Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] Thunar not showing RAID drives
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Sudrien
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Oct 2003
Posts: 207
Location: Michigan

PostPosted: Sat Aug 06, 2011 6:08 am    Post subject: [SOLVED] Thunar not showing RAID drives Reply with quote

New install, consolekit & udev are running, no hal.

I have an Intel raid1 set up, with dodmraid in the kernel options. all that seems to be working.

Code:
$ udisks --enumerate
/org/freedesktop/UDisks/devices/sdb
/org/freedesktop/UDisks/devices/sr0
/org/freedesktop/UDisks/devices/dm_2d0
/org/freedesktop/UDisks/devices/dm_2d1
/org/freedesktop/UDisks/devices/dm_2d2
/org/freedesktop/UDisks/devices/dm_2d3
/org/freedesktop/UDisks/devices/sdb1
/org/freedesktop/UDisks/devices/sdb2
/org/freedesktop/UDisks/devices/sdb3
/org/freedesktop/UDisks/devices/sda
/org/freedesktop/UDisks/devices/sdb5
/org/freedesktop/UDisks/devices/sda1
/org/freedesktop/UDisks/devices/sda2
/org/freedesktop/UDisks/devices/sda3
/org/freedesktop/UDisks/devices/sdb6
/org/freedesktop/UDisks/devices/sda5
/org/freedesktop/UDisks/devices/sda6
/org/freedesktop/UDisks/devices/dm_2d4



Thunar + Thunar_volman only seems to be listing sda* and sdb* in its drive list - and then refuses to show me them, since they're reserved by the raid.

How would I get rid of the bad entries & show ones that actually work?
_________________
...


Last edited by Sudrien on Thu Aug 25, 2011 2:41 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
moonbase
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Jul 2011
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sat Aug 06, 2011 11:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is the raid drive mounted by any chance?

Not 100% sure, but I don't believe Thunar shows all drives on a system, only ones considered removable. In my experience it has also shown hard drive partitions that are not in fstab. I have a raid 1 that's always mounted, and Thunar has not ever displayed its components though, so I'm not sure why you would be seeing that.
_________________
Not a shred of evidence exists in favor of the idea that life is serious.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sudrien
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Oct 2003
Posts: 207
Location: Michigan

PostPosted: Sat Aug 06, 2011 4:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Now all the raided partitions are mounted, through their /dev/mapper/ entries.

Possibly Thunar is mixing up "Removable" with "Hot-Swappable"?
_________________
...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sudrien
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Oct 2003
Posts: 207
Location: Michigan

PostPosted: Thu Aug 25, 2011 2:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It ends up the list is built off of udev presention lists. https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=112184 helped.

sudo nano /etc/udev/rules.d/10-local.rules
Code:
KERNEL=="sda1", ENV{UDISKS_PRESENTATION_HIDE}="1"
KERNEL=="sda2", ENV{UDISKS_PRESENTATION_HIDE}="1"
KERNEL=="sda5", ENV{UDISKS_PRESENTATION_HIDE}="1"

KERNEL=="sdb1", ENV{UDISKS_PRESENTATION_HIDE}="1"
KERNEL=="sdb2", ENV{UDISKS_PRESENTATION_HIDE}="1"
KERNEL=="sdb5", ENV{UDISKS_PRESENTATION_HIDE}="1"


sudo /etc/init.d/udev restart
_________________
...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum