bin/
ChangeLog                  firefox-bin-3.6.18.ebuild  firefox-bin-6.0.ebuild
files                      firefox-bin-3.6.20.ebuild  Manifest
firefox-bin-3.6.17.ebuild  firefox-bin-3.6.21.ebuild  metadata.xml


But yeah, latest stable version in Portage is 3.6.20, so if you want bleeding-edge and you are using a stable system you need to add "www-client/firefox-bin" to your /etc/portage/package.keywords (i.e., unmask ~arch for it).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John R. Graham
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2005
Posts: 10459
Location: Somewhere over Atlanta, Georgia

PostPosted: Thu Sep 15, 2011 8:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

oneup wrote:
What do you mean by unmasking?
See Mixing Software Branches from the Gentoo Handbook. You have read the Handbook, haven't you? :wink:

- John
_________________
I can confirm that I have received between 0 and 499 National Security Letters.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7711
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Fri Sep 16, 2011 12:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
$ eix firefox
[I] www-client/firefox
     Available versions:  *3.6.12 3.6.17 3.6.20 (~)3.6.21 (~)3.6.22 (~)6.0

Cannot believe stable is so far behind ... OTOH Debian Stable is at 3.5.16-9. 8O
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RedSquirrel
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 Apr 2008
Posts: 336

PostPosted: Fri Sep 16, 2011 1:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jaglover wrote:
Code:
$ eix firefox
[I] www-client/firefox
     Available versions:  *3.6.12 3.6.17 3.6.20 (~)3.6.21 (~)3.6.22 (~)6.0

Cannot believe stable is so far behind ...

It's not that unusual. It's the reason I keyword firefox (and thunderbird) on a mostly stable system. It can take a while for stabilization to occur in the case that the latest version is in the tree. In the case that the latest version is not in the tree, I'll bump it in my local overlay (which I've had to do a few times over the years).


Jaglover wrote:
OTOH Debian Stable is at 3.5.16-9.

This is a bit off-topic, but that's not as bad as it looks. Debian backports recent upstream fixes into their iceweasel program. They do a fairly reasonable job of keeping up with the upstream MFSA. The iceweasel changelog lists the MFSA covered by each upgrade to iceweasel. (When I run Debian, I usually keep up with the latest firefox from Mozilla manually [under /opt]; I simply prefer it.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 5588

PostPosted: Fri Sep 16, 2011 4:48 am    Post subject: Re: Firefox 6 on Gentoo? Reply with quote

oneup wrote:
Hi all,

How can I get Firefox 6 to run on Gentoo? The ebuild for firefox is of an ancient version (3.6) and when I try to run the binary from firefox.com I get this error:
Code:

./firefox-bin: error while loading shared libraries: libasound.so.2: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory


I also tried compiling it from source but when I try to run /browser/app/firefox I get this error:
Code:

Cannot find Aurora runtime directory. Exiting.

When I run /browser/app/firefox-bin I get this:
Code:

./firefox-bin: error while loading shared libraries: libmozalloc.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory


Can anyone help me to get it working?


your immediate fix for this particular problem is emerging gentoolkit and running revdep-rebuild.
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
oneup
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Sep 2011
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Fri Sep 16, 2011 8:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

John R. Graham wrote:
oneup wrote:
What do you mean by unmasking?
See Mixing Software Branches from the Gentoo Handbook. You have read the Handbook, haven't you? :wink:

- John


Ehm I have to admit, only the installation section :oops:
I went through the link you posted and if I got it right masked packages should be in /usr/portage/profiles/package.mask, I can't find firefox in there. I tried adding "www-client/firefox-bin" to my package.keywords but "emerge firefox" keeps installing 3.6.20. I also tried "www-client/firefox-bin ~x86", "www-client/firefox-bin-6.0" and "www-client/firefox-bin-6.0 ~x86" but 3.6.20 keeps getting installed.

I did get 6.0 installed by running "emerge --sync" and "emerge /usr/portage/www-client/firefox-bin/firefox-bin-6.0.ebuild" :)

And firefox 6 now starts, thanks again everyone :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John R. Graham
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2005
Posts: 10459
Location: Somewhere over Atlanta, Georgia

PostPosted: Fri Sep 16, 2011 10:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

oneup wrote:
I tried adding "www-client/firefox-bin" to my package.keywords but "emerge firefox" keeps installing 3.6.20.
Why wouldn't it? You unmask A and note that there's no effect on B. Try emerging firefox-bin instead. (Which is what you eventually did by circuitous means.) :P

- John
_________________
I can confirm that I have received between 0 and 499 National Security Letters.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Galumph
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 15 Jul 2010
Posts: 122
Location: Israel

PostPosted: Fri Sep 16, 2011 11:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

oneup wrote:

I did get 6.0 installed by running "emerge --sync" and "emerge /usr/portage/www-client/firefox-bin/firefox-bin-6.0.ebuild" :)

And firefox 6 now starts, thanks again everyone :)

You might wanna run emerge --sync every now and then. Some people do it weekly or even daily. Whichever suits you best. Also be sure to run "emerge -uDNa world" to upgrade all of your packages, you seem to be at least a year behind things.

Reading the handbook is also recommended.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dirkfanick
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Jan 2011
Posts: 201
Location: germany - hamburg

PostPosted: Fri Sep 16, 2011 4:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If firefox-6.0 won't be unmasked it will be downgraded on next update.

So do the unmask. Or write an ACCEPTKEYWORDS="~x86" in your make.conf and get a real overall-bleeding-edge unstable gentoo.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bandreabis
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Feb 2005
Posts: 2453
Location: イタリアのロディで

PostPosted: Sat Sep 17, 2011 10:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

dirkfanick wrote:
If firefox-6.0 won't be unmasked it will be downgraded on next update.

So do the unmask. Or write an ACCEPTKEYWORDS="~x86" in your make.conf and get a real overall-bleeding-edge unstable gentoo.


Do not put things like this in people minds! Even joking!
Code:
echo www-client/firefox ~x86 >> /etc/portage/package.keywords

_________________
Il numero di post non fa di me un esperto! Anzi!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 46376
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Sep 17, 2011 11:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

dirkfanick,

If you want to run an all ~arch system you need to be able to put the pieces back together when it breaks.
That may suit users who know what they are doing with Gentoo but not users who are still learning about masking.

Some packages, like glibc cannot be downgraded, so in general there is no way back from ~arch to arch. You would have to mask everything and wait for stable to catch you up.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dirkfanick
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Jan 2011
Posts: 201
Location: germany - hamburg

PostPosted: Sat Sep 17, 2011 3:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No risk no fun!

Users have different ideas about using gentoo.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
franzf
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 29 Mar 2005
Posts: 4547

PostPosted: Sun Sep 18, 2011 5:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

dirkfanick wrote:
No risk no fun!

Users have different ideas about using gentoo.

Only because YOU love the risk, it does not mean that others will have fun with it. I love highball bouldering. Whenn you ask about how to have fun in the nature, and I would suggest "go out and have some highballs", would you do so?

In this case your advice was really dangerous, as one could have seen that oneup does not really know what you told him and probably it would have f***ed up his Installation.

So next time think twice about how the way you would go in a certain situation and the person asking for help fit together. People with big problems and little knowledge tend to try all solutions they get offered withou thinking about the side effects.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
oneup
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Sep 2011
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Mon Sep 19, 2011 12:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

franzf wrote:

In this case your advice was really dangerous, as one could have seen that oneup does not really know what you told him and probably it would have f***ed up his Installation.

So next time think twice about how the way you would go in a certain situation and the person asking for help fit together. People with big problems and little knowledge tend to try all solutions they get offered withou thinking about the side effects.


+1, Hehe.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
D-LINC
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 31 Jan 2011
Posts: 135
Location: Alaska

PostPosted: Tue Sep 20, 2011 12:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wow, it does seem surprising that stable isn't even on 4 yet. But probably not so amazing considering Mozilla's recent decision to go Rambo with the version numbers. New major version every 3 months, I think.

Just curious: has bleeding edge Firefox always been in the main portage tree, or are the devs trying to sync up with the Mozilla overlay? (I added the overlay a while ago to get 5.0 and the latest Thunderbird.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Yamakuzure
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 21 Jun 2006
Posts: 2277
Location: Bardowick, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Sep 20, 2011 1:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

firefox 4 and 5 have been in the tree, too. But why keep them? So it is stable 3.* and unstable 6* now.
_________________
Important German:
  1. "Aha" - German reaction to pretend that you are really interested while giving no f*ck.
  2. "Tja" - German reaction to the apocalypse, nuclear war, an alien invasion or no bread in the house.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wolfieh
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Nov 2009
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Tue Sep 20, 2011 3:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

been using the 6.0 ebuild since a while, seems pretty stable. Also runs noticeably faster than 3.6
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cach0rr0
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 13 Nov 2008
Posts: 4123
Location: Houston, Republic of Texas

PostPosted: Tue Sep 20, 2011 6:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

oneup wrote:
I also tried "www-client/firefox-bin ~x86", "www-client/firefox-bin-6.0" and "www-client/firefox-bin-6.0 ~x86" but 3.6.20 keeps getting installed.


this is generally because you're missing $something still needed to make the package available. portage will not tell you "I'm going to emerge version $foo. I would emerge version $bar, looks like that's newer, except your settings prevent me from merging version $bar because it's masked/keyworded/whatever, so instead I'll merge version $foo"

easiest way to determine the value of $something?

emerge an explicit version of the package, e.g.

Code:

emerge -pv =www-client/firefox-bin-6.0


The '=' is key

that will generally show you if it's a keyword issue, a mask issue, or whatever else. Play whack-a-mole and knock out blockers as they come up.

Generally ill-advised to do an 'emerge /path/to/somepackage.ebuild'
_________________
Lost configuring your system?
dump lspci -n here | see Pappy's guide | Link Stash
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum