Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
problems with network connection - reject NAK [SOLVED]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Despot Despondency
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Mar 2009
Posts: 176

PostPosted: Wed Jun 08, 2011 11:12 pm    Post subject: problems with network connection - reject NAK [SOLVED] Reply with quote

Hi,

Sorry if this has been posted before but I can't find a solution anywhere. I am having problems with the wired network connection on my computer. At the moment when I boot the computer I often get the message

Code:

dhcpcd[13584]: eth0: reject NAK via 192.168.1.254


repeated until dhcp times out and I have no network connection.

I know I should be able to create a connection manually but I want it done automatically at boot up with dhcp.

Any pointers would be greatly appreciated.

TAI


Last edited by Despot Despondency on Sat Jun 25, 2011 6:21 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7635
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2011 6:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If 192.168.1.254 is in fact your dhcp server, see if editing /etc/dhcpcd.conf to comment out
Quote:
require dhcp_server_identifier
to
Quote:
# A ServerID is required by RFC2131.
#require dhcp_server_identifier
cures the problem.
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Despot Despondency
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Mar 2009
Posts: 176

PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2011 7:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, thanks for the response.

I tried your suggestion. I now get the messages

Code:

dhcpcd[13577]: eth0: broadcasting for a lease
dhcpcd[13577]: eth0: offered 192.168.1.64 from 192.168.1.254
dhcpcd[13577]: eth0: NAK: requested address is not available via 192.168.1.254


repeated until it times out again.

Any other suggestions?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7635
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2011 8:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

try a fixed ip
or try dhclient vice dhcpcd
check router configuration for access lists
firewall?
proxy server?
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Despot Despondency
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Mar 2009
Posts: 176

PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2011 10:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello again.

I don't have a firewall or proxy server set up. This is a fresh install so I only have the bare basics set up.

I managed to set up a static ip. I used the ip address etc that dhcp used last time it successfully loaded the network.

I am confused about why dhcp keeps failing sporadically?

Also, what do you mean by

Quote:

check router configuration for access lists


?

Thanks again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7635
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Fri Jun 10, 2011 12:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The problem most likely relates to either the router or dhcpcd or both not being totally compliant with the same set of rules.
Most routers can be setup to allow connection from only a limited set of ip's or mac addresses (sic access list).
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Despot Despondency
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Mar 2009
Posts: 176

PostPosted: Fri Jun 10, 2011 6:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, that makes sense.

It's weird though. I've had this router for over a year and it's always been fine before.

Is there anyway to resolve this?

Otherwise I just start using a static ip permanently. Is there anything I need to take into account when doing this, e.g. security issues with certain ranges of addresses? Sorry if this is a stupid question.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7635
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Fri Jun 10, 2011 6:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

reasonable question, I would try to determine the range of IP's the router uses for dhcp leases and use a fixed IP outside the range. A fixed IP could actually be more secure. Router updates, dhcpcd revisions, neighbor on the same frequency..
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Despot Despondency
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Mar 2009
Posts: 176

PostPosted: Sat Jun 25, 2011 6:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry for late response. I've had paper deadlines and a holiday and this is the first chance to sort out my computer.

Thanks for the help. Everything seems to be working fine now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bwhmather
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Jul 2011
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2011 11:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Couple of weeks slow but I have encountered this problem.
In my case setting the clientid option in dhcpd.conf did the trick.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum