Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
wpa_suppl. nodhcp,ifconfig shows no ip4 adress [SOLVED]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Mgiese
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Mar 2005
Posts: 1498
Location: indiana

PostPosted: Sun Jul 24, 2011 12:55 pm    Post subject: wpa_suppl. nodhcp,ifconfig shows no ip4 adress [SOLVED] Reply with quote

as mentioned in the title. wpa_supplicant connects but the interface does not receive an ip adress.

edit : /etc/conf.d/net
Code:

config_eth1=( "dhcp" )
modules=( "wpa_supplicant" )


to start dhcp manually does not help either

Code:
# dhcpcd eth1
dhcpcd[3779]: version 5.2.12 starting
dhcpcd[3779]: eth1: broadcasting for a lease
dhcpcd[3779]: timed out
dhcpcd[3779]: allowing 8 seconds for IPv4LL timeout
dhcpcd[3779]: eth1: probing for an IPv4LL address
dhcpcd[3779]: eth1: checking for 169.254.71.17
dhcpcd[3779]: eth1: using IPv4LL address 169.254.71.17
dhcpcd[3779]: forked to background, child pid 3881



still my router does not provide an ip, dhcp is enabled, and i permit new devices, any suggestions here ??

i tried to set up a static ip via /etc/conf.d/net :

Code:
config_eth1=( "192.168.178.34/24" )
routes_eth1=( "default via 192.168.178.1" )


and now the strange thing is, that wpa_gui still shows no ip ?!?! the connection does not seem to work, although my router recognizes the device and /IP/ as connected ???

Code:
# ping 192.168.178.1
connect: Network is unreachable


any help is appriciated ! thanks in advance
_________________
I do not have a Superman complex, for I am God not Superman :D

Ryzen7 3700x ; Geforce1650 ; kernel 5.8.13


Last edited by Mgiese on Tue Jul 26, 2011 3:19 pm; edited 4 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
albright
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 16 Nov 2003
Posts: 2588
Location: Near Toronto

PostPosted: Sun Jul 24, 2011 1:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

shouldn't it be eth1 that's set for dhcpcd
_________________
.... there is nothing - absolutely nothing - half so much worth
doing as simply messing about with Linux ...
(apologies to Kenneth Graeme)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mgiese
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Mar 2005
Posts: 1498
Location: indiana

PostPosted: Sun Jul 24, 2011 1:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

same behaviour, whether i use WPA2 or WEP .... the handshake works... but still no IP

albright wrote:
shouldn't it be eth1 that's set for dhcpcd


it is :) just a spelling mistake. meanwhile i checked some more things :
Code:
eth1      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr cc:52:aa:fd:0f:b8 
          inet6 addr: fe80::ce52:afff:fe0d:fb7/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:38 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:6548
          TX packets:41 errors:10 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:4926 (4.8 KiB)  TX bytes:5282 (5.1 KiB)
          Interrupt:17


although there is the static ip set and the router shows the device with the ip4 adress, ifconfig does`nt show the ip4 adress... *weird*
_________________
I do not have a Superman complex, for I am God not Superman :D

Ryzen7 3700x ; Geforce1650 ; kernel 5.8.13
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mgiese
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Mar 2005
Posts: 1498
Location: indiana

PostPosted: Sun Jul 24, 2011 1:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

one thing comes to my mind i am using the broadcom-sta
Code:
net-wireless/broadcom-sta
     Available versions:  5.100.82.38+i!m 5.100.82.38-r1!m {kernel_linux}
     Homepage:            http://www.broadcom.com/support/802.11/linux_sta.php
     Description:         Broadcom's IEEE 802.11a/b/g/n hybrid Linux device driver.
when i compiled it there was a message like i should enable some modules(i did as suggested) to receive WEXT_PRIV :
Code:
CONFIG_B43:         should not be set. But it is.
 *   CONFIG_SSB:         should not be set. But it is.
 *   CONFIG_WIRELESS_EXT:        is not set when it should be.
 *   Starting with 2.6.33, it is not possible to set WEXT_PRIV directly. We recommend to set another symbol selecting WEXT_PRIV, for example, PRISM54, IPW2200 and so on. See Bug #248450 comment#98.
 *   CONFIG_MAC80211:    should not be set. But it is.
could that be my error with not obtaining an ipv4 adress ?? thanks a lot
_________________
I do not have a Superman complex, for I am God not Superman :D

Ryzen7 3700x ; Geforce1650 ; kernel 5.8.13
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
albright
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 16 Nov 2003
Posts: 2588
Location: Near Toronto

PostPosted: Sun Jul 24, 2011 4:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

another dumb question: does manually using dhcpcd work?
_________________
.... there is nothing - absolutely nothing - half so much worth
doing as simply messing about with Linux ...
(apologies to Kenneth Graeme)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mgiese
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Mar 2005
Posts: 1498
Location: indiana

PostPosted: Sun Jul 24, 2011 5:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

YES i tried that. it`s mentioned in my first post, point 2 :) and it does not help....
_________________
I do not have a Superman complex, for I am God not Superman :D

Ryzen7 3700x ; Geforce1650 ; kernel 5.8.13
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mgiese
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Mar 2005
Posts: 1498
Location: indiana

PostPosted: Tue Jul 26, 2011 3:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i have given up configuring my wireless network via WPA_GUI, now i use WICD. it uses WPA_SUPPLICANT in the background for drivers and encryption support and works very very well with WLAN and WAN.
_________________
I do not have a Superman complex, for I am God not Superman :D

Ryzen7 3700x ; Geforce1650 ; kernel 5.8.13
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum