Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Completely block Gnome 3, how ?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
warrawarra
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 May 2007
Posts: 84

PostPosted: Tue Sep 06, 2011 11:05 pm    Post subject: Completely block Gnome 3, how ? Reply with quote

Hi there.
I only need good old gnome-base/gnome-2.32.1

I need to completely block / blacklist / mask anything Gnome3 related.
I have already set package.mask to gnome >gnome-base/gnome-2.32.1 same for package.keywords =gnome-base/gnome-2.32.1 ** .

Do I need to block gnome-base/gnome-desktop-3* as well ?
Will this be enough to stop this "horrible disaster gnome 3" and it's related problems ?

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 7587
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Wed Sep 07, 2011 12:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you using any portage overlays, can you temporarily disable them?

If you have ~x86 or ~anything, try disabling that while building gnome?
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jak137
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Oct 2005
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Tue Nov 08, 2011 9:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I want to keep this gnome3 thing out of my system too...
Hopefully, Gentoo will be giving us the choice for as long time as possible.

My recent additions to /etc/portage/package.mask:
Code:

>=x11-libs/gtk+-3.0
>=gnome-base/dconf-0.8.0
>=x11-themes/gnome-themes-standard-3.0
>=gnome-base/gnome-2.32.1-r1


(interestingly, for some reason gnome-2.32.1-r1 pulls some of the 3.0 stuff...)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sgarcia
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 May 2003
Posts: 254
Location: Bakersfield, CA

PostPosted: Tue Nov 08, 2011 9:31 pm    Post subject: Re: Completely block Gnome 3, how ? Reply with quote

warrawarra wrote:
Hi there.
I only need good old gnome-base/gnome-2.32.1

I need to completely block / blacklist / mask anything Gnome3 related.
I have already set package.mask to gnome >gnome-base/gnome-2.32.1 same for package.keywords =gnome-base/gnome-2.32.1 ** .

Do I need to block gnome-base/gnome-desktop-3* as well ?
Will this be enough to stop this "horrible disaster gnome 3" and it's related problems ?

Thanks.


Did you ever get an answer to this? I'm in the same boat. So far, despite several components of Gnome 3 sneaking in, my 2.32 continues to work, but I'm not very confident that that will continue.

I'm a little afraid to do an update for fear that things will break. Or worse, that I'll end up with a Gnome3 non-desktop.
_________________
Ignorance killed the cat. Curiosity was framed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
keenblade
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2004
Posts: 1087

PostPosted: Tue Nov 08, 2011 11:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If it is just the look for you to reject gnome3, you can use "gnome-fallback" session. That will give you a gnome2 interface with gnome3. Actually I think gnome3 is now very stable, use less ram, etc.
_________________
Anyway it's all the same at the end...
Need help to get it working: "x-fi surround 5.1"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sgarcia
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 May 2003
Posts: 254
Location: Bakersfield, CA

PostPosted: Wed Nov 09, 2011 1:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's not just the look.

Does Fallback support bonobo applets? Compiz? Sloppy focus with no auto-raise?

If it does, I might reconsider, but knowing how hostile the Gnome devs have always been towards sloppy focus in particular, I don't have very high hopes.
_________________
Ignorance killed the cat. Curiosity was framed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
keenblade
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2004
Posts: 1087

PostPosted: Wed Nov 09, 2011 8:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

sgarcia wrote:
It's not just the look.

Does Fallback support bonobo applets? Compiz? Sloppy focus with no auto-raise?

If it does, I might reconsider, but knowing how hostile the Gnome devs have always been towards sloppy focus in particular, I don't have very high hopes.

You can use gnome 3's fallback mode with compiz. There are people using it with compiz. I did not tried myself, since compiz don't even compile here. And I think with the gnome-tweak-tool, you can adjust many things. For sloppy focus with no auto-raise:

Code:

gconftool-2 --type string --set /apps/metacity/general/focus_mode sloppy


Also take a look at [GNOME 3] Gnome-Shell extensions, if you happened to try gnome-shell for applets and extensions.
_________________
Anyway it's all the same at the end...
Need help to get it working: "x-fi surround 5.1"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sgarcia
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 May 2003
Posts: 254
Location: Bakersfield, CA

PostPosted: Thu Nov 10, 2011 7:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's encouraging that Compiz works in fallback. Some of those extensions look good -- are they only available if you're using Gnome Shell, or do they work in fallback as well? How about launchers on the panel in fallback?

Yeah, I know how to set sloppy focus in Metacity (and in Compiz) so if fallback uses Metacity as its WM (or alternatively Compiz) then that may be solved as well.

Does a new invocation of an app (specifically a terminal) create a new window by default, or does it try to switch to an existing Window? At any given moment I have a dozen or more terminals live. It would be irritating to have to do something extra to insist on a new instance.
_________________
Ignorance killed the cat. Curiosity was framed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
keenblade
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2004
Posts: 1087

PostPosted: Thu Nov 10, 2011 8:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sgarcia wrote:
Some of those extensions look good -- are they only available if you're using Gnome Shell, or do they work in fallback as well? How about launchers on the panel in fallback?.

Since I don't use those extensions, yet, I don't know if they also work in fallback mode. Also the launchers on the panel in fallback is the same like on gnome2., but just a little prettier.

Quote:
Yeah, I know how to set sloppy focus in Metacity (and in Compiz) so if fallback uses Metacity as its WM (or alternatively Compiz) then that may be solved as well.

Default seems like to be metacity in fallback:
Code:

ps -ef | grep meta
1000     26051 25963  0 22:02 ?        00:00:00 metacity

Quote:
Does a new invocation of an app (specifically a terminal) create a new window by default, or does it try to switch to an existing Window? At any given moment I have a dozen or more terminals live. It would be irritating to have to do something extra to insist on a new instance.

The behavior is just the way you want. If you like, you can have desktop icons, as well.
Also, the overall, it is more speedy and less ram hungry than gnome2 here. All apps are better in my opinion.
Desktop response is very nice. Everything works like charm with both ati and nouveau open source drivers.
_________________
Anyway it's all the same at the end...
Need help to get it working: "x-fi surround 5.1"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
someoneG
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Nov 2011
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sat Nov 26, 2011 2:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, I registered because i wanted to ask for more details. I do not feel like using gnome3 at all.
I simply want to keep g2 and want to discuss HOW to approach that problem and not discuss why g3 is better than g2 or why I should get g3 and use the fallback mode or anything else.

So is there a way to safely mask gnome3 again?
I am currently trying to /etc/portage/package.mask anything that looks like g3.
Do you guys and gals have any lists of packages to mask?

greetz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
golagoda
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Jun 2011
Posts: 105
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sat Nov 26, 2011 6:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

someoneG wrote:
Hi, I registered because i wanted to ask for more details. I do not feel like using gnome3 at all.
I simply want to keep g2 and want to discuss HOW to approach that problem and not discuss why g3 is better than g2 or why I should get g3 and use the fallback mode or anything else.

So is there a way to safely mask gnome3 again?
I am currently trying to /etc/portage/package.mask anything that looks like g3.
Do you guys and gals have any lists of packages to mask?

greetz

First off, welcome to the forums :p

Secondly, on my portage package.mask (the one synced from portage tree) these are the packages masked to mask GNOME3 / 3.2

Code:

>=dev-libs/libgweather-3.0
>=gnome-base/libgnomekbd-3.0
=media-libs/libcanberra-0.28-r4
# Core Applications
>=app-accessibility/orca-3.0
>=gnome-base/gdm-3.0
>=gnome-base/gnome-applets-3.0
>=gnome-base/gnome-keyring-3.0
>=gnome-base/gnome-menus-3.0
>=gnome-base/gnome-panel-3.0
>=gnome-base/gnome-session-3.0
>=gnome-base/gnome-settings-daemon-3.0
>=gnome-base/gnome-control-center-3.0
>=gnome-base/gnome-shell-3.0
>=gnome-base/libgnome-keyring-3.0
>=gnome-base/nautilus-3.0
>=x11-wm/metacity-2.34
>=x11-wm/mutter-3.0
# Extra Applications
>=app-arch/file-roller-3.0
>=app-cdr/brasero-3.0
>=app-crypt/seahorse-3.0
>=app-editors/gedit-3.0
>=app-editors/gedit-plugins-3.0
>=app-text/gtranslator-2.90
>=app-text/evince-3.0
>=dev-util/anjuta-3.0
>=app-pda/gtkpod-2.1.0
>=dev-util/devhelp-3.0
>=gnome-extra/drwright-3.0
>=gnome-extra/evolution-data-server-3.0
>=gnome-extra/evolution-exchange-3.0
>=gnome-extra/gcalctool-6.0
>=gnome-extra/gconf-editor-3.0
>=gnome-extra/gnome-color-manager-3.0
>=gnome-extra/gnome-games-3.0
>=gnome-extra/gnome-games-extra-data-3.0
>=gnome-extra/gnome-media-2.32.0-r300
>=gnome-extra/gnome-packagekit-3.0
>=gnome-extra/gnome-power-manager-3.0
>=gnome-extra/gnome-screensaver-3.0
>=gnome-extra/gnome-system-monitor-3.0
>=gnome-extra/gnome-tweak-tool-3.0
>=gnome-extra/gnome-user-share-3.0
>=gnome-extra/gnome-utils-3.0
>=gnome-extra/gucharmap-3.0
>=gnome-extra/mousetweaks-3.0
>=gnome-extra/nautilus-sendto-3.0
gnome-extra/office-runner
>=gnome-extra/zenity-3.0
>=mail-client/evolution-3.0
>=media-gfx/eog-3.0
>=media-sound/rhythmbox-2.90
>=media-sound/sound-juicer-2.99
>=media-video/cheese-3.0
>=media-video/totem-3.0
>=net-analyzer/gnome-nettool-3.0
>=net-im/empathy-3.0
>=net-misc/vinagre-3.0
>=net-misc/vino-3.0
>=net-wireless/gnome-bluetooth-3.0
>=sys-apps/gnome-disk-utility-3.0.2-r300
>=www-client/epiphany-3.0
>=www-client/epiphany-extensions-3.0
>=x11-terms/gnome-terminal-3.0
# Documentation
>=gnome-extra/yelp-3.0
>=dev-util/gnome-devel-docs-3.0
>=gnome-extra/gnome-user-docs-3.0
# NetworkManager
>=net-misc/networkmanager-0.8.99
>=net-misc/networkmanager-pptp-0.8.99
>=net-misc/networkmanager-openconnect-0.8.99
>=net-misc/networkmanager-openvpn-0.8.99
>=net-misc/networkmanager-openswan-0.8.99
>=net-misc/networkmanager-vpnc-0.8.99
>=gnome-extra/nm-applet-0.8.99
# Meta packages
>=gnome-base/gnome-core-apps-3.0
>=gnome-base/gnome-extra-apps-3.0
>=gnome-base/gnome-core-libs-3.0
>=gnome-base/gnome-fallback-3.0
>=gnome-base/gnome-light-3.0
>=gnome-base/gnome-3.0
# Misc applications
>=gnome-extra/nautilus-open-terminal-0.19
>=app-mobilephone/gnome-phone-manager-0.67


and

Code:

>=app-accessibility/caribou-0.4
app-admin/eselect-gnome-shell-extensions
>=app-misc/tracker-0.12
>=dev-libs/folks-0.6
>=dev-libs/libgdata-0.9
>=dev-python/pyatspi-2.2
>=gnome-base/gconf-3.2
>=gnome-extra/at-spi-2.2
gnome-extra/gnome-contacts
gnome-extra/gnome-documents
gnome-extra/gnome-shell-extensions
>=gnome-extra/nautilus-tracker-tags-0.12
gnome-extra/sushi
>=media-libs/clutter-1.7
>=media-libs/cogl-1.7
>=net-libs/gnome-online-accounts-3
>=x11-libs/libcryptui-3
>=x11-misc/alacarte-0.13.2-r50
>=app-accessibility/accerciser-3.2


Just put them in /etc/portage/package.mask
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BrummieJim
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Jul 2005
Posts: 666

PostPosted: Sun Nov 27, 2011 10:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks,
I'm jumping ship to either KDE or xfce when forced into using gnome3.
Much appreciated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ultraslinky
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Jun 2011
Posts: 80
Location: Milan, Italy

PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2011 6:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks golagoda for your mask list. I am an XFCE user and last update was trying to pull in half of gnome3 for some reason (maybe because i use gdm?). Hard masked all those gnome3 packages, now it's much better :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Krellan
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Aug 2010
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Tue Dec 13, 2011 6:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I found this link in the FAQ sticky post that's at the top of this forum:

http://dev.gentoo.org/~tetromino/misc/package.mask.gnome-3.2

This is a text file.

It's linked from here:

https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-903280.html

I'm trying it now. After appending the contents of the text file to my existing /etc/portage/package.mask file, it seems to do the trick!

After running "emerge --sync", I saw the horror that is GNOME 3, and immediately started looking for a workaround. Now, it feels safe to do updates again, much fewer packages on my system want to change.

That's the beauty of open source: you're never forced to "upgrade". Because newer is not always better....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmartos
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 23 Mar 2008
Posts: 76

PostPosted: Sat Dec 31, 2011 8:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Seems that a few more Gnome3 packages not included on the mask list above are making their way into the stable category. Does anyone have a more current listing of Gnome3 packages to fully mask Gnome3. I have tried Gnome3 and completely hate the thing. It is a complete piece of crap and will not use it. I will be migrating to XFCE if I cannot keep Gnome3 off my system.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Toady
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Dec 2004
Posts: 161
Location: South Wales, UK

PostPosted: Sat Dec 31, 2011 8:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have to say that Gnome 3 + Unity (spit) is *the* reason for me coming back to gentoo...

I was a KDE man for years, I was just starting to love Gnome when it all seems to have gone terribly wrong, back to KDE for me!
_________________
Toady

Gentoo Laptop
3.1.10-gentoo-r1, Intel Core 2 Duo (32bit)
Gnome on the desk, Intel in the box, on-board everything, but it all works!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VoidMage
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Oct 2006
Posts: 6194

PostPosted: Sat Dec 31, 2011 10:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Seems quite a few people failed to read very first post in the mentioned topic.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmartos
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 23 Mar 2008
Posts: 76

PostPosted: Sun Jan 01, 2012 12:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did read the post; hence my question.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum