Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Blank resolv.conf [solved]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Trog Dog
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 Aug 2007
Posts: 282

PostPosted: Sat Aug 13, 2011 2:51 pm    Post subject: Blank resolv.conf [solved] Reply with quote

How do you get dhcpcd to generate the correct info in /etc/resolv.conf?

Today I lost the ability to "see" a number of my boxes, on further investigation instead of being on 10.0.0.x they're requesting 169.x.x.x addresses, resolv.conf is blank apart from the three comments - on the one working box I have left the resolv.conf is correct

Code:
# Generated by dhcpcd from eth0
# /etc/resolv.conf.head can replace this line
domain DogPound
nameserver 10.0.0.180
# /etc/resolv.conf.tail can replace this line


manually adding the above to the non-working boxes doesn't work it gets overwritten blank, would appreciate any assistance.


Last edited by Trog Dog on Sat Aug 13, 2011 5:45 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
devilheart
l33t
l33t


Joined: 17 Mar 2005
Posts: 837
Location: Villach, Austria

PostPosted: Sat Aug 13, 2011 4:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can use /etc/resolv.conf.head to force some lines to appear at the beginning of the file. If dhcpcd doesn't fill resolv.conf correctly then it isn't getting the correct informations from your dhcp server. Check dhcpcd config
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 46296
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Aug 13, 2011 4:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Trog Dog,


If you got 169.x.x.x IP addresses, dhcpcd failed to connect the the dhcp server for some reason. As a result, it assigned the interface a link local IP.
/etc/resolv is blank as a b product. If you have a link local IP, you have no use for a nameserver.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Trog Dog
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 Aug 2007
Posts: 282

PostPosted: Sat Aug 13, 2011 5:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

devilheart wrote:
You can use /etc/resolv.conf.head to force some lines to appear at the beginning of the file. If dhcpcd doesn't fill resolv.conf correctly then it isn't getting the correct informations from your dhcp server. Check dhcpcd config


Thanks devilheart

Created /etc.resolv.conf.head with relevant lines which did add the relevant info to resolv.conf. Unfortunately for me this hasn't rectified the no network problem so it must be deeper than an empty resolv.conf, misdiagnosis on my part. :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Trog Dog
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 Aug 2007
Posts: 282

PostPosted: Sat Aug 13, 2011 5:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
Trog Dog,


If you got 169.x.x.x IP addresses, dhcpcd failed to connect the the dhcp server for some reason. As a result, it assigned the interface a link local IP.
/etc/resolv is blank as a b product. If you have a link local IP, you have no use for a nameserver.


G'day Neddy

The dhcp server is a Thomson St536v6, I'll try rebooting it then restarting net.eth0 on the affected boxes, actually all the affected boxes are on one switch, think i'll test the uplink and switch first.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Trog Dog
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 Aug 2007
Posts: 282

PostPosted: Sat Aug 13, 2011 5:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Trog Dog wrote:
NeddySeagoon wrote:
Trog Dog,


If you got 169.x.x.x IP addresses, dhcpcd failed to connect the the dhcp server for some reason. As a result, it assigned the interface a link local IP.
/etc/resolv is blank as a b product. If you have a link local IP, you have no use for a nameserver.


G'day Neddy

The dhcp server is a Thomson St536v6, I'll try rebooting it then restarting net.eth0 on the affected boxes, actually all the affected boxes are on one switch, think i'll test the uplink and switch first.


You're a legend Neddy - the switch these boxes connect to is buggered (the lights are on but no ones home) - will have to get a new one in the morning. Cheers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum