Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[Solved]No net.eth0
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Eichhorn
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Jun 2011
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Wed Jun 08, 2011 12:32 pm    Post subject: [Solved]No net.eth0 Reply with quote

Good evening. I had to reinstall gentoo and encountered a problem. I made standard
Quote:
rc-update add net.eth0 default
but it said that there is no such thing as net.eth0. Strange thing is that during the previous installation(half a year ago) everything was ok and even now network was working. I made
Quote:
cd /etc/init.d
ln -s net.lo net.eth0
rc-update add net.eth0 default
and
Quote:
ln -s net.lo net.eth1
rc-update add net.eth1 default


I thought it was some kind of glitch but when I restarted my computer I got the message that there is really no net.eth0 and net.eth1. What can cause such a problem?

*Update*
Sorry guys it was fully my fault I forgot to compile second driver for my network card. Thanks for the replies.


Last edited by Eichhorn on Wed Jun 08, 2011 7:43 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 4894
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Wed Jun 08, 2011 12:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

are you sure net.lo is there

which baselayout are you using
_________________
PRIME x570-pro, 3700x, RX 550 - 5.8 zen kernel
Acer E5-575 (laptop), i3-7100u - i965 - 5.5 zen kernel
---both---
gcc 9.3.0, profile 17.1 (no-pie & modified) amd64-no-multilib, eudev, openrc, openbox, palemoon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Eichhorn
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Jun 2011
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Wed Jun 08, 2011 12:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anon-E-moose wrote:
are you sure net.lo is there

which baselayout are you using


I did not update system to use openRC because I was not able to boot with working network so I think it's the old one baselayout 1. But I'm not sure, wait couple of minutes I'll check.

*Update*
Sorry I lied it's baselayout 2.0.2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cach0rr0
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 13 Nov 2008
Posts: 4123
Location: Houston, Republic of Texas

PostPosted: Wed Jun 08, 2011 1:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

does it say there is no such device, or is it saying that net.eth0 doesnt exist?

net.eth0 will not be removed by anything

however, you may find that your network card ends up being renamed by udev for some reason, to e.g. eth1

check this:
Code:

cat /proc/net/dev


does any eth* show up? If it does, and it isn't eth0, but is rather eth1, eth2, or some such, then delete your 70-persistent-net file in /etc/udev/rules.d and reboot.
_________________
Lost configuring your system?
dump lspci -n here | see Pappy's guide | Link Stash
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Eichhorn
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Jun 2011
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Wed Jun 08, 2011 1:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

cach0rr0 wrote:
does it say there is no such device, or is it saying that net.eth0 doesnt exist?

net.eth0 will not be removed by anything

however, you may find that your network card ends up being renamed by udev for some reason, to e.g. eth1

check this:
Code:

cat /proc/net/dev


does any eth* show up? If it does, and it isn't eth0, but is rather eth1, eth2, or some such, then delete your 70-persistent-net file in /etc/udev/rules.d and reboot.


In fact they are lo eth0 wlan0 and eth1. eth1 is the one working.
I don't really remebder but I think it was "service does not exist"
I'll remove 70-persistent-net reboot and retry.
There is no such file as 70-persistent-net.
I'll try to update the whole system maybe problem will solve itself.

*Update*
Nothing helped. At startup it says that maybe I forgot to enable some kernel modules but it doesn't explain why he was not able to find net.eth0 when i tried to add it with rc-update during the installation.
If you have any ideas I'll be glad to hear them.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mr.sande
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 26 Apr 2010
Posts: 82
Location: Norway

PostPosted: Wed Jun 08, 2011 11:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you go through the openrc migration guide when you last updated? The network configuration is a tiny bit different. Might be worth checking.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fizzer
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Mar 2005
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Wed Jun 22, 2011 10:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mr.sande wrote:
Did you go through the openrc migration guide


OK.. Yes I know it is OLD.. but this is the first post i came to trying to find a soloution to my issue. So posting it.

Using current LiveCD v11.

Following guide here Code Listing 2.21: Configure networking

And I had
Code:
rc-update add net.eth0 default

* rc-update: service `net.eth0' does not exist


Quoted guide works..

Code:
 cd /etc/init.d
ln -s net.lo net.eth0
rc-update add net.eth0 default

 * service net.eth0 added to runlevel default


Thanks.. Hope it helps another user.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
malevolent
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Jul 2005
Posts: 12
Location: Barcelona

PostPosted: Fri Aug 12, 2011 8:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes it helped a lot! ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum