Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
X not listening on TCP
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
SandStar
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 24 Jan 2005
Posts: 77

PostPosted: Tue Aug 30, 2011 1:28 pm    Post subject: X not listening on TCP Reply with quote

I've got a problem that X is not listening on tcp ports while I need this to be able to do some X11 forwarding over SSH :)

When I look at the X process I see: /usr/bin/X -br -novtswitch -quiet :0 vt7 -nolisten tcp -auth
So somewhere the -nolisten option is passed to X.
But I can't find where this option is set.
Code:

grep -R nolisten /etc/*

Shows 0 hits

Any suggestions?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
g.e.n.t.u.x.
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 Aug 2006
Posts: 410
Location: Berlin

PostPosted: Tue Aug 30, 2011 3:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hello sandstar.

my
Code:
grep -R listen /etc/X11/*
brings me this
Code:
/etc/X11/xinit/xserverrc:exec /usr/bin/X -nolisten tcp "$@"

_________________
Human being isnt a default setted feature.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7711
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Tue Aug 30, 2011 3:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can override it in ~/.xserverrc
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SandStar
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 24 Jan 2005
Posts: 77

PostPosted: Tue Aug 30, 2011 5:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

g.e.n.t.u.x. wrote:
hello sandstar.

my
Code:
grep -R listen /etc/X11/*
brings me this
Code:
/etc/X11/xinit/xserverrc:exec /usr/bin/X -nolisten tcp "$@"


The "-nolisten tcp" option is the opposite of what I'm trying to do.
I've already tried removing everything in xserverrc or just removing the "-nolisten tcp" option but nothing changes.
My X server is still started with -nolisten tcp although this doesn't seem to be set anywhere...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
depontius
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 May 2004
Posts: 3450

PostPosted: Tue Aug 30, 2011 5:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you running gdm, or text-mode login? I my "/mnt/gentoo/etc/X11/gdm/custom.conf" I have a stanza:
Code:
[security]
DisallowTCP=false

I don't know about a default value, I'm just explicit about it always.

If you're running over ssh, what's wrong with using ssh X forwarding? You don't need TCP for that, because to X it's local.
_________________
.sigs waste space and bandwidth
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SandStar
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 24 Jan 2005
Posts: 77

PostPosted: Tue Aug 30, 2011 7:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

depontius wrote:
Are you running gdm, or text-mode login? I my "/mnt/gentoo/etc/X11/gdm/custom.conf" I have a stanza:
Code:
[security]
DisallowTCP=false

I don't know about a default value, I'm just explicit about it always.

If you're running over ssh, what's wrong with using ssh X forwarding? You don't need TCP for that, because to X it's local.


I'm trying to login from my windows box with putty to my linux workstation at home. The linux workstation is running KDE and is using KDM as login manager.
What I understood from all the guides is that I login with putty text-mode and then just launch a program which should then appear on my windows machine.

When I try that I get an error telling me that I'm unable to connect to my X server.
Reading up on guides I thought I needed Xorg to listen on TCP for incoming connections...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
depontius
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 May 2004
Posts: 3450

PostPosted: Tue Aug 30, 2011 10:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You're running Windows. Unless you've jumped through a lot of hoops, you don't have an xserver. I would suggest that you look into VNC.
_________________
.sigs waste space and bandwidth
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Logicien
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 16 Sep 2005
Posts: 1404
Location: Montréal

PostPosted: Wed Aug 31, 2011 1:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does the value of the DISPLAY variable environment correspond to the good Xorg active remote server in Putty SSH connexion shell? In general it is DISPLAY=:0 . This variable have something to do with the possibility of openning X programs.
_________________
Paul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
depontius
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 May 2004
Posts: 3450

PostPosted: Wed Aug 31, 2011 1:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you're running X-over-ssh, you usually get ":10" for your display. But again, if you're connecting from Windows none of this matters, because Windows doesn't have its own X server. You can add an X server to Windows, but that's an entirely different matter.

For simplicity in this case, I strongly recommend VNC. (or one of the variants of VNC)
_________________
.sigs waste space and bandwidth
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum