Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED]startx failed: no modules dri and dri2
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jiandingzhe
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Jul 2011
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Tue Aug 02, 2011 12:18 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED]startx failed: no modules dri and dri2 Reply with quote

Hi, everyone!

I've installed X11 metapackage, removed nouveau driver, and installed nvidia driver. I still not installed any desktop environments like Gnome or KDE.

When I startx, I can see the green nvidia image appear for a while, just like my previously used Fedora desktop. However it return to command line immediately, with (EE) messages of "Failed to load module dri (module does not exist, 0)" and "Failed to load module dri2 (module does not exist, 0)". It seems those things should be shipped with the nvidia driver, but why they can't be found by X server?

Thanks!!!


Last edited by jiandingzhe on Tue Aug 02, 2011 1:36 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7711
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Tue Aug 02, 2011 12:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

These messages are normal and do not point to your problem. If there is no more errors then you probably did not create xorg.conf. You need at least minimal xorg.conf when using proprietary driver. With Driver "nvidia" in device section.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jiandingzhe
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Jul 2011
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Tue Aug 02, 2011 1:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jaglover wrote:
These messages are normal and do not point to your problem. If there is no more errors then you probably did not create xorg.conf. You need at least minimal xorg.conf when using proprietary driver. With Driver "nvidia" in device section.

Solved.
What I actually need is to install twm and xterm...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gcasillo
l33t
l33t


Joined: 23 Sep 2003
Posts: 739
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

PostPosted: Wed Aug 03, 2011 3:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This also will help if you wanted the modules loaded.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum