Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Audio via HDMI [SOLVED]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Makro
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Feb 2010
Posts: 132

PostPosted: Sun Sep 11, 2011 6:21 pm    Post subject: Audio via HDMI [SOLVED] Reply with quote

Hi there. I have a new nvidia GTS 250 what has HDMI out. I have connected this card to my A/V receiver and there I have 5.1 speakers. How to get it works ? Thanks for reply :)

Last edited by Makro on Sun Sep 18, 2011 4:12 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cdstealer
Guru
Guru


Joined: 30 Oct 2005
Posts: 431
Location: Leeds

PostPosted: Sun Sep 11, 2011 7:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You will need to compile the Intel/Nvidia HD audio driver in the kernel:

Code:
  │   Location:                                                                                                 │ 
  │     -> Device Drivers                                                                                       │ 
  │       -> Sound card support (SOUND [=y])                                                                    │ 
  │         -> Advanced Linux Sound Architecture (SND [=y])                                                     │ 
  │           -> PCI sound devices (SND_PCI [=y])                                                               │ 
  │             -> Intel HD Audio (SND_HDA_INTEL [=y])                                                          │ 

_________________
# touch it
touch: cannot touch `it': Permission denied
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Makro
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Feb 2010
Posts: 132

PostPosted: Sun Sep 11, 2011 8:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok.and now ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 8291
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Sun Sep 11, 2011 8:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Now you need to load nVidia proprietary Xorg driver, in my experience nVidia HDMI audio cannot be enabled and used from CLI.
_________________
My Gentoo installation notes.
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Makro
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Feb 2010
Posts: 132

PostPosted: Sun Sep 11, 2011 8:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

? .. I use new kernel and I don't know what to do next. I started my X and it doesn't work. I enabled everything in alsa sound but still nothing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 8291
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Sun Sep 11, 2011 8:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

First, issue this command:
Code:
aplay --list-devices|grep -i HDMI

which will display something like this:
Code:
card 0: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]

what you see goes into /etc/asound.conf:
Code:
pcm.!default {
    type hw
    card 0
    device 3
}
ctl.!default {
    type hw
    card 0
    device 3
}

That is if you want it to be systemwide ALSA out device.
_________________
My Gentoo installation notes.
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Makro
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Feb 2010
Posts: 132

PostPosted: Sun Sep 11, 2011 9:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

after I type
Code:
aplay --list-devices|grep -i HDMI
, there is nothing.And in pulse audio is Digital Stereo Duplex. Is this what I want ? Or I forget add something to my kernel ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 8291
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Sun Sep 11, 2011 9:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If there's nothing you did not enable correct driver under Intel HD Audio, below is mine

Code:
--- Intel HD Audio
[ ]   Build hwdep interface for HD-audio driver   
[ ]   Support digital beep via input layer   
[ ]   Support jack plugging notification via input layer     
[ ]   Support initialization patch loading for HD-audio     
[*]   Build Realtek HD-audio codec support                   
[ ]   Build Analog Device HD-audio codec support     
[ ]   Build IDT/Sigmatel HD-audio codec support     
[ ]   Build VIA HD-audio codec support     
[*]   Build HDMI/DisplayPort HD-audio codec support 
[ ]   Build Cirrus Logic codec support     
[ ]   Build Conexant HD-audio codec support     
[ ]   Build Creative CA0110-IBG codec support   
[ ]   Build C-Media HD-audio codec support       
[ ]   Build Silicon Labs 3054 HD-modem codec support   
[ ]   Enable generic HD-audio codec parser     
[ ]   Aggressive power-saving on HD-audio   


Use
Code:
aplay -l
to find out what chip you have.
_________________
My Gentoo installation notes.
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Makro
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Feb 2010
Posts: 132

PostPosted: Mon Sep 12, 2011 1:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

my kernel
Code:
--- Intel HD Audio
-*-   Build hwdep interface for HD-audio driver
-*-     Allow dynamic codec reconfiguration (EXPERIMENTAL)
[*]   Support digital beep via input layer
(1)     Digital beep registration mode (0=off, 1=on, 2=mute sw on
[*]   Support jack plugging notification via input layer
[*]   Support initialization patch loading for HD-audio
[*]   Build Realtek HD-audio codec support
[*]   Build Analog Device HD-audio codec support
[*]   Build IDT/Sigmatel HD-audio codec support
[*]   Build VIA HD-audio codec support                     
[*]   Build HDMI/DisplayPort HD-audio codec support     
[*]   Build Cirrus Logic codec support                         
[*]   Build Conexant HD-audio codec support                       
[*]   Build Creative CA0110-IBG codec support           
[*]   Build C-Media HD-audio codec support 
[*]   Build Silicon Labs 3054 HD-modem codec support
[*]   Enable generic HD-audio codec parser
[ ]   Aggressive power-saving on HD-audio


and
Code:
aplay -l
shows this:
Code:
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: Intel [HDA Intel], device 0: ALC889A Analog [ALC889A Analog]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: Intel [HDA Intel], device 1: ALC889A Digital [ALC889A Digital]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

But nVidia is nowhere.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 8291
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Mon Sep 12, 2011 1:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, things to check:

Are you running the kernel you think you are? uname -v will print compilation time.
Are you using nVidia proprietary driver?

Edit: I tried Google and found this: https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?pid=769737
Apparently your kernel has to be fairly new to get it working, otherwise you need to use out-of-kernel ALSA drivers.

Tip: You can Google yourself, too. :wink:
_________________
My Gentoo installation notes.
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Makro
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Feb 2010
Posts: 132

PostPosted: Mon Sep 12, 2011 1:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
uname -v

Code:
#2 SMP Sun Sep 11 22:10:05 CEST 2011

I made this kernel yesterday.
When is the one that installs when in make.conf is VIDEO_CARDS="nvidia" , so yes.
Btw. My hdmi is via my receiver. Its connected PC > Receiver > Monitor, and speakers is from receiver. But idk why it doesn't shows nVidia HDMI.
I can install windows on other hard drive, and when it will works, card is ok.

EDIT: Wait a second. I go to read arch forum..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 8291
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Mon Sep 12, 2011 2:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you build ALSA drivers as modules? What's the output of lsmod? It will not work without correct kernel driver loaded. It has to show up with aplay -l.
_________________
My Gentoo installation notes.
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Makro
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Feb 2010
Posts: 132

PostPosted: Mon Sep 12, 2011 2:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

no no.my alsa is build in. I have to compile it as drive and loaded modules is only for virtual box.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 8291
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Mon Sep 12, 2011 2:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/alsa-guide.xml

It advises to build ALSA as modules so you can have better control over it.
_________________
My Gentoo installation notes.
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Makro
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Feb 2010
Posts: 132

PostPosted: Mon Sep 12, 2011 3:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok.I installed is as module and I am on new kernel but still it cant find nvidia HDMI.
This is my lsmod
Code:
snd_seq_dummy           1255  0
snd_seq_oss            23915  0
snd_seq_midi_event      4700  1 snd_seq_oss
snd_seq                41992  5 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi_event
snd_seq_device          4617  3 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq
snd_pcm_oss            32009  0
snd_mixer_oss          12329  1 snd_pcm_oss
vboxnetflt             12749  0
vboxdrv              1752875  1 vboxnetflt
nvidia              11748926  30
snd_hda_codec_realtek   273922  1
snd_hda_intel          19146  2
snd_hda_codec          61611  2 snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hda_intel
snd_hwdep               5266  1 snd_hda_codec
snd_pcm                61498  4 snd_pcm_oss,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec
snd_timer              15797  2 snd_seq,snd_pcm
snd                    46973  14 snd_seq_oss,snd_seq,snd_seq_device,snd_pcm_oss,snd_mixer_oss,snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_hwdep,snd_pcm,snd_timer
snd_page_alloc          6107  2 snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm


I tried alsaconf but it says "No supported PnP or PCI card found"
and uname -v shows actual kernel :/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 8291
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Mon Sep 12, 2011 3:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, HDMI module is not loaded. Why ... I don't know. Are you sure this device is not disabled in hardware, have you examined your dmesg for errors?

I did some more google and it seems this card is giving headaches to Windows users, too.

If I had such a problem I'd go to ALSA and nVidia forums for help.
_________________
My Gentoo installation notes.
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FishB8
l33t
l33t


Joined: 17 Mar 2003
Posts: 820

PostPosted: Tue Sep 13, 2011 4:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Check and make sure that it is even being found on the PCI bus.

Code:
lspci -v


Look for a device that reads something similar to:
Code:
Audio device: nVidia Corporation Device {device id foo here}
...
...
Kernel Driver is use: HDA Intel
Kernel modules: snd-hda-intel


If the device is not found in the listing then something is not correct and your system does not even see it. If it is listed, but no kernel driver is listed for the device, then something is not set correctly with the kernel driver.

Also, the Nvidia display driver should have no bearing on the audio portion. They are separate devices.
_________________
"...as we enjoy great advantages from the inventions of others, we should be glad of an opportunity to serve others by any invention of ours, and this we should do freely and generously." -Benjamin Franklin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 8291
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Tue Sep 13, 2011 7:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

HDMI port happens to be on graphics card. Even with my onboard ION no sound comes thru without loading video driver.
_________________
My Gentoo installation notes.
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gimpel
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 15 Oct 2004
Posts: 2720
Location: Munich, Bavaria

PostPosted: Tue Sep 13, 2011 9:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have a GT 430 - not sure if it is the same audio chipset, but I guess the config is the same.
You do not need the video driver for audio to work.

The trick is to set a probe mask for ALSA. Following configures two Intel HDA devices - the onboard, and the nVidia HDMI (I even have a 3rd card, ice1712 based, but left it out here)

/etc/modprobe.d/alsa.conf
Code:
options snd cards_limit=2
options snd slots=snd-hda-intel,snd-hda-intel
# the Nvidia HDMI
alias snd-card-0 snd-hda-intel
alias sound-slot-0 snd-hda-intel
# the onboard ATI hda
alias snd-card-1 snd-hda-intel
alias sound-slot-1 snd-hda-intel
options snd-hda-intel index=0,1 model=6stack-dig,auto probe_mask=-1,0x108

_________________
http://proaudio.tuxfamily.org/wiki - pro-audio software overlay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Makro
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Feb 2010
Posts: 132

PostPosted: Tue Sep 13, 2011 2:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So. I just have to edit this file ?
Add this lines ?
Code:
# the Nvidia HDMI
alias snd-card-0 snd-hda-intel
alias sound-slot-0 snd-hda-intel


and edit cards limit to 2 ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gimpel
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 15 Oct 2004
Posts: 2720
Location: Munich, Bavaria

PostPosted: Wed Sep 14, 2011 11:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The last line is the important one.
You do not need the snd-card/sound-slot lines actually.
Also, my options are for ATI Azalia + GT430 and will most likely not work for you.

For your onboard ALC889 and the GTS 250 the correct one should be:
Code:
options snd cards_limit=2
options snd-hda-intel probe_mask=0xffff,0xfff2

modprobe.d only works when ALSA is compiled as modules. Otherwhise you need to set boot parameters.
_________________
http://proaudio.tuxfamily.org/wiki - pro-audio software overlay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Makro
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Feb 2010
Posts: 132

PostPosted: Fri Sep 16, 2011 4:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok. I bought a new gtx 460. in alsamixer I can select nvidia as audio device.look:
Code:
http://img821.imageshack.us/img821/2528/201109161801171920x1080.png

but when I do it, there is just this:
Code:
http://img148.imageshack.us/img148/3293/201109161803081920x1080.png

What to do now ? thx for reply.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cdstealer
Guru
Guru


Joined: 30 Oct 2005
Posts: 431
Location: Leeds

PostPosted: Fri Sep 16, 2011 4:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have that on my Nvidia HDMI. I forget the reason why you don't have control over the mixer, but it works.

Does that mean you are getting audio now?
_________________
# touch it
touch: cannot touch `it': Permission denied
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Makro
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Feb 2010
Posts: 132

PostPosted: Fri Sep 16, 2011 4:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

no.I don't :/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cdstealer
Guru
Guru


Joined: 30 Oct 2005
Posts: 431
Location: Leeds

PostPosted: Fri Sep 16, 2011 4:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok.. in alsamixer if you press F6, what do you get?

Code:
┌────────────────────── AlsaMixer v1.0.23 ──────────────────────┐
│ Card: HDA NVidia                      F1:  Help               │
│ Chip: Nvidia MCP79/7A HDMI            F2:  System information │
│ View: Playback                        F6:  Select sound card  │
│ Item: S/PDIF                          Esc: Exit               │
│                                                               │
│                                                               │
│                                                               │
│                                                               │
│                   ┌───── Sound Card ──────┐                   │
│                   │-  (default)           │                   │
│                   │0  HDA NVidia          │                   │
│                   │   enter device name...│                   │
│                   └───────────────────────┘                   │
│                             └──┘                              │
│                          < S/PDIF >                           │
│                                                               │
│                                                               │
│                                                               │
│                                                               │
│                                                               │
│                                                               │
│                                                               │
└───────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────┘

_________________
# touch it
touch: cannot touch `it': Permission denied
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum